We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish you were closer”

The Refreshment Rooms
Ranked #3 of 265 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a fantastic victorian pub, fully refurbished with an eye to the past.Positioned on the banks of the River Mersey with views over to Liverpool,we serve great home made food seven days a week 12pm til 9pm and carry up to six real ales from local micro breweries. We are family friendly, have a lovely beer garden, we have early week promos inc over 60s all day Mon, Tue and Wed.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

came down from scotland to visit our daughter and not knowing the area had to take the advice of trip advisor.So glad we did. From the moment we arrived the service was friendly and welcming even though it was a quiet cold january evening.
The food and presentation was superb. Steak cooked to perfection with homemade chips, roast chicken- never seen such a plateful and a lovely curry, how my fellow diners managed pudding is beyond me but they did and this also was received with much enthusiasm.
We are back in the area in a couple of weeks and are looking forward to returning as these guys are a credit to the industry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, General Manager at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

wish you were closer too! Thanks for reviewing us, we hope to see you on your next visit, maybe you could take in one of our Saturday pop up bistro nights?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for The Refreshment Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 923 of 949 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

fantastic find on the shore of the mersey just off new chester road by rock park esplanade rock ferry. atmosheric old pub with fantastic chandellers nice family atmoshere and lovely menu....the food is excellent sunday dinners are wonderful but good wide range and just started pop up bistro every saturday night 3 courses for under 20 quid...well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fitnessfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks a lot, really glad you're enjoying what we're doing, do try the bistro nights, you won't be disappointed but they are getting popular so try and book as early as poss, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was very brave to try to revive a rough old pub in an out of the way and frankly uninviting area. However it has worked fantastically well. Nothing fancy, just a limited menu of simple pub food done exceptionally well with fresh local ingredients, great local beers, cosy surroundings, welcoming and helpful staff. These seem simple things, but so many fail to provide them.The Refreshment Rooms has them in spades. The resulting atmosphere will bring people back again and again. Our party of four was in on Saturday evening, there was that mix of customers that makes for a good pub. Somebody once told me (about fixing a puncture on a motorbike) that perfection is made up of trifles, but when you get perfection it is no trifle. It fully deserves its No1 position in Wirral restaurants. Like Arnie, we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BigFatGreekHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

What a heart warming review, thank you so much, myself and the staff really appreciate you taking time out to write a review, it really spares us on

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I must admit I was really suprised to find such delicious food and a lovely relaxed atmosphere at the Refreshment Rooms. We've been back quite a few times since and taken friends to enjoy sharing the entire tapas selection which is excellent. I'd highly rec' the ribs and chicken goujons they're pretty hard to beat. Looking forward to trying the pop up bistro nights too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LayDeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, I think you would enjoy the pop up bistro on Sat evenings, we pay particular attention to local produce and have a great live jazz vibe ~ all candles and atmosphere and everything!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have been a few times, even taken the kids! We have always had a pleasant and enjoyable experience, nice relaxed atmosphere, lovely freshly prepared food.
A couple of roadsigns would be beneficial for out-of-towners as can be tricky to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan t, Owner at The Refreshment Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for the review, kids always welcome, we try to offer healthier home made kids fayre and have plans for a play area by summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refreshment Rooms also viewed

New Brighton, Wirral
 
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to The Refreshment Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing