We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coughton Lodge Guest House
Ranked #5 of 8 Alcester B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“very good Guest House”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

this Guest house is very good, it has 10 bedrooms with 9 double beds and 1 bedroom with four single beds. it has 2 living rooms but they aren't big enough to accommodate up to 22 people. the dining rooms is where we spent the most time together as it was large enough to accommodate us. the kitchen was good it had 2 kettles, 2 microwaves, 2 fridge freezers, 1 large sink, oven, cooker, 2 dishwashers and plenty of dishes and cutlery. only thing i will point out is the potato peeler wasn't the best. there was an outside games room that had a pool table and a foosball table only problem was the room wasn't big enough to play both at the same time. the pool area was great it had a fridge to keep your drinks cool and it tables and deck chairs. they had a small docking system but it didn't work very well but it wasn't an issue. the pool was heated and very nice. if you go in the summer be aware of the wasps as they will fly into your drink. one member got stung in their mouth but it is no fault of the lodge. the owner do provided you with 2 vacuum cleaners, washing machine and dryer. there is also a storage room with 2 freezers and 1 fridge.

Overall very nice Lodge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Sohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a weekend in the sun at Coughton lodge celebrating my 40th birthday. Fantastic venue. Very rare find with 10 bedrooms all ensuite. Great courtyard with water garden for relaxing. And the outdoor heated swimming pool shared with the owners is amazing... The children loved it... And the adults! Caroline and graham (the owners) are lovely... Very friendly. We didn't have any complaints at all. Also used complete caterers from brooms grove on Saturday evening for a formal black tie dinner which was superb.
Would highly recommend this venue.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place with a large group of family and friends. It was amazing! Beautiful old house around the suntrap courtyard with 10 en suite rooms, big kitchen, dining & living rooms. Swimming pool, barbecue areas, tennis courts. Wow and a Tudor historic house over the road. Brilliant place for a get together run by some really nice people. Would love to go back and highly recommend this place as would everyone of our party. Nice pubs nearby along with all of the Cotswolds in easy reach. Brilliant!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My friends and I threw a Hen party at Coughton Lodge for 15 people in October 2012.

Location: Depends what you’re looking for – for us it was perfect. Rural, quiet, private but with a pub close by and taxiing distance to Stratford (as we were only doing 1 trip). If you intend to spend a lot of time in Stratford, then this place probably isn’t for you (about half an hours drive – between £20 and £35 in a taxi dependent upon time of journey - Defo worth a research in to better taxi firms, we used A1 and they were really inconsistent with prices which made it hard to plan.)

Its also only about 20 mins from a fab spa called Barcelo Billesley Manor Hotel – well worth a visit if youre after some r & r.

UK wise, it was a great ‘in the middle’ spot as our group was traveling from Scotland, Leeds, London, Luton, Winchester etc).

Rooms / Facilities etc: To find accommodation like this for such a large group is a rarity - all en-suite bedrooms, 2 living rooms, ample parking, massive dining room, great Kitchen. All bedrooms had a tv / dvd combo and free view. Both living rooms had tv and dvd. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer. Access to a pool in the summer months . . what more could one ask for?

I catered for all 15 of us for the weekend including a three course dinner, full fry up and lunches and I did not struggle for pans, plates, oven dishes, serving spoons, toast racks etc. The only issue we had was the flipping tin openers didn’t work (but I ran yup to the pub and they lent me there’s).

The only thing I would say is that it was a little scruffy in places. It would have bene lovely if it could have been touched up, but, totally understand with group accommodation its heard to keep on top of.

Food & Drinks: Kitchen facilities perfect, also ate in the Throckmorton arms (2 min walk) and the food was fab and very reasonably priced. We also ate in the Encore in Stratford, again, beautiful food and very reasonable.

Staff: Didn’t see the owners, but we bumped in to the cleaning guys as we arrived, and they were super friendly.

General: This would be a great place for any type of family or friends get together.

All in all a little gem of a find :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Coughton Lodge is now let out as a whole property with 9 double rooms and one room with 4 single beds. Nineteen of us enjoyed a family get together and had a great time. All the bedrooms are en-suite and have their own TV/DVD player. The lay out is such that you are able to disappear for peace and quiet if you wish. There are 2 lounges, and a lovely,beamed, dining room where we could all eat together.
The heated swimming pool is by the owner's house next door and is in a lovely walled area with hanging baskets and plenty of seating. Visitors can only use the pool until 5pm unless they pay extra for evening use. The grass tennis court, in the owner's garden, can be used at any time. We hardly saw the owners but they arrived immediately when we phoned to say the electricity in the kitchen had tripped. It was remedied in minutes!

The only disadvantage to the house is the extremely busy road that runs past. It took us a good 5 minutes to cross the road to visit Coughton Court. The drive to the house is literally over the road from the Lodge. Coughton Court is a National Trust property that was linked to the Gunpowder plot and is well worth a visit. Stratford upon Avon is only a 20 minute drive.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow-Wight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here. Beautiful setting, could see horses outside our window! Wow what a room I was impressed with the beams and high ceiling. Bathroom was very big. Breakfast was prepared to order which is great as I don't like hotels that use hot plates to keep food warm. Very quiet even though near a main road. We stayed as we had to attend a funeral, hosts kept to themselves not really into talking think they thought we were very young but we are a lot older than we look! They thawed once we attempted a few times to make conversation. Hopefully they realised we were mature minded youngsters. I really enjoyed my stay irrelevant of the circumstances why we were there.

Room Tip: The room closest to the horse paddock was lovely for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Hotel very clean and welcoming. Room on small side but very comfortable with good bathroom and facilities. Staff very welcoming. Excellant English breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
0.8 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrow Mill
Arrow Mill
#3 of 8 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coughton Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coughton Lodge Guest House

Property: Coughton Lodge Guest House
Address: Coughton, Alcester B49 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alcester
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Coughton Lodge Guest House Hotel Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing