We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'' Everything you could want in a B&B''”
Review of Ballycarton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballycarton House
Ranked #3 of 7 Limavady B&B and Inns
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'' Everything you could want in a B&B''”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a beautiful house and sitting in the gardens taking in those magnificent views was one of the highlights of our trip.
Patricia was a lovely hostess providing us with everything we could need. We were made to feel like friends rather than guests. Our room was very comfortable with lots of little extras, The flyscreens on the windows meant we could get lots of fresh air without the bother of any annoying insects entering, we are now looking into these for our own house.
The menu for breakfast was extensive & everything we chose over our 3 day stay was superb.
I will highly recommend 'Ballycarton House' & hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

hi all, stayed here almost by accident but am so glad i did! Was touring Northern Ireland on the motorbike and left it a bit late to find a room that evening but was delighted to stumble on this lovely B&b in what has to be one of the most picturesque spots in the country! Henry and Patricia couldn't have been more welcoming, providing me with covered,safe parking for the bike and delicious tea and scones once I'd unpacked. The views from the clean and cosy room was fantastic,looking over towards a tree covered mountain. After a delicious cooked breakfast my hosts provided great directions and a few recommendations for spectacular motorbike roads. Thanks again for the hospitality and I'll definately be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

All I can say is that Patricia and Henry are excellent hosts, tea and coffee on arrival and then a stroll round their gardens to take in the breath taking views of Binevenagh Mountain directly behind their property.
The room was well presented and very clean and the en-suite spotless. The bed was very comfy and aided a great night’s sleep. Next morning breakfast was a further treat with a choice of cereals and juices followed up with a very tasty cooked “fry up”.
The only problem I had was I only stayed for one night on business but I will be back again for a longer break with my "other half" for sure! I would have no hesitation in recommending Ballycarton House to anybody visiting this part of the North-west.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the best B&B we have stayed in, either in Ireland or in England.Warm and friendly welcome nothing was too much trouble. After having problems with our car, Henry (Patricia's husband) couldn't have been more helpful. He went to get the part we needed and helped fit it, amazing. The honesty bar was a lovely idea. We were only going to stay one night but was so impressed, decided to stay two nights. Would highly recommend - you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timothy_thorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Falls, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Please be sure to stay at Ballycarton House if you're planning a trip to Derry or Giant's Causeway! Patricia was more than wonderful and her home was immaculate and comfortable. Her gardens were lovely and my daughter loved being able to use the swing! Her suggestion for a restaurant for dinner was great and our breakfast the next morning was delicious. She is a fantastic hostess, greeting a group of weary travelers with tea and coffee on our arrival. Overall, this was our favorite B&B during our 2 week stay in Ireland. Thanks, Patricia!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed the night after attending a wedding at a local resort.
Patrica could not be more friendly or helpful to me and my wife.
We were greeted with tea & coffee in the lounge and then given our choice of room to chose from.
The rooms were clean and well presented.
The food in the morning was excellent with both a cooked breakfast (The best I have had in a long time) and also a continental choice too.
Patrica was an excellent host and also gave us a lift to the nearby hotel for the wedding which she had need to do but insisted on doing anyway.
I would gladly stay here again in the near future and would recommend her to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Patricia was an exceptional host and even picked us up at the bus station, and even gave us a lift to town when she was heading in at the same time. She fixed us tea on arrival and was exceptionally personable. I can't say enough about how great of a host she was.

The property is beautiful with great mountain views. We enjoyed walking around and just being outside. The other guests were also a pleasure to talk with.

Breakfast was to die for. We looked forward to it every morning. We had read the reviews prior to arriving and they were all spot on in regards to the meals.

We will certainly visit again if we return to Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Give Patricia a call. She's great to work with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wctyler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limavady
7.5 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,873 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
566 reviews
13.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
697 reviews
19.0 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballycarton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballycarton House

Property: Ballycarton House
Address: 239 Seacoast Road, Limavady BT49 0HZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Limavady
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Limavady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendliness, comfort and good food are assured at Ballycarton House, with 5 en suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge (log fires in the winter), complimentary wifi access throughout, large gardens and ample car parking we have everything the discerning traveler could need. Whether you visit is for business, sightseeing or just chilling out, we will aim to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the house is perfectly positioned to explore the stunning North Coast and its many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ballycarton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballycarton House Limavady, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing