We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strandeen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed 6 nights with Debbie at Strandeen. Was consistently best place to stay again. Debbie is a wonderful cook and keeps a great B&B. Best I've stayed in Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: I like the room overlooking the sea on the second floor on the front of the house. Great view of be...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Strandeen Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 234 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was a very pleasant stay in a stunning location, aided by glorious weather. Lots of time spent on the beach only a few minutes away. An easy walk into town.
Room was good but not quite as luxurious as we expected from the website, no ipod dock, coffee maker or hair dryer to be found. However we were very comfortable and the bed was excellent.
Breakfast was lovely, excellent quality and choice and generous portions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victorjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just back from an amazing stay at Strandeen in Portstewart. Debbie is very helpful, warm and friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and at home. Ther location is fab and the beach it overlooks is just incredible. i woke up and went from a run a long it on Sunday morning -a glorious sunny day life doesn't get better than that. My mum and I thoroughly enjoyed it - despite the fact the rooms were very hot to sleep in due to the sun - we can't complain about that though as it so nice to see the sun!
Thank you Debbie - and definitely worth booking here if you plan to stay in Portstewart.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just had three nights at the Strandeen in Portstewart. We had a lovely welcome from Debbie on arrival and she couldn't do enough for us. The room was immaculate and the breakfasts were absolutely gorgeous! The house overlooks the beautiful beach which is fabulous to walk along and soak in the fresh air. We travelled around and did the touristy bits ie Giants Causeway, Carrick a Rede rope bridge etc. Also visited the lovely Ballintoy harbour which could be reached by coastal walk from the car park for the Carrick a Rede rope bridge or you could drive to it. We also drove over to Donegal and a drive around southern ireland but didn't actually find anywhere nicer than Portstewart. We ate twice at Portstewart Golf Club which served quality food at very reasonable prices. We also ate out in the town at The Anchor which was also very good. All in all a delightful 4 day break and would definitely recommend and also definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: We had the superior double which was on the ground floor but it was very quiet and we had a really g...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Strandeen, Portstewart. I checked out the other accomadation whilst I was there and in my opinion, The Strandeen is by far the best appointed accomodation in the town. It is a ten minute stroll to either the town centre or the beach. And it is a great base to explore the coast. The views from the B&B are stunning. Calm and tranquility wash over you as soon as you check in to the Strandeen. Debbie is the perfect host. She makes you feel very well looked after but also is gives you space and privacy. I had everything I needed during my stay. Wifi, delicious breakfasts, a beautiful and spotless room and Debbie was very kind to me when I woke with a hangover! (Note to English travellers: measures in Ireland are 35ml, not 25ml like here in England) The Strandeen has a luxurious boutique feel to it, acheived through the very tasteful decoration and colour schemes. I definately recommend a stay there. I certainly will go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a top class view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We spent a wonderful 2 night Easter break in Strandeen B&B. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard and had a modern, fresh feel. The service was also excellent and the attention to detail was second to none. An ideal location with a sea view, which was perfect for walking along Portstewart strand or to the promenade. Our host was most friendly and engaging from the outset and provided helpful advice on the local area. We will definitely return here and would thoroughly recommend the Strandeen to anyone seeking a restful break at the north coast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here during Easter 2012 and found the Strandeen to be a wonderful place to stay in the town of Portstewart. We arrived to a warm welcome from our host Debbie and were shown to our beautiful, clean and modern double bedroom. Decorated and finished to a very high standard we would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all those visiting the area.

The guest sitting room was a place to relax and unwind with a stunning sea view of Portstewart strand. Breakfast was another highlight, with a wide selection of high quality food to cater for all tastes.

Thank you for a great stay and we'll be back again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
1.1 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandeen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandeen Bed and Breakfast

Address: 63 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $140 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strandeen Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandeen is a luxury 5 star Boutique Bed and Breakfast sitting just above the bay and sandy beaches of Portstewart Strand with stunning panoramic views over the Atlantic Ocean. A gateway to the causeway Coastal Route, World Heritage sites, breath taking scenery and culture like nowhere else in the World. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities equipped with White Company toiletries, fluffy white robes, towels and slippers; pocket sprung beds are dressed with crisp white cotton sheets and all the necessary mod cons are available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Food is locally sourced, organic where possible. The emphasis is on comfort and luxury with the ability to relax and rest in the homely comforts we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strandeen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandeen Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing