We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Roebuck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roebuck Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Alcester B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went to the Roebuck a while ago for a drink and loved the refurbishment.
We took friends for lunch on a Saturday afternoon and had a wonderful experience.
The service and food were excellent, we all agreed and cleared our plates.
The salads are fantastic at such a reasonable price. Will be going back and telling others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Chady2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Roebuck Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Amazing weekend at the roebuck inn , excellent staff service from manager and all staff , homely atmosphere, excellent food /dining , rooms lovely , could not have made us more welcome . Would of stayed longer but unfortunately work beckons !! 7th May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Since being taken over a few months ago the Roebuck Inn, Alcester, has been totally transformed. The food & service is second to none. As for the menu, there is something for everyone & the food is presented beautifully whether it be a lunchtime snack or three course meal. The atmosphere warm & friendly. The decor, in my opinion, is superb. My husband & I love it so much we now go once or twice a week & for every family get together. As the Roebuck has become so popular I would recommend you book if you are using the restaurant in the evening or weekend

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I came across this pub by accident when I took a wrong turning coming back from Stratford. It was to mine and my Mom's good fortune that we did. It is a lovely place. The staff are really nice and let us pick our table with no pressure. The food is lovely. We only have a starter and a drink but the portions are more than enough for us, the quality is superb.

We go out every Sunday and have been to many pub's for lunch, I have to say this one top's the lot.

We shall continue to visit The Roebuck each time we travel to Stratford from our home town of Birmingham.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris-Lowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Roebuck Inn has been fairly recently refurbished and the look of the pub has certainly improved - it is now a modern and up to date looking building.

Whilst the staff are friendly unfortunately the business is let down on a number of points - the pub itself, whilst modern isn't very well laid out. The bar and restaurant area are spread out along effectively a long corridor stretching from the bar at one end to the conservatory at the other. If you are in the middle part of the restaurant then other diners and staff will be constantly walking past your table. The bar area itself is quite small and not very comfortable. It looks a bit bland and feels hemmed in, and in some ways feels more like a cafe.

I have visited several times, both for drinks and for a meal. There is a good selection of drinks and some local ales which is a nice touch. However when several soft drinks are ordered at the same time, including asking for ice and lemon and some turn up without ice, some without lemon, and some with neither it doesn't look like care and attention is being paid to orders. The food I have had is OK but quite bland, and not great value. Portion sizes tend to be quite small. Unfortunately when dining as part of a large group the dishes came out at intervals rather than together or shortly after one another.

The general consensus from speaking to others who have been to the pub is that it's much better than it was prior to refurbishment but isn't as good as other pubs in the town. If they can make the bar area more homely and cosy, the food better, and improve the service then it has potential to be a good pub.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

After reading some of your reviews it is clear that there are a lot of company's in the area that are obviously being very unsportsmanlike it is vindictive and petty. All the staff at the Roebuck are lovely and every time I have been (which living in the area is alot) there they have been friendly polite and remember who you are. I suggest that other companies stop writing reviews to undermine the competition!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank McArthy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Thank you, Thank you to all at the Roebuck...'Alcesters finest' is clearly back on the map. Steeped in local history it's fantastic to see the shadow that more recently consumed its bricks and mortar has been majestically blown away.

Warm, friendly, modern and a real touch of class. Welcome back and see you very soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AlcesterBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcester
0.6 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Alcester
1.6 mi away
The Throckmorton
The Throckmorton
#2 of 3 in Alcester
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,135 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Broom Hall Inn
Broom Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Broom
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roebuck Inn

Address: Birmingham Road, Alcester B49 5QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Alcester
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alcester
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Roebuck Hotel Alcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing