We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with new waitresses”

The Point Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Limavady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the Northern Ireland side of the mouth of Lough Foyle. Location at water's edge, at the western end of one of Ireland's best beaches - Magilligan Beach, which is a continuation of world famous Downhill/Benone Beach. Is situated close to historic sites of Downhill Castle, Mussenden Tower and Martello Tower at Magilligan Point. Located beside Magilligan to Greencastle (Republic of Ireland) ferry
Limavady
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could do with new waitresses”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been years since I was in the Point, stopped of a couple of weeks ago as we just missed the ferry to Donegal. The place hasn't changed a bit, could do with a good paint job, but cosy enough. The barman was great, an older guy who was a good laugh, but as for the waiting staff, bloody hell, what a disaster. We actually missed the next ferry because of the wait (the ferry runs every hour, so that's nearly a full hour we sat). How long does it take to serve a table of two off a basic pub grub menu? I had to go to the bar for my own drinks and refills as the waitresses all stood around the bar chatting and ignoring their tables. When we asked a young waitress what the hold-up was as we were going to miss the boat, she left and sent another girl down, I assume to be her boss. I asked her the same question and she just gave us a dour look whilst muttering something unintelligible in our general direction as she sauntered off, she didn't even bother coming back, girl needs a personality transplant. The food was fine when we got it, the burger was lovely, can't complain there, but just make sure you aren't in a hurry for anything or dying of starvation if you plan to eat here. Not a pleasant experience for us, I won't be visiting any time soon. If I miss the ferry again, I'll just drive via derry and go to Donegal to eat, it will be quicker.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank JulieWoolyColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    69
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Overpriced pub food in poor surroundings - we queried that the fillet steak at about £19 was an actual fillet - "mine host" wasnt happy but did replace it with something that looked & tasted like a fillet this time. "mine host" is happy talking to the locals but treats the tourists differently - he needs to bear in mind without the tourists he wouldnt survive. Needs a good cleaning and a lick of paint - also a niche in the market for someone to have a good restaurant nearby as competition. Dont rush there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I've eaten here on a number of occasions, most recently July 2012, and always find the food very good. The menu is extensive and there is something to suit everyone. I love the sea bass, sole, burgers and steaks. They also do a great omelette and you can order any ingredients you fancy. Don't forget to check the daily specials board for something slightly different. It's in an idyllic location, overlooking Magilligan Strand, which runs all the way to Downhill Castle. The views across the Foyle estuary to Donegal are breathtaking, with amazing sunsets. Staff are friendly and I would have no complaints. Interior may seem a bit dated, a pub with good food and a great real fire, but it is very cosy on a stormy, winter's day. Just the day for a large bowl of chowder with wheaten bread.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and location. Hidden gem.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This really is a pub with a restaurant and has an old fashioned feel to it which is lovely. There is an old lit fireplace inside and pictures of its history, fishermen, maps and that of the locals proudly on its wall. There are a few tables positioned beside the front windows which look out onto lough foyle. The food we had here was great and had good flavours- seabass and cod and chips. The seabass was on the specials board. The staff were great and very helpful and service was quick.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank On_the_road_again031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“UNREAL”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Conor gilloway is an outstanding barman really brings the point bar too life with his humor, he was very fast and sufficient with his service really what every good bar must have

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmcgill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Limavady, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 
Limavady, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 
Limavady, County Londonderry
Limavady, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Point Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing