We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high bar for all other B & B's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A high bar for all other B & B's!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Once you spend a night with Earnestine and Tom at the Strand House, you'll be spoiled! This beautiful facility is more like visitng the home of a long time friend or family mmember. Except - the accomodations, food and hosts are probably more accomodating than any of your family! The location is fantastic for walking ot the beach, golfing in Portstewart, visitng the Anchorage, walking leisurely and gaining some peace of mind. The rooms are immaculately clean, food as gourmet and presented in 5 star fashion. After 8 days of hotel, manor house and castle stays .... Strand House beats them all HANDS DOWN!!!

Room Tip: ALL rooms are equally lovely. Kings, doubles, twins are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmac1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
187
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We walked in and felt immediately home. Ernestine is amazing! We stayed one night in Portstewart during our 12 day Irish Adventure with the Vagabond tour group. This was my favorite place that we stayed. Ernestine made us feel right at home the moment we got there. She chatted with us and made sure we were squared away for dinner at the Country Club up the road. The rooms were immaculate and gorgeous. We had the penthouse suite that could easily fit a large family. The bed was amazing and so was the view out the window. In the morning we headed downstairs to Ernestine's famous breakfast. We had been informed that it would be a real treat and we were not let down. Ernestine and Tom laid out a fine spread and we departed happy and well fed. If you are looking for a great place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Tom and Ernestine were most gracious hosts. Rooms and amenities were excellent. The breakfrast was over the top. Ernestine and staff were too nice to my waistline with the fine qualtiy and ample portions of food. The House has beautiful water views in a very scenic part of Northern Ireland. It was the highlight of the many wonderfully diverse place we stayed. Visit Often!!!

Room Tip: They are ALL great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I travelled up from Co.Down for 2 nights using our bus passes! (full marks to Translink) and our stay could not have been more enjoyable, With beatiful rooms,great breakfasts and great craic what more could you want!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. I was staying for business and my hosts could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating. Ernestine makes wonderful scones, bread...etc... not to mention the breakfasts! So good in fact that I came back the next week and stayed again!
The rooms are beautiful and immaculately clean and the house has amazing views to the sea.
Really wonderful B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were on a family trip and stayed here, one of the nicest houses i have ever stayed in. It is like a small hotel, modern and comfortable, clean and very friendly. The Breakfast was amazing, home cooked and freshly baked bread. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us delightfully. I would highly commend the owners and recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingFGalltir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at Strand House in late August near the beginning of a two-week tour of Ireland. Our Irish lodging experiences overall were very positive, but Strand House was by far the best. Tom and Ernestine warmly welcomed our group upon arrival and catered to us throughout our brief stay. Their home is modern, spacious, and comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast was the best that we experienced anywhere in Ireland. Although our stay probably didn't exceed 14 hours, we felt like family members by the time we left. This is an absolutely wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMW1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portstewart
8.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage Inn
The Anchorage Inn
#2 of 4 in Portstewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strand House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 105 Strand Road, Portstewart BT55 7LZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand House Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand House is a luxury 5 star NITB rated Bed and Breakfast in Portstewart and is situated on the north coast of Ireland. Our boutique style Bed and Breakfast is situated 3 minutes from our championship links golf course, (soon to host the Irish Open) and the famous Harry's Shack Restaurant . Strand House is also home to a glorious beach and interesting and varied walks. Guests can enjoy our delicious home-made breakfast with locally sourced produce and all dietary requirements are catered for. Our speciality homemade Guinness bread is just an example of our commitment to using local produce. All our bedrooms are spacious with king sized beds, most have sea views, controlled underfloor heating, ensuite bathrooms and some with Jacuzzi baths. We are centrally located for championship golf courses in Portstewart, Castlerock, Portrush and Ballyliffen and have storage and drying facilities in a secure purpose built facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Hotel Portstewart
Strand House Bed And Breakfast Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing