We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a class restaurant”

The Refreshment Rooms
Ranked #3 of 270 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a fantastic victorian pub, fully refurbished with an eye to the past.Positioned on the banks of the River Mersey with views over to Liverpool,we serve great home made food seven days a week 12pm til 9pm and carry up to six real ales from local micro breweries. We are family friendly, have a lovely beer garden, we have early week promos inc over 60s all day Mon, Tue and Wed.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

absolutely amazing ribs and lamb literally just fell off the bones , such high quality locally sourced food here and you can tell . went for a bistro valentines night and the standard of food and service where a different class to anything else round here . the clean and new interior of this old 1800 + something place is quite authentically vintage retro cool , like something from london but without the prices . never even knew where rock park was but ill be revisiting again as soon as possible . postcode in a sat nav took us straight to the door on the river front real easy . if you like quality then you must visit you wont regret thats guaranteed .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tharobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for a great review, hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,000 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Got a bit lost looking for The Refreshment rooms but crisp,sunny day so braved the river front walk to partake of lunch. Both the Scouse and the smoked creamy salmon penne were delicious. Clearly individually prepared for what you'd pay for standard pub grub elsewhere. And huge portion too. Good pint of ale to complement mine. Attentive, friendly staff. When we were asked by the waitress clearing the dishes,'was it OK?' I said, ' no, OK doesnt cover it, superb' Shame the building blocking the river view hasn't been demolished yet but hopefully not long. No hesitation in recommending thisfor tasty, good value lunch. Will write again when we've been in the evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BigalecLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Manager at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We're ever hopeful of the investment that has been promised for the area ~ when that does happen it will obviously be a shot in the arm for us and our neighbours, many thanks for the positive review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I used to go to this pub many years ago when it was called the Admaril

It unforunatly went down hill over the years and eventually closed

I went today with my husband (1st time since it became the Refreshment rooms)

Wow what a transformation it is a beautiful pub
The staff were very friendly they brought our drinks over to the table
I had the Chilli & rice hubby had the Full English. Both were delishious

I would have no problem returning to this pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy2008_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, hope to see you again, soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Took my Mum for lunch here this afternoon having found it on Tripadvisor and it was excellent. You would never know it was there, and while the surroundings may be somewhat shabby, the views accross the Mersey and the building itself are beautiful. Excellent service and top quality food for a reasonable price. Please seek this place out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B2Sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thanks to you and everybody who has reviewed us we are now no.2 of 1109 restaurants in Merseyside..... We must keep our eye on the ball

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having travelled the twenty minute journey from West Kirby to The Reshrement rooms I was warmly greeted by the welcoming staff. I was firstly blown away with the decor. It's full of character and oozes charm. Open fire places , antique chandeliers, quirky pictures. The wine choice was fantastic and the food was delicious and all locally sourced. Thank you for a fantastic Evening!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tahneemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thanks for the review, it's nice to know that people notice the detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refreshment Rooms also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
 
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to The Refreshment Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing