We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best !”
Review of Kings Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best !”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked a room for one night, to see Jools Holland at Ragley Hall. On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant receptionist, who told us our room wasn't ready, so we had lunch in the bar - a pretty mediocre experience. We had been allocated the Montague Room, which was upstairs through the bar. We opened the door to be hit by a musty, dank smell. The room was tired, tatty and smelly. Beautiful old beams but that was only positive thing of note l. Back in reception we were given room 52 which was marginally better. An old tatty kilim rug in front of a chair that was threadbare. A slip mat on the edge of the bath - looked dirty, scummy and just awful. The bed and bed linen were clean and fresh but everything else in the room looked tired and jaded. The tv remote only worked 2 inches away from the television screen. The crockery for tea looked like something from a 1970's sitcom, and was dirty and certainly not fit for purpose. The breakfast next morning was not too bad but we would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Kings Room, when you book - these are in the new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    239
    88
    31
    28
See reviews for
70
324
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was very clean, the room was modern, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was very good. We especially liked the Twisted Boot pub which served good quality food at a very reasonable price. It was nice to be able to sit outside on the benches in good weather. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and I would like to go back there again as I enjoyed my short stay there so much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the King's Court which is the modern side of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed with friends at this hotel following the good reviews we had read.
On arrival- rude receptionist with attitude- needs to look for another job we think
Rooms- ok although stayed in better
Food- Served cold, not we we ordered, poor service and was kept waiting
Overall- would not bother coming back here and definately not recommending this "hotel" as wouldnt want my friends to waste their money.
Poor value

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip12146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Could not fault the Kings Court Hotel . I did stay in the new part so cannot comment on the original buildings. Room was lovely and spacious and modern. Breakfast was superb. How people can fault it i do not know. Nice friendly staff. I booked using a groupon voucher. Excellent value for money. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scross78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 781 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This charming hotel is built around a Tudor farmhouse on the main A35 Birmingham Road at Alcester. There are 60 rooms, incuding those in the newly built wing that sits at right angles to the older accommodation. I was given room 83 in that new block and was delighted to find windows that could actually be opened, a wall-mounted wide screen TV wth Freeview channels, direct dial phone, free Wi-Fi, a huge king-sized bed, tea and coffee making facilities and a very luxurious en suite bathroom with a full-sized tub and shower.

I was there for an overnight, two day stay - the buffet-style breakfast is fantastic, everything you could ask for with as much tea or coffee as you require. It's a similar scenario for lunch - a choice of three main courses including a vegetarian option. I chose the chicken stroganoff which was juicy and full of taste and finished off with a delicious home-made dessert.

After our business had been concluded, we reconvened in the main bar area where there was a choice of several draught beers and lots of little nooks and crannies to sit in at the rustic wooden tables. I decided to eat here and for the second time in two months, I was disappointed with the evening meal. The food itself was fine - I chose gammon steak with all the trimmings, plus home-made chips, fried egg and salad. However, the plate it was served on was stone cold, as it had been when I stayed here a couple of months ago, hence the food got cold very quickly. In fact, the gammon was cold by the time it reached my table, but it was cooked beautifully and being very hungry, I decided not to send it back.

The staff are friendly and polite, the hotel is airy and has a relaxed atmosphere, plus they offer laundry facilities, daily newspapers and room service. Functions and conferences are catered for. The evening meal was the only negative aspect of my stay so let's hope they read this and tell the chef to warm the plates up next time!

Room Tip: A first floor room gives a good view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We have today returned from a two night stay at the Kings Court which was booked using a Groupon Voucher. It was our wedding anniversary/my 40th birthday and obviously wanted it to be special and was not disappointed in any way. We were given one of the Kings Room in the newer part of the hotel and these were very modern with all the facilities you need, king size bed, plasma TV, freeview, free wi-fi, tea, coffee, biscuits, hairdryer, toiletries, local information. The room was cleaned throughly on the second day and all towels used, biscuits eaten(!) were replaced. We spoke to another couple who were staying in the older part of the hotel, and they said their room was lovely too. We ate both nights in the hotel, the first night in the restaurant and the second in the bar but on both occasions ordered from the twisted boot menu, the food arrived quickly, large portions and was absolutely delicious - my husband is very fussy but ate every bit and kept saying "this is lovely" and for the price it was real value for money. Breakfast was plentiful and hot with all the things you would want from a cooked breakfast. The staff were very friendly and the receptionist even wished me a happy birthday which I thought was a lovely touch.

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel except it should be 4* and not 3*. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: I would request one of the Kings Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We arrived at the hotel with some trepidation because we had booked our two night stay using a Groupon voucher, which we thought would mean we ended up in one of the older rooms at the hotel. However, our fears were unfounded: after a quick and friendly check-in we were given room 78 in the King's Rooms - the new section of the hotel. This building is very impressive with a bright atrium entrance and nicely decorated corridors.The bedroom itself was clean, modern and very spacious. There was clear evidence that a lot of attention had gone into preparing these rooms for guests such as an indepth guide to the local area, a large plasma screen tv with built in freeview and free wifi. The decor is bright and quite boutique-y in design. The bathroom was also lovely - with a modern square sink and a large bath, with toiletries provided. The hairdryer provided on the wall in the bathroom was also a nice touch, although we did not use it.

There was a selction of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, which were replaced for the second day, as well as towels.

The breakfast, included in our deal, was lovely and we were greeted both mornings by a friendly and attentive waitress as soon as we sat down. The cooked breakfast was of a high standard with plenty of choice and frequent fresh eggs etc being brough out form the kitchen. There was also a good selection of other food - cereals, juices, yoghurts, toast etc.

We ended up eating at the 'Twisted Boot' bar both nights of our stay because it was so convenient. Service was a little slow but the main courses were nice once they eventually arrived! The choice and quality of the desserts was not as high, however.

Overall it is quite difficult to see why this hotel is only 3 star, perhaps once all of the older rooms have been decorated to the same high standard, this will be the case.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new King's Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RadcliffeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
1.0 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
4.2 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbots Salford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
9.2 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Court Hotel

Property: Kings Court Hotel
Address: Kings Coughton, Alcester B49 5QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Court Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing