We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Tram Museum”

Wirral Transport Museum
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Tram Museum”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Love this place.. Kids want to come back and if i won the lottery, would give a donation.. The old buses took our imagination and the tram ride was in the true vintage spirit of times gone by.. The old cars, the model railway and nostalgia nostalgia..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family history brought to life”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

IA fine collection of old buses and trams that my parents used regularly. Birkenhead still has many of its tram lines, they should be re-vitalised and used again. Still their historic value is tremendous.

Helpful?
3 Thank WirralSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting place”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

i liked the museum a lot as there are trams and buses all around. i particularly liked the one that used to run past my house when i was growing up. There were some people there actually renovating a tram and it was evident that they really enjoyed their job. i am not sure whether things have changed in the past few years b ut it does need more of a guide to the museum. I enjoyed the ride on the tram back to Woodside as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank RutterkinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“worth an hour”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

if you get the ferry from the Pier head get off at Birkenhead and jump on the tram for a short run to the museum(only runs at weekends and school holiday as is the museum)it contains a few old trams and buses plus a great model railway,worth a little visit,after you return take a ten minute walk to the Birkenhead priory for a little visit with great views of the river from the steeple,and the good thing is there FREE,£1,20 fare for the tram, £6.70 for the ferry

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank redzorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
213 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“memories go beserk”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

i have visited this museum as part of the tram ride i did, you alight from the tram spend your
time in the museum (free entrance) and when done board the tram back to the ferry.
these old methods of transport have a smell about them and that brought back the memories, i said to a young couple who had never seen them, i used to travel on these things. they must have thought i was ancient. inside the museum also there was a model
railway exhibition that was fabulous well set up and run.
would advise checking opening times they seem a bit erratic. and to the owners i would say
to hell with birkenhead council go it alone, advertise it everywhere but please dont lose it

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank stanlpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirral Transport Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wirral Transport Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing