We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night while attending a golf outing in the nearby club. When I booked I was aware that I would be in the small single room but it was perfect for my requirements. Not a lot of space if you had a lot of luggage (I did not) but comfortable bed, nice armchair, clean compact en suite and everything immaculately clean. the whole house was very well presented but it was the people who really made the stay - so friendly. The breakfast was wonderful - great variety and super quality. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Strand House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have just spent two nights in the Strand B&B with friends and I can strongly recommend this accommodation.Tom and Ernestine gave us a warm welcome with tea and scones. Our rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean.The breakfast was great and Geraldine was most attentive to anything we required. I would most certainly pay a return visit.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the front with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A truly fantastic place!! The house and accommodations were absolutely first rate and the husband and wife who run the B&B could not have been nicer. The rooms were spotless and looked brand new and the beds were very very comfy. The breakfast was probably the best we had during our 7 day / 6 night (and 6 different B&Bs!!!!) tour. The house is just a brief walk into town but you don't even notice the distance since you have beautiful homes on the one side of the street and the ocean on the other.

Ernestine and Tom could not have made us feel any more welcome and we can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oconneld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hosts Ernestine and Tom make guests feel at home as soon as you walk in the door. This was our second visit and they welcomed us like old friends. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are wonderful. There is a wide selection for breakfast with plenty of excellent coffee. The location is excellent as it is an easy walk into town where there are good restaurants and shops - and a beautiful walk along the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Strand House Bed and Breakfast was our favorite venue on a recent family trip to Ireland -- better even than the castle we stayed at later on!.Owner Ernestine greeted us like old friends and made sure all our needs were met. The location is fantastic, with ocean in front, a golf course a few steps up the road, and shops and restaurants a short walk down the road. The rooms were very well appointed. modern and extremely clean. Breakfasts are an unbelievable treat, not to be missed! We were sad to leave such a perfect place and hope to be back someday...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me, my brother, granny and granda booked the Strand B&B at short notice for a one night stay. It was the perfect location next to the beach and not a far walk from the shops. As soon as you step through the door you are greeted with tea & coffee, homemade bread, scones and buns. It was just delightful. The rooms were beautiful and had everything you could need. The breakfast was out of this word! Would recommend this B&B to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomhutton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

my boyfriend and i decided to book this at the last minute for a sat eve in august. the room was immaculate, bed comfy and i slept (which is rare in a strange bed) the breakfast was lovely(sausages yum) and the owners were very friendly and attentive. it is well worth the money. i thought at first steep for a b+b but after staying, well worth it.
We stayed in Room 2 overlooking garden, too last minute to get a seaview. room 2 now very special as my boyfriend proposed to me in it that evening so we will be back for an anniversary
the owners gave us until 1pm to check out which was generous and we appreciated it. we'll be back
Joe and Laura, N Ireland

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
1.2 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
221 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,851 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range: $137 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand House is a luxury 5 star NITB rated Bed and Breakfast in Portstewart and is situated on the north coast of Ireland. Our boutique style Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 minutes from our championship links golf course, (soon to host the Irish Open) and the famous Harry's Shack Restaurant . Strand House is also home to a glorious beach and interesting and varied walks. Guests can enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast with locally sourced produce and all dietary requirements are catered for. Our speciality homemade Guinness bread is just an example of our commitment to using local produce. All our bedrooms are spacious with king sized beds, most have sea views, controlled underfloor heating, ensuite bathrooms and some with Jacuzzi baths. We are centrally located for championship golf courses in Portstewart, Castlerock, Portrush and Ballyliffen and have storage and drying facilities in a secure purpose built facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Portstewart
Strand House Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing