We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional coffee shop in the home of "Danny Boy"”

Hunters Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Limavady
Restaurant details
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional coffee shop in the home of "Danny Boy"”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

As I was about to write a review of a our experiences in restaurants and hotels in Venice I looked up some of the Limavady reviews for interest, and was amazed to find the negative comments about Hunter's "Oven Door" as it is called locally. Even before we moved to Limavady we were tipped off about the friendly staff and standard of food at lunch time. Granted the decor has not changed but the locals like it, as evidenced by the full house on a Saturday morning when I relax with papers, the staff are universally helpful and the food freshly prepared and traditional. Walk 100 yards up the street and see where Jane Ross wrote down the tune of "Danny Boy"; sometimes it's good to be traditional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heartyeater2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Worst Service in Limavady!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff in the bakery outlet were so unpleasant that my wife wrote to the manager last year but never received an acknowledgement. I write this solely on the terrible experiences i have endured on Saturday mornings at bakery outlet. I have never encountered such a surly unwelcoming group. They never smile or greet customers and we are there on sufferance. The pastries are delicious but expensive; so come on, there is definitely an opening for an outlet bakery in Limavady. The ironic thing is that the standard of service in shops in Limavady usually exude friendliness and helpfulness. Can't understand how this business survives!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
22 Thank limavadypride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coffee dire, staff woeful.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

On both recent visits I have asked for my latte to be topped up as was 1/2 froth only! Staff grunted at my request, never experienced such rudeness. Limavady needs'Ground Coffee Bar' for a truly great coffee experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank Cassieni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Popular place, meal OK”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went in for a Saturday lunch. I had chili on a jacket potato and my wife a salad. While the jacket potato was huge and tasty the salad was rather too small due to the size of the bowl. Good value meals in a place that it clearly very popular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NPI338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for a cuppa”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hunters is a long established Cafe / Bakery in Limavady town centre. The fact that it is always busy speaks volumes...it is clean, reasonably priced and the food is good. Great place to meet with friends and have a catch-up.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Limavady, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 
Limavady, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 

Been to Hunters Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing