We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, would recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Throckmorton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Throckmorton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alcester
2 reviews
“Excellent, would recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Although Id eaten in the restrant before, this was my first overnight stay in the hotel and I was very impressed..once again staff was always polite and helpful and the rooms were superb for the price. Will deffo stay again:-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobster1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
31
103
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We met my son and his girlfriend here for lunch. We found the staff very accommodating (the original party was going to be larger, but some people didn't arrive). The beer and wine was good, the the prices reasonable, especially with the discount for National Trust members. The food was variable - my chicken liver pate was disgusting, and roast lamb well, average, but my husband's pork very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were shown to our table which was at the end of the restaurant which was very brightly lit. We weren't offered a drink so we ended up going to the bar instead but, after that slight blip, service did improve and was speedy but waiting staff seemed rather disinterested apart from one girl. We both ordered fishcakes but when the plates arrived we were faced with 3 balls of rubber each, drowning in chilli sauce and a handful of stirfry on the plate - no idea where the fish was in the fishcake! My partner had the pork belly which was ok and the veg was a nice sized portion but lacked imagination, ie peas and carrots with some leeks. I was very disappointed with my chicken gnocchi which was literally swimming in a very bland sauce with a few bits of chicken and some lettuce plonked on the top which was wilting from the heat of the dish. After 50 minutes in the restaurant we left and went for dessert in The Hollybush in Alcester where the food was of a much better quality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited Throckmorton Arms late Feb 2013. We booked a table of 4 and had an early dinner 6pm.
We had reserved our table and were seated as soon as we arrived
The car park is large and sufficient and the location is easy to find
We ordered our starters - The Pate was good - not quite enough bread - The Thai Fishcakes were of average quality. Chicken Satay was good as was the goats cheese ( maybe a little too much leek)
The main courses were Fishcakes - which were very good, The stuffed Chicken which again was good as was the Cajun Chicken
An excellent bar ambience helped the evening go well - not too crowded but good service.
Would I recommend this - yes
Would I go again - yes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks in total, its a great place with a super comfy bar area dotted with squodgy sofa's around a roaring log fire. The rooms are i stayed in were all clean and tidy, although my final room had a very hard bed!. A further stay is not on the cards due to an unfortunate refusal to waive the room fee due to an unforseen snow cancellation, other than that a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Called in for lunch on New Year's Day returning home from a visit to the Cotswolds. A nice feeling to the pub and a good menu choice given it was New Year's Day. Good choice of beer also if you are a real ale drinker! Service friendly and food freshly prepared. A nice pub to visit at the start of a new year and well worth an evening visit for a more special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My brother and I decided to visit our mother and stay overnight instead of going there and back in a day.
We both like value for money and were not disappointed by the Throckmorton Arms.
I still can't believed the price we paid which included a buffet continental breakfast (We both prefer continental to full English).
The room was quite small which was not a problem as we checked in and then went out until quite late and then straight to sleep in our twin beds for one night.
You are given your own key for the separate door to the accommodation and you can come and go as you please.
The staff were very welcoming and when approached with any requests, replied cheerily and with a smile.
Our room was on the first floor and I am unaware if there is ground floor accommodation for those unable to climb a flight of stairs.
The property is situated on a main road which can be busy and in the summer with windows open , there will be road noise.
I would not hesitate to book this property again for myself.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may suffer from road noise. The property is a pub and there will obviously be cus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g0dus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
1.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Throckmorton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Throckmorton

Property: The Throckmorton
Address: Coughton Hill, Alcester B49 5HX, England (Formerly Throckmorton Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Throckmorton 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Throckmorton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throckmorton Arms Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing