We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Delight!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Bebington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

After we had our wedding reception at the hotel a year ago we decided to go back to celebrate our first anniversary. The service as always was wonderful and the staff are chatty and pleasant! Nick the owner is always very welcoming too! The food was fantastic and we were not disappointed, sat in the window overlooking the front lawn with sunshine beaming in. Its such a shame the restaurant wasnt a bit busier, with quality food and service restaurants like this are dying out, especially one so local! We will most certainly be back, I believe Sunday lunch is well worth a try!
Keep up the good work allat Riverhill, especially Claire Masterchef winner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    47
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
82
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed here before and can highly recommend it. My bedroom had been recently decorated and the hotel public areas have all been tastefully re-decorated and re-carpeted in the past year, The staff are always most welcoming and helpful. The freshly cooked breakfast was first class. The restaurant is run by the Masterchef winner, Claire Lara. Superb menu. All beautifully presented and cooked. The sweet trolley is fantastic, I was spoiled for choice.
Of all the hotels I stay in this is currently my favourite. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank e11traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding breakfast here at the Riverhill Hotel on 6th April 2013, and I have got to say, the whole team helped towards making the day absolutely fantastic.
As a bride to be, I was forever stressing about everything; with regard to the meal, I had a vegetarian, a coeliiac and a lactose intollerent person in with the seventy guests I had invited to the meal. This was no bother for steve and his team; I would phone him up quite often and he made me rest assured that everything was fine, and he didnt fail to dissapoint! The meal was absolutely fabulous, and Id requested to have cheesecake, as a lot of our family and friend love it, which Steve had specially made for us.The room and the grounds were absolutely beautiful ; they provided a stunning backdrop to all of our posed wedding photos. Because the room was that beautiful, I actually based my colour scheme on it. Steve set up all my bits of bric-a-brac I had, and oversaw the venue dressers to ensure our wedding looked stunning (I have attached a few photos of the layout). We had maximum capacity for the room, but everyone was quite comfortable; they didnt feel squashed or crammed in!
We were married on Grand National Day too, and as we had placed bets as our favours, Steve actually gave us a key to an empty room so we could go up and watch the race. This absolutely made every ones day!
The proof is in the pudding; there have been a few members of my family leaving reviews on Trip Advisor as they the whole wedding party loved the food and the service.
The whole team was absolutely amazing and I would like to say a massive thank you to you all on behalf of my husband and I. You really did help to make our wedding day fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having grown up in Birkenhead, but no longer living there, I often need a place to stay when I go back to visit. I've known about the Riverhill since I was a kid but for some reason have never bothered staying there.

I have to say that the Riverhill is a very good hotel. It has a three star rating but the warmth of the welcome is definitely 5 star. Staff are helpful to an individual and bring out the best in Birkenhead.

Rooms are good. The bathrooms are a bit tired but perfectly adequate and the interiors of the rooms themselves are spacious and nicely furnished.

Breakfast was good, about the right amount and served in a very pleasant dining room.

I'll be back. I've now found a place within walking distance of Prenton Park, well connected for the motorway network and with the delights of Oxton village nearby. The icing on the cake is the excellent restaurant, which I regret not having tried this time but which comes highly recommended from friends locally.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However take a walk in the nearby Arno, a park about 5 minutes walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My son and his wife had their wedding reception here. The food was excellent as was the service from all the staff. Nothing was too much bother. The staff are very attentive. The food was a basic roast dinner but was well cooked and the there was an excellent choice of sweets. The house wines were very nice and the beer prices reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen63wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked for 21 people for our Xmas party which they book here every year. WE took an early seating as if we had booked an hour later the taffif went up by £10.00 per head.. Unfortunatly only 18 of use arrived as the others has prevoiusly been and said the standard was not up to its usual. I myself had never been so i thought i would get my own opinon. To start the bar- everytime myself or collugue went to the bar the price changed. Then we were sat for our meal which we were squashed onto the side which we were unable to pull our chairs full out as we were against the wall. Our starters came out in dribs and drabs. Then our mains came which i had lamb.which was served as silver service, the lamb was cold the veg was cold but the roast potaoes was the only hot thing on our plate! However 1 of the party asked for fish which arrived when we had nearly finished our mains. Asking the waiters for anything if you could find one that was willing to help was a no go. Desserts was not much to talk about. When we asked for coffee we were told that it would cost a further £2.95 per person?? Since when do you pay extra for coffee when you are paying £29.95 ahead?? The comment card was completed bymeslf and handed in the head waiter, he asked me to advise why we were unhappy so told the above. He went to the bar and confirmed that i had been overcharged by £5.75 and gave me the money back. The manager did give us 10% off the final bill and advise what he would email me on the following Monday with an explanation of why the food was so bad. Wednesday arrived and still no email, so i called the resturant and spoke to the manager who advised was too busy to answer me and would try and do it that afternoon, It is now 8th April 2013 and still no email or any contact so that is why i am writing the review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

we chose the riverhill to have our wedding reception, all the staff were fantastic in helping us prepare for our big day we found the whole time we spent there was a pleasurable experience throughout . the food was delicious and staff were wonderful. our honeymoon suite was beautiful. the hotel has a homely and intimate feeling would recommend anyone to have there wedding reception here plus it has a lovely garden to have beautiful photos taken.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnm209958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen p, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sir
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for allowing us to being of service to you and your family on their big wedding day , the weather help us at the weekend as it was very kind to all our brides and grooms as we had catered for weddings on the Friday Saturday and Sunday of that week.
We look forward to being of service to the bride and groom on their first anniversary meal which is free of charge as we always provide that in their wedding package
Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing