We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt ripped off”
Review of Coughton Court

Coughton Court
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Alcester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coughton Court has been home to the Throckmorton family for 600 years, this finest of Tudor houses stands testament to a family's courage in maintaining their beliefs. From a position of high favour to one of fear and oppression post-Reformation, the Throckmortons were leaders in a dangerous age, helping to bring about Catholic emancipation in the 19th century. Explore this story of fascinating personalities through the 'family album' of portraits and Catholic treasures around the house. Coughton is still very much a family home with an intimate feel: the Throckmorton family live here, managing the stunning gardens which they have created.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt ripped off”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Not told when paying the £20+ for admission that wheelchair access was limited to one ground floor room. After spending ten minutes absorbing everything that room had to offer we had no option but to leave. We do realise that these old houses have to maintain their character and few if any have lifts installed. However such extremely limited access as Coughton Court has should be pointed out to the customer before they part with their hard earned cash.
Value for money = 0

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    64
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent house and gardens”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Coughton Court. The house was very interesting and had a lived-in feel about it. The connection with the Gunpowder Plot was illuminating, I didn't know there were so many characters involved. The gardens were an added bonus, in particular the various sculptures dotted around. Highly recommended..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesterGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Potentially a well organised themed 'Cheese & Chutney' event, just shame about the weather....”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well organised day out, sampling and possibly buying some Cheese & Chutney. In addition, free cooking instruction courtesy of Stratford College, Morris Men on the lawn, Brass Band courtesy of the Bretforton Silver Band, Warwick Boys School Band and the Warwick Brass Quintet. Free Wine Tasting, Real Ales and Ciders and finally what we all strive to see, Ferret Racing! What more could a man want?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCaptainBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best National Trust properties in the Midlands”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fantastic visit to Coughton Court, beautiful house and gardens. The National Trust shop was one of the better ones I have been to with lots of gifts for the home, and the restaurant served a wide range of meals (hot & cold) at a reasonable price. (I'm guessing this has fairly recently been refurbished?!).

We will definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mrsdavies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good family day out”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We gave our two grandchildren a choice on a national Trust Property to go and they chose Coughton Court. On arriving we chose a noon timed visit giving us about forty minutes for a drink.
The house tour was excellent with chairs to sit on in each room. The children aged nine and eleven found mush of interest and also there was a find the keys project which kept them looking around. The guides in each room were well informed and cheerful engaging with the visitors. The only downside as with all NT places was the high cost of food but there are picnic areas for those with their own food. In total we spent about four hours at the attraction with no sign of boredom.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coughton Court also viewed

 
Lapworth, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to Coughton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing