We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the north coast !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2009

The perfect spot for a special relaxing rejuvenating break.I had stayed here three years ago on a business trip and was delighted to get the chance to bring my wife this time for a visit to portstewart and stay at the strand.The experience was wonderful from start to finish.
The house is gorgeous,modern and in a perfect setting close to the beach ,golf course,and a magnificent walk along the seafront to the promenade.
Ernestine and Tom create a special feeling of welcome and relaxation with attention to detail that makes your stay feel luxurious.
Breakfast was magnificent with all the flavours of a perfect ulster fry.
We are going to go back for more when we get a chance!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbrenBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 482 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

great place with really helpful staff who treated us like family. really put me off staying in a hotel again as this was soo much better! we were given lifts into the town and everything and more we couldve asked for! its also located straight across from the beach which is lovely and there is a great walk along the coast to take, but the great guests here will explain all of that to you when you arrive and any other advice you may need.. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I (travelling with his parents in their 70"s and 80"s) were lucky enough to find this treasure in Portstewart. Ernestine and her husband built their home as a B&B and included all of the luxuries they want when they travel. The rooms were very spacious with an easy-to-use shower (not always the case for us North Americans traveling in the UK). The beds were large! and very comfortable. Ernestine has a beautiful garden behind the house which is visible from the breakfast and sitting rooms. Mentioning breakfast - this was the best we found during our trip. A delicious fresh fruit salad and then choices that varied from the regular Irish breakfast to pancakes with real maple syrup to an incredible French toast (a croissant filled with cheese, tomatoes and bits of ham then cooked!). Even French press coffee! For those with a car, there is plenty of parking in front, the golf course is a 2 minute walk away and the ocean walk path just across the road.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We had a wonderful two night stay at this bed and breakfast, the room was perfect with a huge ensuite! The tea, coffee and bottled water provided was an excellent touch. Breakfast again was excellent with a wide choice of fruit, cereal and cooked irish breakfast which phil enjoyed every morning! It was lovely to be back in Portstewart and to have a room with a sea view. We will def come and stay again some time soon. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyluCo_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Phoned to book, owner was extremely helpful from the start, gave advice on where to eat out and full arrangements for checking in.
On arrival I had just completed a marathon, coffee was ready with fresh bakes. no extra charges for this, thank-you.
The house itself was luxury 5 star quality, from top to bottom, clearly no expense has been spared finishing this house off. It has a quality of finish compares to any top hotel. The ensuite bathroom was Vernon Tutbury, tiling on the floor and walls beaufifully done. Bedlinen and furniture in the bedrooms and public areas all top quality.
Cooked breakfast, with fresh fruit, toast and choice of tea or coffee all done to the highest of standards.
I suspect you may find a slightly cheaper place to stay on the North Coast, I know however you will not find a better one.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JAMES m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We arrived in Portstewart from Derry where we got soaked in a surprise downpour. The first thing Ernestine did was offer to dry our wet clothes and make some tea or coffee to warm us up. 15 minutes later we were treated to coffee, tea, and biscuits in a small sitting area overlooking the bay. Perfect. She called the Anchor pub to find out if there was entertainment that evening. There was. The next day, after a delicious breakfast, we caught a ride into the town centre to catch a bus to Giants Causeway. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. When we needed to catch our train at 6:45 in the morning Tom made a special breakfast for us and then drove us to the Coleraine train station. We loved our time in Ireland and Tom and Ernestine reminded us why - warm and friendly people genuinely interested in ensuring an enjoyable stay. Wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald_and_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

A beautiful guest house decorated to the highest standards offering a warm welcome and exceptional hospitality. Bedrooms are worthy of hotel status and the home made tray bakes upon arrival were a surprise treat! Breakfast is made special with the quality of local produce and home made breads. This place is faultless - will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonCo_Antrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
1.2 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
227 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Portrush
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $171 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand House is a luxury 5 star NITB rated Bed and Breakfast in Portstewart and is situated on the north coast of Ireland. Our boutique style Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 minutes from our championship links golf course, (soon to host the Irish Open) and the famous Harry's Shack Restaurant . Strand House is also home to a glorious beach and interesting and varied walks. Guests can enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast with locally sourced produce and all dietary requirements are catered for. Our speciality homemade Guinness bread is just an example of our commitment to using local produce. All our bedrooms are spacious with king sized beds, most have sea views, controlled underfloor heating, ensuite bathrooms and some with Jacuzzi baths. We are centrally located for championship golf courses in Portstewart, Castlerock, Portrush and Ballyliffen and have storage and drying facilities in a secure purpose built facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Portstewart
Strand House Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing