We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY STUNNING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY STUNNING”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon to a lovely warm greeting from Tom and Ernestine. What can I say about this establishment that hasnt already been said. Nothing. This B and B is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are modern, comfortable and extremely clean. I could not have asked for anything better. We had a slight hitch with our television. Within minutes Tom and Ernestines son appeared and fixed it. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was the highlight for me. Perfectly cooked and presented beautifully. Please do not hesitate booking this B and B as it is SIMPLY PERFECT. Well done Tom and Ernestine.
Karen

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARBLES102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
183
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ernestine was SO welcoming...staying up late into the night to welcome me after an 11:00 arrival from Belfast. The room was incredibly spacious. The best shower I've ever had outside the U.S. -- hot and with excellent water pressure. Great breakfasts as you'd expect (my personal recommendation is the French Toast with cheese and tomato). Golfers who've been to Bandon Dunes, it's like staying at The Inn, but with friendly, warm personal service. *Perfectly* positioned about a three wood and a nine-iron from the pro shop at Portstewart and only a 10-minute drive to Royal Portrush. Will DEFINITELY be back here with friends on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent place to stay friendly modern and extremely clean. Great welcome with scones and coffee, excellent breakfast
I travel a lot have never written a review but delighted booked into the Strand
Marion

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppyhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed in the Strand Guesthouse for one night in August 2012 while on a 12 day tour of Ireland with Vagabond Tours. All of the accommodation arranged by Vagabond for the tour was first-rate, but there was a general consensus amongst the members of our tour group that the Strand was in a class of its own. I have to agree; the Strand really did stand out, both in terms of its exceptional accommodation and the impeccable service provided by its hosts, Ernestine and Tom. Indeed, I can’t imagine that any other hotel or B&B in Port Stewart could come close to matching the Strand’s high standards. The rooms are immaculate, absolutely spotless, and there is wonderful attention to detail in terms of all the amenities provided. Meanwhile, and as noted in other reviews, Ernestine and her husband offer extremely personal, and personable, service. One member of our tour group inquired about, and received, Ernestine’s recipe for oatmeal cookies. Another member’s shoes were carefully stuffed with newspaper to help them dry out more quickly. And then there was the utterly delicious and healthy breakfast, the preparation of which is overseen by Ernestine herself in the kitchen that immediately adjoins the bright and airy breakfast room. All the members of our tour group were loath to leave and, had we been given the choice, would certainly have stayed at Strand House for another night or two. Regarding the town of Port Stewart, although it is situated in County Derry, it can be an excellent base for exploring the northern coastline of County Antrim, a coastline which includes such famous sites as Dunluce Castle and the Giant’s Causeway. In this regard, if you are thinking of making Port Stewart one of your stopovers while touring the north Antrim coastline, then the Strand Guesthouse is unquestionably THE place to stay.

After re-reading this review before posting, one caveat comes to mind. Although I give The Strand my highest recommendation, it occurs to me that it might not be the best accommodation for a family, especially a family with young children. It is perhaps best suited for couples and solo travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If Carlsberg did Guest Houses this would be the one. Everything from the welcome the accommodation the breakfast is wonderful. The Members of our Club take over the whole house and it is just home from home. We cannot rate it highly enough and look forward to returning year on year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy121948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Once you spend a night with Earnestine and Tom at the Strand House, you'll be spoiled! This beautiful facility is more like visitng the home of a long time friend or family mmember. Except - the accomodations, food and hosts are probably more accomodating than any of your family! The location is fantastic for walking ot the beach, golfing in Portstewart, visitng the Anchorage, walking leisurely and gaining some peace of mind. The rooms are immaculately clean, food as gourmet and presented in 5 star fashion. After 8 days of hotel, manor house and castle stays .... Strand House beats them all HANDS DOWN!!!

Room Tip: ALL rooms are equally lovely. Kings, doubles, twins are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmac1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We walked in and felt immediately home. Ernestine is amazing! We stayed one night in Portstewart during our 12 day Irish Adventure with the Vagabond tour group. This was my favorite place that we stayed. Ernestine made us feel right at home the moment we got there. She chatted with us and made sure we were squared away for dinner at the Country Club up the road. The rooms were immaculate and gorgeous. We had the penthouse suite that could easily fit a large family. The bed was amazing and so was the view out the window. In the morning we headed downstairs to Ernestine's famous breakfast. We had been informed that it would be a real treat and we were not let down. Ernestine and Tom laid out a fine spread and we departed happy and well fed. If you are looking for a great place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
8.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,681 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
641 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 105 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand House is a luxury 5 star NITB rated Bed and Breakfast in Portstewart and is situated on the north coast of Ireland. Our boutique style Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 minutes from our championship links golf course, (soon to host the Irish Open) and the famous Harry's Shack Restaurant . Strand House is also home to a glorious beach and interesting and varied walks. Guests can enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast with locally sourced produce and all dietary requirements are catered for. Our speciality homemade Guinness bread is just an example of our commitment to using local produce. All our bedrooms are spacious with king sized beds, most have sea views, controlled underfloor heating, ensuite bathrooms and some with Jacuzzi baths. We are centrally located for championship golf courses in Portstewart, Castlerock, Portrush and Ballyliffen and have storage and drying facilities in a secure purpose built facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Strand House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Portstewart
Strand House Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing