We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best of Ireland”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Tara Lodge, Holiday Accommodation. Sleeps 8. 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms. Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Tara Lodge, Holiday Accommodation. Sleeps 8. 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms.
Dining
Lounge
Master Bedroom, Ensuite
Twin Room
Double Bedroom - First Floor
Upstairs Seating Area
Family Room
Castlerock Beach
Water Activities
Water Actvities
Sailing
Water Activities
Blokarting
Skydive
Water Sports
Water Sports
Manannan Mac Lir, Sea God, Sculpture, Gortmore Viewing Point
Dark Hedges, Game of Thrones
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlerock, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_clrobert...
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Ireland”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time in Northern Ireland. Tara Lodge was the perfect base for our daily trips to visit the historical sights. The house was beautiful with excellent facilities. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were within walking distance to the golden sands of Castle rock and the local shop.
I would definitely recommend Tara Lodge to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Hi Christine. So please you & your friends enjoyed Tara Lodge & Castlerock. The beach is just so beautiful & the walks around the village and up to Mussenden Temple are just breathtaking.
See you again soon.

Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoeliacTr...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend at Tara Lodge! Perfect location.”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent last weekend at Tara Lodge and it was one of the best times we've had away. The house itself has everything anyone could possibly want including a lovely wood burning stove in the lounge. The kitchen was fully equipped with quality appliances although we only used it for breakfast as we ate out in some of the wonderful restaurants in the area.
On Friday night, after a walk on the beautiful Castlerock beach and a drink in the adjoining golf club, we ate at The Tides in Portstewart at a window table overlooking the sea and across to Donegal, watching the most amazing sunset. The food and service were great. Exceptional value with three courses for the price of the main as well as offers on cocktails.
On Saturday we visited the nearby waterfall and craft/coffee shop and then we took the train to Derry (station is a five minute walk from house). This stunning railway journey is classed as one of the world's most beautiful by Michael Palin and Michael Portillo among others, and it didn't disappoint!
In Derry we walked across the famous Peace Bridge, visited the Guildhall, sat outside and had great coffee and cakes watching one of the many events in the square. We walked the famous walls, taking in the history of this beautiful city and did some retail therapy in some of the great shops. We rounded it off with cocktails and fabulous food in Browns in Town, another fantastic restaurant with great value high quality food and drink and exceptional service.
As we headed back on the train we watched the most magnificent sunset over the city. We rounded off the perfect day relaxing with a glass of wine in front of the lovely fire. We can't wait to return and visit some of the other magnificent beaches and restaurants which the north coast is famous for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for fabulous review of your stay. Your weekend sounded perfect. I have to agree that your choice of places to eat & the train journey to Derry lives up to Michael Palins inspirational review. Hope to see you again soon & I look forward to your next review.
Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
2 reviews
“What a lovely place in Castlerock ideally situated close to the beach and all amenities. Thank you so much Diane”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Brilliant weekend in Castlerock for my sisters 50th birthday weekend. Tara Lodge is ideally situated and is very well equipped with everything anyone would want. Very clean comfortable house ensuring the six of us had a lovely time. Would definitely recommend this holiday rental. Thanks to the owner Diane for all your help. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Delighted you & all the family enjoyed Tara Lodge. Thank you for your lovely comments. Our team works hard to make your stay special. Always welcome. Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmj87
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic home from home !!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say about this property to do it justice !. Pure luxury from beds, kitchen, log burning fireplace to the very thoughtful complimentary bottle of wine and biscuits. Our stay at Tara Lodge was fantastic from the minute we stepped over the threshold ! The house was even better than the photos on the website! Don't miss a chance to experience luxury at an affordable price. We were a party of 4 adults and 5 children with plenty of space to spare.
Diane, the owner, was so kind and thoughtful when booking. Thank you so much for making our first ever experience in Derry memorable. We will definitely be back !
Wish I could give you 10 stars Diane !!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Hi Monica
Your amazing review has made both mine & our housekeeper Phyllis's day!!! We are blown away by your great comments. It makes all the hard work worthwhile. You & your family are welcome anytime at Tara Lodge. So pleased you enjoyed Castlerock & our beautiful North Coast.See you again soon & thank you again for probably our best review!!!.
Regards Diane
Owner/Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
1 review
“Lovely home”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second stay in this house and it didn't disappoint. A great location within easy walking distance to seafront, railway station, coffee shops. House is very comfortable and well equipped to cater for our party of 8 adults. It turned out to be a very cold weekend, but we remained cosy with the log fire burner. Hope to return again in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Hi Christine.
Delighted you & your guests enjoyed the break at Tara Lodge. Thanks for completing this great review. See you again soon.

Regards Diane
Owner/Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gskgambld
1 review
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just back after spending New Year at Tara Lodge, Castlerock and couldn't recommend it enough! This was our second time staying - this time with family (we previously stayed with friends) and I have to say the place just gets better. Every little detail is thought of, right down to BT sport on the tv so my hubby could watch the very important Liverpool match!! Lol! The whole house is spotless and is very family friendly, plenty of space and the living area, kitchen and bedrooms are all decorated to a high standard. A nice touch being some Christmas decorations displayed which made it cozy for bringing in the New Year aswell! The owner, Diane was very helpful and nothing was a problem! If your looking a top quality home from home on the north coast then get booking Tara Lodge - you won't be disappointed!! x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you Gail for this lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed seeing in the New Year at Tara Lodge with all the family.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Happy New Year!!!
Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon P
1 review
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here.
Everything is provided so aside from your normal clothing and toiletries you only need to buy food (and washing powder etc. if you want to use the laundry facilities).
It was the start of winter so we had some snow, gales and harsh frost.
A summer stay here would be amazing.
Would definitely recommend for family groups as the spacious layout provides for both social and individual activities. The lounge and kitchen diner can accommodate all 8 guests at once.
Bedroom plan is double with lounge area, double with ensuite, twin, and family with double and two singles.
Lockable storage shed is provided, ideal if you have brought cycles etc or have a roof rack or box to put aside during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Hi Simon.
Thanks for the lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tara Lodge. The weather has been unusually cold for this time of year. Next time you're here I order the sunshine!!!
Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing