We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Shrewsbury Arms

Shrewsbury Arms
Ranked #7 of 292 Restaurants in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

The food was good, just typical pub food. The staff were friendly. Its nice inside and there is a s outdoor seating area too.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank tigsm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
650stephk, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Being part of a big chain, means our menu cannot be changed, but we always make sure it is delivered to the highest standard and hope this means we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

We visited here last week, having been here many times before over forty odd years. Its the first time I had been back since the refurb and it looks good.Hubby went for the Hunters Chicken sandwich, which he said was absolutely delicious. I had a Jacket potato with tuna mayo. Delicious too. The staff were really friendly and attentive. There is a very good choice of food to choose from and we will be back to sample more!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carval8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
650stephk, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We are really pleased to hear you both had a great experience and hope you won't leave it too long before your call in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Was a busy Saturday afternoon when we attended. Found a table no problem.
Ordered haloumi fries which were swimming in two sauces which ruined them, (should be served on the side) the same sauce was all over the nachos and it had a terrible taste, like off milk, I think it was meant to be sour cream (which I love) but it had a very unpleasant taste. Ordered the sharing platter. Garlic bread was burnt on one side so tasted like charcoal. Chicken wings were decent and breaded chicken was ok. Staff were nice enough and asked if we wanted more drinks ect. Overall ok, and ok prices maybe if I went back would not order them items again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
650stephk, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food you ordered, but it does specify on the menu that the items are topped with salsa and sour cream and if you had told the member of team that did your table check about the garlic bread, we would have happily made you another portion.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Came here on a whim to have some lunch with my family. The food was fine, arrived at our table quickly and was perfectly nice but the staff were so lovely!

The pub was very busy but there was a nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank P_Ella_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
650stephk, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We're glad to hear you and your family had a lovely afternoon and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Love the pub. Good food good beer good all down homely warm feeling.we also go to the Wednesday quiz night good fun!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank A130QPjeffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
650stephk, Manager at Shrewsbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We're all about a great all round experience and I'm glad to hear it's being delivered. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrewsbury Arms also viewed

 
Birkenhead, Wirral
 

Been to Shrewsbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing