We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly appointed flat in a prime location.”
other travelers have booked this property
'Hamilton Square'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Hamilton Square'
'Town Hall' Hamilton Square Open plan living room with views across the beautiful square
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
'Hamilton Square'
'Town Hall' Hamilton Square
Open plan living room with views across the beautiful square
Open plan kitchen, living, dining room
The view of the park from the apartment
Master bedroom, king size bed, block out blinds
2nd bedroom, comprosing of double bed and single bunk bed, block out blinds
bathroom
The Queen Victoria monument in the Square
The war memorial monument in the square
The sun setting on the 'Town Hall'
'The Square' at night time
Albert Dock - Liverpool
'St Georges Hall' Liverpool
'Eastgate Clock' Chester
'The Rows' Chester
'Liverpool Wheel'
Aerial panoramic of the square
Wirral transport museum
Ladylever Art Gallery Port Sunlight
Liverpool Albert Dock
The Beatles Story
Liverpool River Mersey
Birkenhead Park
New Brighton beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Birkenhead, Wirral, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Marie M
1 review
“Perfectly appointed flat in a prime location.”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a beautiful, clean and very modern flat overlooking Hamilton Square in Birkenhead.It is in a perfect location, it's a very short walk to the train station and ferry terminal, ideal if you want to "ferry 'cross the Mersey". It is up 2 flights of stairs and there is no lift, so not ideal for disabled or those with mobility issues. But otherwise a very good holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over Hamilton Square
Liked least: The couch was not very comfortable
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful flat, clean and bright with wonderful views over the square. Good facilities and the owner very responsive and welcoming. Off-street parking a bonus. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarentS20...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family City Break”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nice spacious apartment with great views over Hamilton Square. Lovely and comfortable with everything included for your stay.

Ideally located, only a short walk from James Street station which is only one stop from Liverpool city centre. Parking a real bonus. We were looked after well by the property owners. Great for a city break.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Flat, let down by faulty technology”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Of the many pluses, the apartment is comfortable, spacious and very secure. The area is 'up and coming' as the Liverpool tourism boom spreads across the Mersey. The flat is in a great location just a few minutes walk from Hamilton Square train station from where you can be in Liverpool City Centre in just 3 mins. There is also plentiful free parking at the rear of the building. We really enjoyed our 8 night stay and found the price of the let very competitive for what were the peak weeks of the holiday season.
Disappointments for us were the lack of Internet, terrible tv reception and a DVD player that didn't work. Minor quibbles for some people, but the flat is advertised as having wi-fi and we're big internet users. It's a little misleading, as whilst it's set up for it, it requires the tenant to purchase a SIM card and pop it into the modem. We did so and it still didn't acknowledge our tablets and phones, necessitating the purchase of numerous SIMs. On arrival, the property manager advised that there were no BBC channels on the tv as a previous tenant had fiddled with it and as a result they were not working. TV reception was uniformly awful during our stay with programmes rendered unwatchable by interference and static. When we eventually gave up on the tv we found that the DVD player would not accept any of the discs left for tenants to watch as they were all apparently 'damaged' and so wouldn't play.
I know no one goes on holiday to watch tv, but it would have been nice to watch the BBC news, or in fact, any news, whilst we were there!
My advice to the owners would be to either have a basic wi-fi package that tenants can use, or not offer it at all, to similarly invest in a basic cable tv package that might mitigate the issues around reception, and to source a working DVD player or to at least junk the one that's there. The property is lovely, but it's let down badly by a lack of attention to these details.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenJane...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvellous centre for exploring the area on public transport. No car needed!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a beautiful flat in a Georgian building only a short walk from Hamilton Square railway.
We were a party that included 2 50+ and an 80+ year old but the stairs up to the 2nd floor flat were no problem.
Everything was there that you needed for a successful stay- from tea and coffee and milk on arrival to a clean and airy aspect. Noise was also not an issue (except the herring gulls but that’s not the flat’s fault!) 2 bedrooms- one with bunks, but we enjoyed these as a throw back to childhood
We managed trips to Liverpool, Chester, Port Sunlight and West Kirby, all using the nearby trains and buses so no need to fret over parking.
There was an efficient oven and microwave so we were self sufficient and ate in most nights as were exhausted from our top day trips out- ASDA is walk able for supplies (though closes early on a Sunday)
Don’t forget to visit Birkenhead Priory: a lovely oasis in this industrial setting.
The owner communicated with us clearly throughout
Downsides: we had issues with our check-in time (later than expected)
TV reception for BBC1 and BCC2 was non existent
the smoke alarm in the communal area beeped incessantly (though you couldn’t hear this from the bedrooms).
Could perhaps have done with an ice cube tray
The tourist leaflet needs updating/ checking for age but that’s nit-picking- we left some new ones!
All in all, a great centre for visiting the area and a good place to stay if you want to self-cater

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: lack of BBC1
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G
1 review
“Fab apartment”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great apartment in good spot with everything you might need for a good break.
Great comms with Caroline and looked after really well on arrival by Angela.
Will definitely stay again when up that way :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Dear Guest, firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great feed back - very much appreciated!. We look forward to welcoming you to stay again.
Warm regards,
Caroline & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned home from our trip to Birkenhead/Liverpool. We could not have asked for more from this accommodation. Great communication from Caroline before we arrived and Angela was very welcoming when we got there. The apartment is situated on a beautiful old square in Birkenhead. It is very well equipped and an ideal location for exploring the local area with train station and ferry terminal close by. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Your feed back is very important to us and greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear the apartment met your needs and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards,
Caroline & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing