We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bugle Inn

The Bugle Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Twyford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bugle Inn is an 18th Century coaching inn located 2 miles from the Historic city of Winchester. Soon to be taken back to its original inn status with B&B rooms opening in January 2014. The Bugle inn is famous for it's locally sourced organic produce, daily changing menu & very locally brewed real ales. The Bugle inn is a training ground for young chefs to develop the skills required for British/French cuisine.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, friendly staff.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went for a meal last night and it was fantastic! I has been wanting to go for ages because of all the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. All locally sourced produce and the steak was amazing! All 4 of us agreed we would not hesitate to go back. An excellent venue for a nice meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank solentsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    206
    50
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel of Hampshire”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just had one of the besteals ever at the bugle. First time for Hamphire mozzarella and it was delicious and fresh. Char grill chicken was so juicy with a great sweet salad. Crumble was like my mums, so top marks here. Wish it was closer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomberblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special family meal”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I went to the bugle inn on Saturday 2nd August for a family celebration meal. We stayed in Winchester overnight and got a taxi to the venue.
Our slight annoyance of having to get a cab was quickly overlooked as we had the best family dinner/evening we have ever had. Staff were so friendly, even when they were extremely busy. The food was just "wow", not just for me but for all the table. My brother in law uses the bugle a lot now he and my sister live in Winchester. I recommend the pork belly & pigs cheeks, the trio of chocolate and the local bitter called IPA. Top night, looking forward to going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodigrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real gastro pub experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Quality of food was outstanding and without question, exceeds standards of surrounding restaurants and pubs. We had chateaubriand at lunchtime (it was my birthday!) and couldn't eat it all but have accepted a 'doggy bag' to take home! Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and looks like what we ordered will last us the day, if not the whole weekend!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaSumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Even Better than Last Time”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Went back to the Bugle for a 2nd time with my parents for Sunday Roast and was not disappointed. Even better than last time. Cannot fault the quality and the desserts were to die for (recommend going halves with someone do get a double surprise..yum). Will definitely go again. Only one small issue and that was parking (car park full and road outside). Expected I guess, due to popularity of venue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumps65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bugle Inn also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bugle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing