We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively”

The Anchor Bar Complex
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lively”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The complex was extremely busy during our visit but service was good. There is a good choice of beer on tap and prices weren't overly expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    132
    43
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Food served by Locals”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We ate at the Anchor for 4 nights as reccomended by our hosts Ernie & Ann from Walking Tours NI B&B. The pub had a great family atmosphe and menu with many choices. The glasses of wine were full!!! Many pubs & restaurants now use European workers - this one used local lads who added a great feel to the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryKiama_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You won't get much better”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten in the Ancorage on a number of occasions and have been impressed by the consistent good quality food and service at very good value. We got tea for two adults and two children for £23 last time which isn't dear when you consider the quality of food and surroundings. Staff are very well trained and professional and this is probably our favourite North Coast restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Armagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great little spot for lunch Great food and Fantastic Value.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch last week with our two children it is a pub so a bit dark and gloomy inside but the service was fantastic and the food really yummy. Hubby plumped for the battered cod goujons and chips the batter was lovely golden and crispy, I had the Anchor fish pie special which was packed with lovely fresh fish and lots of prawns with a fluffy mash potato top fantastic value at only £6.95. The kids meals were great too our son had pasta bolognese and our daughter cod bites and chips ( my only slight negative with those being they came coated in those orange dry breadcrumbs but the fish inside was lovely) kids were treated to an ice lolly at the end of their meal.
Fantastic food, service and brilliant value for money will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatingIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too good to tell!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in Portstewart for a week and eat in the Anchor on three of those nights On the first night we had the early bird, which was very good. On the second and third nights we had the main menu which was extensive and suitable for all tastes. The service was excellent and the food was first class. I did like the revamp within the restaurant, it was trendy and spotless. Can't wait to go back later this month!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waltdisney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Bar Complex also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Anchor Bar Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing