We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A collection of little annoyances”
Review of Seagoe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portadown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagoe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portadown
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A collection of little annoyances”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night for business- location is perfect for my purposes. My check in was quick enough, however the rushed instructions as to the location of my room left me a little confused. After a long walk to my room (including up stairs, could not find a lift - if there is one) the thing that hit me was the stale smoke smell - along the corridor and in the room. Inside the room the heat was tropical, with the bathroom at a balmy 40+ degrees. The room itself was clean enough, tv worked fine. The bed left plenty to be desired. While it was huge, it had a fairly worn bedspread, some small holes. The bottom sheet was like paper - I could feel the texture of the mattress (very old) underneath it. I had to sleep with the duvet rolled around me - half under/ half over. The food from the dinner menu was of good quality, and good sized portions. Breakfast service was like a scene from Fawlty Towers, but when it arrived it was fine. I have since eaten lunch there on a couple of occasions and have been in the main impressed with the food. Am going back to stay again soon, and will be requesting a different room with a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    65
    48
    33
    26
See reviews for
42
43
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I only used the restaurant part of the hotel for Sunday lunch.

I'm not generally a fan of buffet/serve yourself lunches but I enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome. The dining area was held in a very large function room accommodating around 100+ tables, not my cup of tea but not the end of the world.

The food was very good, not perfection (as this is buffet style) but not disappointing at all.

My only real gripe is that drinks are quite expensive for what they are and you don't get a drink included with your meal, unless its water.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle6432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel seemed grand and impressive and on arriving was clean and tidy and looked as though it could look after me well. but having spent my first day and night here I have discovered the service is really really poor in fact after my first night I am considering moving to another hotel. The staff are unhelpfull and rude and they make you feel like they dont want you here. I like to be nice to people in the hope they will be nice back but the staff here are confrontational and aggresive. Avoid this place at all costs.

If you are looking for a good holiday or place to rest I would avoid the Seagoe they will make you feel miserable and unwanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portadown hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
551 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

this hotel is a little gem, great big rooms with all mod cons including free wifi.
the food here is amazing, try the onion rings they are huge and very oniony.
the full fry breakfast is great , top quality food and plenty of it .the last time i was here it was buffet and i don't like that , this time is was full service !

the thing that really stands out for me is the way the staff treat you, they are so friendly and helpful.
nothing was too much trouble for them, and they all seemed to genuinely care that you enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day business trip and stayed at this hotel. I thought the hotel was clean, smelt lovley, spacious bedrrom with tea, coffee , biscuits. Room service is avaiable and prompt. The food served in the bar was fine and well cooked, the breakfast was a mammoth feast.The s staff were pleasant and efficient at all times. One comment I would agree with is that of the lighting. Whilst subdued lighting does add to the ambiance it is also a bit too dim in your room to read .
However i would recommend and stay again if I was in the area. It is a predominatly business hotel with conference rooms and I imagine short stay guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyred15595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston. MA
Level Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited ALMAC for a business meeting and they suggested to stay at The Seagoe Hotel. Checking in and out was a breeze. staff was very friendly. The hotel has a strange layout, and needs updating. The room was specious but the bed was too hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was uninspiring and the single server straggled to keep up with the 5 tables.

The price was a bit high for this quality hotel (£70). The proximaty to almac was a plus

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EarlDGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for two nights -- bit of an oddly laid-out hotel -- you have to walk for a LONG while to get to your room. Could definitely use to be renovated - dated and worn. Be warned of two things: first - the lighting in the room is atrocious!! The bulbs are SO DIM that you cannot even read a book. Like some hotels in China I've stayed in. Second, the wifi connectivity is spotty at best.

Restaurant serves the most mediocre food - it's decent and you won't die, but it's not good. I ordered a dish with baked portobello mushrooms and gnocchi. The mushrooms were swimming in tasteless gobs of cheese and the gnocchi were deep fat fried!!!! The wait staff are friendly though and they do their jobs very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portadown
6.4 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.2 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
6.7 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
5.4 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bannview Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagoe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagoe Hotel

Property: Seagoe Hotel
Address: 22 Upper Church Lane, Portadown BT63 5JE, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Portadown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portadown
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Seagoe Hotel Portadown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing