We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
514
13
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
13
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesportstewart golf clubfreshly squeezed orange juiceincredible hospitalityguinness breadmade us feelon arrivalstar qualitygolf coursefull irish breakfastwarm welcomehome madefirst classold friendswonderful hostsharry's shacksecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 530 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

great attention by staff to guests all the time. lovely and spacious room and ensuite and bed. breakfast was delicious (i had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs!). located very near the beach and the golf club restaurant

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the sea / bay
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had an amazing stay at The Strand House while visiting Northern Ireland. Ernestine and Tom and staff are delightful! Our room was lovely!! Breakfast was divine. The location really added to our stay. The ocean walk was beautiful. All in all - first class in every way! We highly recommend it and wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBJArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Strand House on our trip around Ireland and it was our favorite accommodations on our 12 day journey around Ireland. The room was not huge but could accommodate our large suitcases by sliding them under the very comfortable bed. Everything was so clean and Ernestine and Tom and their staff were so gracious. Breakfast was an event. Loved it and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pahdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

One would like to keep this secret. But high praise is due and example should be set to all other B and B's - No one can beat this!

Freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly cut fruit salad, perfectly ironed high quality linen,
tasteful matching china, individual breads and jams all served to you with a smile.

The rooms are beautifully furnished with quality and discernment - better than a top expensive hotel and the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts unsurpassable.

Beautifully located within minutes of a 2 miles stretch of sandy beach protected by the NT!

What more can you possibly want - except perhaps that it was closer to home so that you could repair there every week end.
B R A V O!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IRENE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a single traveller, finding top class accommodation without having to pay for a double room is all but impossible. I was thrilled to discover that the top-rated B&B in Portstewart had a single room available at a reasonable cost. The room is small, but contained everything I needed and is exceptionally clean.
The breakfasts at Strand House are easily much better than many five star hotels and everything is fresh and prepared to order. Tom, Ernestine, Geraldine, Kate and the rest of the staff are couldn't be more helpful and are a delight.
The location is perfect for exploring all the North Coast of Northern Ireland has to offer and it's great that Portstewart Strand and Portstewart Promenade are both just shorts walks away.
I have already booked another visit and will definitely be returning time and time again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BookwormCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews