We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good, but needs some improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stag at Redhill
Ranked #2 of 8 Alcester B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have only ever eaten here - either for Sunday lunch or mid-week.

The decor is great, it has a nice feel to it and is modern yet tasteful. The staff are generally good, but overall I feel the following areas could be improved:

Quality of food varies week to week - you want to know what to expect as a regular customer
Certain staff can be rude - perhaps under-staffing is the problem at times here
When you order a portion of chips for almost £3 you expect more than 20 to arrive!

Overall, would reccommend for a casual pub lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank letsgoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Its great to hear you like the way the Stag now looks and feels. We have been working hard to ensure our new menu is delivered consistantly by our kitchen team. Thank you for your constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Stag at Redhill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 472 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

After waiting quite along time to order two drinks, one starter and two mains, the starter came out after about fifteen minutes this was lovely although not much for the price. I ate my starter and finished it, people who had come in after us were getting their meals before us. After about an hour I ask a member of staff if they had forgotten our meals. she went back to the kitchen and came back with them. My husbands roast was the size of a childs portion with dried up meat, vegetables that had been boiled to death, black roast potatoes, cold yorkshire puds and dried up mash potatoes one side of the plate was boiling hot while the other side was stone cold. My scampi and chips were hot but the peas were rock hard and the tartare sauce was hot. Three out of four times that we went to the bar we waited between ten and fifteen minutes. They were obviously short staffed but this is no excuse for the poor quality of food. The outside tables had not been cleared for some time. We were not the only unhappy customers as several people were complaining. I do not blame the front of house staff as, poor food has to be down to the chef and bad staffing is down to management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkibullingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit to the Stag.I have discussed your comments with the kitchen team who are deeply sorry that your experience wasn't a great one. We hope that has not put you off calling in again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Had an overnight stay at The Stag whilst visiting Cheltenham and Stratford-upon-Avon. There was plenty of parking and we stayed in a courtyard room No. 4. On entering we were immediately hit with an over-whelming smell of damp (very similar to the smell of wet towels that have been left in your swimming bag for a few days!) which permeated the whole room. It was evident that there was insufficient ventilation in the shower room - the extractor fan was not working and the ceiling above the shower was covered in fine mould! This was the only thing that spoilt an otherwise perfect room and when we mentioned it on leaving we were told that no-one else had mentioned the smell - which I find hard to believe.
On the plus side the room was a really good size, nicely decorated and very clean. The double bed was very comfortable. The shower room was spacious and there was a multi-function shower with plenty of hot water. I mentioned to tip all my toiletries onto the floor when I placed them on the glass shelf above the sink. The shelf actually swivelled on its brackets!! Despite all this, the room was very good.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was clean and spacious. The waitress seemed a bit tired and worn - out as apparently they'd had a busy day. The menu offered a good choice of pub grub; the prices were very reasonable and the food was good. Breakfast the following morning was very good with plenty of choice and was nicely cooked. The same waitress seemed a bit jaded and was struggling to show much enthusiasm - she probably needed a good sleep, poor girl!
Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would probably choose the Stag again if we were in the area - but perhaps not Room 4.

Room Tip: If allocated Room 4 check for the damp smell first.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback into your stay with us. Im glad you liked your stay, and I do apologise about the ventilation system in your room. We are in the process of getting it fixed so that this issue does not re-occur. I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the Stag last weekend after a trip to the Cheltenham Festival as it was close to where our son lives near Stratford. We were greated with a warm welcome and the staff and manager couldn't have been more accomodating even though they were extremely busy with coaches of race goers. We had eaten there the week before and had a fabulous meal and wasn't disappointed yet again. The bar was very welcoming after a long day and our room was lovely. Had a great nights sleep, fully refreshed and enjoyed a beautiful breakfast with a great menu to chose from. We will not hesitate to return to the Stag for a long weekend in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Its great to hear you had a woderful time at the Stag and we hope your next visit is equally as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Accommodation - not too bad...maybe avoid if you have a dust allergy. Never good when you can write your name in it! Book a double, you get 2 singles pushed together, you can’t beat the comfort adjoining beds, it has made me think I may try it at home, lovely. Bathroom...not too bad...shower system (circa. 1975) where you had to play a game with the taps to avoid getting scalded and a step that wasn’t very clear, but you only have to fall down it once to realise it’s there so there we go.

Dinner - Initial starter was alright at best (Halloumi tasted like chicken!). The highlight of dinner was the poor elderly couple who had been put on the 'sloping table' where the gentleman was clearly sat facing downhill therefore having to try and defy gravity and had to chase his plate around his table! It was as funny as it sounds! Main course for us was the worst...Burnt burger, burnt bacon and a grease soaked bap, that wasn’t the menu description, that’s how it’s served. The 'manager' explaining the appearance of the burger, I was told proudly 'our burgers a chargrilled', sure, sure, sure...chargrilled isn’t another word for burnt but to be fair, it wasn’t burnt in the middle! The tipping point came when I was told the soggy bun wasn’t like that when it was sent out...implying that I had sabotaged my dinner! When I assured her I had not poured a glass of water over it and that it was just covered in grease, it was agreed it would be taken back and I would not be charged, how nice. Thankfully the company was magnificent and the whole thing became a joke.

Breakfast - was average, asked for coffee and received little more than what amounted to a shot of coffee and not offered any further refills, the amount of tea on the other hand could have supplied the local town of Stratford too. So overall, pretty average and whilst some of the staff were pleasant enough, it was pretty clear a certain member of staff didn’t like that I had complained the night before and it was blatantly obvious!
So, just try and get a table where you can observe the sloping table then you'll have a great night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Supern0va84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Stag. We are all disappointed that you were not happy with your food, service and stay. The issues you have highlighted will be at the top of our agenda at our next team meeting. I can only appologise again and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went to the Stag while passing through the area I remembered that the location and gardens were superb.....it's been years since I have been there and of course it's under new management but I have to say it is still a great place to rest and eat.......good options for us vegetarians and great outside gardens to sit and relax.....the bar and all the staff were very busy but they managed to serve people fairly quickly.....to save time remember to get a table number first then put your food order in if you decide to sit outside be prepared to pay when you place the order.....great location well worth a visit......

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have passed them onto the team, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Last dined here some thirty years ago!
Staying at a hotel in Warwick nearby and enjoying the countryside outside Stratford Upon Avon when we chanced upon the Stag. This was the Sunday when the weather changed dramatically in England and with the sun coming out it seemed everyone took to the road and headed for the local pub!
The Stag is in a very good location and has a great outside garden...looking for a Sunday Roast we opted to sit inside and quickly placed our order. There is also a very good menu with many good choices and the prices are excellent... A roast at under a tenner is great value.
Despite being busy food arrived fairly quickly...most of the food was hot apart from the mash, I opted for two choices of meat which was slightly overcooked and on the dry side. Good selection of veg though and the roasted spuds were nicely cooked. Wife enjoyed her veggie nut roast option.
Finished off with some nice puds and very good coffee....overall very enjoyable, atmosphere & general ambience of the place is ok although the interior design is typical of the chain conversions made to appear as an 'olde worlde English Inn'

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Stag at Redhill, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your food at the Stag. Im sorry that not all elements of your food were up to standard, but i will make sure the kitchen rectifies this problem, and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
4.1 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Alcester
9.6 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag at Redhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag at Redhill

Address: Alcester Road | Stratford upon Avon, Alcester B49 6NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alcester
Price Range: $89 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stag at Redhill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Stag at Redhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stag At Redhill Hotel Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing