We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to save on the washing up”

Yiamas Greek Taverna
Ranked #2 of 288 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Yiamas Greek Taverna welcomes you to the home of truly authentic Greek cuisine in the heart of Birkenhead in True Taverna style.Our Taste of the med on the Wirral.Warm and friendly setting with exceptional service always. Fun Greek Nights with greek belly dancing.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

But what a surprise, fantastic food on a very moderately priced midweek menu - £10.95 for two courses. Dolmades to start and Afelia for main, both excellent and great service. Definitely be back again.

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank Hughie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 847 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Last minute decision last night, was a lovely meal really enjoyed it, staff very helpful and lovely restaurant, very authentically decorated. Loved it!
Free shot each after our meal aswel!
Definitely will return!

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank leanne230508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

What an amazing place! Booked for 20 of us for my mums 50th and we had an amazing night! The staff, the food, the quick service was amazing, absolutely can't fault it! Actually felt as if we were all on holiday! Such a relaxed and friendly atmosphere! Took 3 under 5's as well and the staff was really accommodating! My mum and all the family had the best night and can't wait to go back!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bayleyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

What a classy place. Great atmosphere, great service and the chargrilled food was delicious. The Meze platter is highly recommended. So much food. This place is a real hidden gem. We booked again for my birthday next week. Can’t wait! Thanks to Andy and Nick for looking after us.

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank jondicko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

I used to wonder if it was just me that every time you walk in to this restaurant the owner and staff are always frosty faced and make you feel totally unwelcome.

Then the other day with a party of 10 at least 2 other people commented that the waiting staff were abrupt and rude when placing special requests. It never used to be like this. Been going for over 10 years and previous owners would come over and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The other issue is the chicken. User to be cooked to perfection and tender. Now always charcoaled black and dry.

We’ve decided to give this place a wide berth for the foreseeable. Hopefully this review will be taken in the spirit intended, to prompt a rethink and improvement as it isn’t intended to be malicious. We’d genuinely like the Yiamas to be the place it used to be.

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yiamas Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to Yiamas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing