We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasion - no acknowledgement”
Review of Roe Park Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roe Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limavady
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Special occasion - no acknowledgement”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked this hotel for one night B&B/Dinner for myself and 2 daughters.
I also booked some treatments in the Spa for my daughter, as this was a special occasion, her 21st birthday. In total, I spent around £330 for our one night stay.

Despite stating the reason for our visit when booking, I was disappointed that no-one acknowledged this during our stay (Reception staff, waitresses etc). I had read other reviews where guests mentioned receiving small tokens such as complimentary fruit and even a candle on dessert or a message on their dessert plate. I don't know why this courtesy is applied to some guests only?

Regarding our stay, I must say that the facilities were very good. Our room was comfortable and spacious and on the top floor away from the lift, as requested when booking. We used the gym, pool and sauna and enjoyed these. My daughter was pleased with her treatments in the Spa and the staff were pleasant and professional.

We enjoyed our meal in the Bistro, although we had a slight problem with the cheesecake dessert my daughter chose. We explained to the waitress that it wasn't to her taste and asked for a different option, mentioning that it was her birthday meal. Although this was provided, we felt that the staff seemed annoyed by our request - their attitude towards us seemed to deteriorate from that point on.

I was also surprised to discover, on checking out, that we had been charged £1.40 for a jug of diluted juice which we had ordered with our meal. I thought this was petty and unnecessary.

So to summarise our visit, I would say that the hotel facilities are very good, food was good, spa treatments pricey but excellent but, overall, we didn't experience any warmth from staff and left with a sour taste.
The hotel seemed to be very quiet with just a handful of guests so I fail to understand why no-one could make any effort even to simply wish my daughter a happy birthday!

Room Tip: Top floor facing the front of the hotel - middle of corridor - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shells99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Roe Park for your daughters birthday but I am also disappointed that you felt the occasion was dismissed by our staff. This was not our intention and communication may have been the reason behind this. We try to make our guests feel as welcome as possible. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    319
    127
    36
    19
See reviews for
338
562
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a lovely resort in the beautiful hills of Northern Ireland in the countryside. So peaceful. Splendid grounds and the hotel is surrounded by a golf course. The lawns are decorated with lovely hydrangeas and ornamental grasses and big old oak trees. Nice quiet rooms well appointed, good food and great service. The breakfast buffet was vast with plenty of choices At this time I don't recall what I had for dinner. Must have had too many Guiness pints.....LOL.
I would recommend this resort/hotel if you are lucky enough to visit Northern Ireland. It is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Sandy, Many thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again on your next visit to N Ireland. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding.
The rooms were big,clean and well furnished.
The food was of a good quality.
Each member of staff was most helpful and could not have done anything more to make our stay most enjoyble and relaxing. ( The night manager even offered to get a puncture in a pushchair repaired!)
Only one fault- the draught beer, Bass from memory, needs to be changed for a decent brew.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Richard, Many thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our attention to customer service. Look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Traveling through Northern Ireland doesn't reveal many five star hotels, and standards vary throughout different regions and locales. All of that to say that this is a pretty good option as a base of operations for golf groups sampling the courses at Ballyliffin, Buncrana, Portstewart and Portrush. The rooms were modern and well appointed. I found the staff to be very accommodating and the meals to be serviceable if not remarkable. There was free wi-fi, but my connection was painfully slow.

The resort has a spa which we did not sample and a parkland golf course which we did. If you are in Ireland for a golf trip, the Roe Park course would not be on anyone's list, however, with carts and well maintained grounds, it is an option for a morning round if you have a late tee time at nearby Portstewart or Portrush as was our case.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi Anthony, Many thanks for your review. Our location on the north coast places us ideally for golf enthusiasts to play our own 18 hole parkland course as well as nearby links courses. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

just home from having a wonderful weekend in this hotel. this was a wedding anniversary present from our dughter we stayed in room 112 and must say have stayed in lots of other hotels this year but the roe valley beats them all friendliness cleanliness and nothing was to much bother for the staff. on arrival in our room there was a bottle of champange on ice awaiting for us and i have to say the ice machine at the top of the stairs was ever soo handy. We had our meal in the coach house both nights and to say we were full after the meal was an understatement next to bursting we were and emir was an extremly helpful waitress in every way down to putting candles on our eaton mess lol which i have to say we both couldnt finish. Well done the roe valley definatly would go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karena148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Karen, Many thanks for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your anniversary treat and the small touches made by the staff made your stay with us even more special. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kindest Regards, Staff at Roe Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a deal that included one night B&B with a 4 course meal. As it was a Sunday night, dining was in the Coach House Brassiere. The meal was very good with a great selection to choose from for each course. The room was well equipped & pleasantly warm. Buffet breakfast was another good meal, plenty to pick & choose. Overall a very enjoyable stay. We don't play golf but as we left on the Monday morning it was obvious, from the numbers on the golf course, that thr resort's golf course is very popular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xandalree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay including, our facilities and quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from one night stay at Roe Park Resort and was not disappointed.My husband and I have been back numerous times on our own and with the kids over the past 15years at least and have been impressed that high standards remain.
Room 116 in original part of hotel appeared to have been recently refurbished and was spotless.We dinned in The Coach House as Greens was closed and meal was superb.It was a little crowed and noisy but staff were polite and attentive.
Spa facilities were excellent.Breakfast first class and plenty of choice.
All staff were friendly and polite.Glad to see high standards remain.Will definitely be back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL0wry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roe_Park_Resort, Manager at Roe Park Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kind Regards, Staff at Roe Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limavady
10.0 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,854 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
20.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
16.3 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
683 reviews
15.1 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roe Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roe Park Resort

Property: Roe Park Resort
Address: 10 Lisnakilly Road, Limavady BT49 9FB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Radisson Blu Roe Park Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roe Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Roe Park Resort – one of Northern Ireland's premiere golf and spa resorts. Overlooking its own stunning 18 hole golf course and set amidst the gorgeous surroundings of the Roe Valley Country Park, this 4 star luxury hotel boasts 118 stylish en suite rooms that blend the charm of a country house estate with the modern luxuries and conveniences you'd expect from a 4-star luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Roe Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roe Park Hotel Limavady
Radisson Hotel Limavady
Radisson Limavady
Radisson Sas Roe Park Hotel
Limavady Radisson
Radisson Roe Park
Roe Park Resort Limavady, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing