We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time Lucky”
Review of The Throckmorton

The Throckmorton
Reserve with OpenTable
The Throckmorton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We serve our fresh, locally sourced, homemade breakfast, lunches and dinner every day from 9am to 9pm Our menus offer exceptional value for money featuring several fixed price offers such as 'Fish Fridays' - 2 coucrses and a glass of wine at £15 or all our Pub Classics at under £10. We also serve restaurant quality specials and a fab Sunday Roast.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Third Time Lucky”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived at 14:45 on a Sunday afternoon, having failed to find a free table for lunch at two other pubs that sunny day.
The staff had no problem in allocating us a table but asked us to order before 15:00, when their kitchen would close. We selected the Goats Cheese and Salad with Balsamic Dressing (SP) for starters. On enquiry we were told “SP” stood for “small plate”. For main course we both took the Roast Pork Sunday Dinner. To drink: we had lemonade & lime and a tap water.
The drinks came quickly. My water was with lemon & ice, most refreshing on the first warm day of this year. The cheese dishes came on a normal sized plate with a round, toasted slice of goat’s cheese with a small pile of green leaf salad next to it. The rest of the plate was filled with dressing which the chef had applied in a zigzag pattern, no doubt to fill the plate. It was tasty.
My main course was two small, thinly sliced pieces of pork with roast potatoes, carrots, parsnips, broccoli, cauliflower and leek mixed vegetables. Could have done with more pork and the potatoes had developed leather jackets, probably from being held for a period whilst hot.
The price for two covers: £28.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    122
    52
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“very dog friendly”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I went here for lunch with my dog walking friends. We had a dog friendly area put aside for us inside but we decided to dine outside as the weather was good. The menu is limited which is a good thing. I always worry when restaurants have 20 odd things on the menu - no one can do that many things fresh and well. I had chicken with mash and garlic gravy. Lovely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DogWalkingHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“pleasant evening”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited Throckmorton Arms using an amazon voucher . This meant it was was good value at £16 for a starter and main course for 2. Certainly wouldn't pay full price - potions small and over cooked. I had the chicken satay and tasted like it was an Iceland reheat! Side salad was just a few pieces of lettuce, no dressing.
Main meal was better - just.
Service good. Friendly staff
Coffee - poor. We ordered espresso but was awful. We make better at home using our coffee maker!

Not overly impressed. Won't be returning in a hurry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a very dissapointing meal.The menu it self was just a piece of A4 paper,lilimted choice for staters and main.The food its self was very poor and over priced.
Will not be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 166smoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefan2605, Manager at The Throckmorton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good Afternoon
The menu is printed on A4 paper because it is changed daily to make best use of seasonal ingredients and to offer a varied choice.
You always have a choice of 5 starters, 8 main courses & 5 desserts to choose from plus Steaks & specials . This offers some choice for everyone although we are more than happy to change the dishes accordingly.
I'm not sure why you do not think 2 courses for £12.95 does not represent excellent value especially since all the dishes are freshly prepared on site.
Thank you
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good reasonably priced food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I have been using the Throckmorton Arms on a fairly regular basis for several years, with various family and friends. The service has always been good with friendly attentive staff and the food has always been nicely cooked and well presented. A Christmas day lunchtime spent there was excellent with a lovely atmosphere and is something we will do again. You never feel rushed and there is a comfortable area with a lovely log fire where you can relax with a coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duketorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Throckmorton also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Throckmorton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing