We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
514
13
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
13
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesportstewart golf clubfreshly squeezed orange juiceincredible hospitalityguinness breadmade us feelon arrivalstar qualitygolf coursefull irish breakfastwarm welcomehome madefirst classold friendswonderful hostsharry's shacksecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 530 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Truely a 5 Star experience. Nested amongst row houses, it stands out amongst tge bnb we stayed in our trip. The rooms are so well appointed that you wonder whether it's somebody house or a posh hotel. The garden around the breakfast area is so pretty that you feel like sitting there all day. And of course, the breakfast... probably the best we had during our trip. Tom and Ernestine thanks for hosting us.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank geminigirl_2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Owner at Strand House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for such a charming and complementary review. Very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

As I write this review, I have the most spectacular view, and absolute piece of mind that we couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Our hosts were very welcoming, genuine and kind. It's such a beautiful house (mansion!), with all extras you would expect from a 5 Star Hotel, let alone B&B. Just perfect.

Port Stewart has a lot to offer, of course you are near by to the most incredible drive you may ever experience (the causeway coast). You are minutes away from the beach walk, and if you like golf you are even closer to that.

So glad we chose The Strand House B&B! keep up the excellent work, wouldn't change a thing.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Keithknox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Owner at Strand House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Keith,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a comprehensive and complementary review. Hope to see you back in Portstewart and Strand House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

From the welcome to being accompanied to the bus stop, Ernestine and Tom make you feel like they've thought of everything to the most tiny details so that you have a beautiful stay with them. Home made scones with a welcome tea, large bedroom with all natural cosmetics and fresh and new slippers, a real "à La carte" breakfast with organic, local and when available fair trade food and plenty of time to enjoy it until 10am, Ernestine and Tom do not need further advertisement! You feel it comes from the bottom of their heart with that professionalism that make ma you feel a privileged guest willing to return just for them. Thank you for that memorable stay Ernestine.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErnestineTom, Owner at Strand House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Lovely to have you with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

I booked this by accident - I thought I was booking a hotel with a price tag of £130 for one night but oh my what a B&B.
We were greeted by the owner's son who offered tea/coffee (no scones though - as mentioned on the blurb), and shown to our room which was spacious and spotlessly clean. We had booked a room with a superking sized bed which was extremely comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast is where this B&B excels - it was 5*. The tables are laid as if you are in an extremely upmarket hotel - a butter knife!! I can't remember the last time I even saw one of those but that's the style and class of this establishment. Tom served us with yogurt, fruit and granola - delicious, Ernestine took the breakfast order. Cereals are on offer as well as various delightful cooked options. The food is locally sourced and was of a very high standard.
Ernestine and Tom run this B&B to a very high standard and are a lovely couple who chat to the guests like they are old friends.
£130 is a lot to pay for a B&B and for the price I would have liked bottles of water in the room and a better quality of toilet paper (sorry), but the comfortable surroundings and breakfast make you see why you are paying that inflated price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chocolate06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErnestineTom, Owner at Strand House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

A rare occasion when there isn't a scone. We will be sure to have some for you next time! Thanks for the lovely comments. Tom & Ernestine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable, well equipped and with a view of the sea. Breakfast offered as good a choice as we have ever seen at any hotel. High quality ingredients throughout with cooked dishes being perfectly turned out every time.
Hosts could not do enough to ensure our stay was a memorable one - their son even drove us to a local restaurant one evening - they had booked it for us that morning when we asked for a recommendation.
House is located within sight of Portstewart GC with several restaurants within easy walking distance.
Strand House definitely deserves its 5* status - the attention to detail in all areas of their business shone through as did the warmth and genuineness of their welcome.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErnestineTom, Owner at Strand House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and it lived up to the expectations. Hope to see you again, John! Tom & Ernestine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews