We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverhill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family stayed here this weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Nothing was too much trouble, all the staff were pleasant and attentive. The evening meal on Friday was perfectly cooked, piping hot and delivered with a smile. The breakfast were varied and plentiful with toast and coffee being served all the time without having to ask. We would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant; you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yowsertowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    47
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
71
82
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I ate dinner here last night with some friends. There was an a-la-carte menu or a special offer menu at starter+main for £16.95. There was an excellent choice on both menus and an extensive(if somewhat pricey) winelist. I had melon summer fruits starter and my firends had soup and duck parcels. I had lamb rump (£2.50 supplement) and my 3 friends all had hake for main course. There was a dish of veg and quartered roast pots between 4 which was ample. We all thorougly enjoyed our meals and drinks and were too full for dessert, which was a great pity as the sweet trolley looked fantastic (£5.50 each). One friend had an espresso coffe which was accompanied by 4 pieces of fudge and 4 choc mints.
The service in the reception, bar and restaurant was faultless, polite and excellent and the restaurant and toilets very neat and clean. I have eaten here on a number of occasions over the years, the last time over 2yrs ago and can honestly say I have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'd heard that the restaurant had been taken over by a Master Chef winner and that the food was now too fussy and overly expensive. I'm pleased to report that the food was excellent four of us had different dishes for starters and main courses and everything was excellent. The food was good quality and not overly fancy. The prices were reasonable and the dessert trolley was as good as it has ever been at the Riverhill. Our experience was as good or better than previous visits so we'll definitely be going again before too long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stFloridahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit,the first was a couple of months ago and the food was ok but they were very busy and the service was appalling .we were shoved into the bar where there were no available seats,eventually squeezed into a small space and tried to catch the eye of any member of staff to no avail.I took over an hour beyond our booking time to get the starter.
This time (Thursday this week) the place was fairly quiet,just as well as they had put our booking in for the previous night!
The service was still slow & amateurish in the extreme and the food was poor,(medium rare steak was well done,duck leg confit dry)
Four of us eating 8 courses 2 good -2 average -2 poor.
Clare Lara can no doubt cook,but she needs much better back up than at present
D. Jones

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I would normally go to restaurants in Liverpool as thats near to me, but a friend that lives on the Wirral ask me to join her at The Riverhill and I will be coming again very soon, great food, great service and price reasable what more could you ask for.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've just been writing a review for another restaurant and thought I would check out the Riverhill as I am dining there for the third time tomorrow. I'll comment on my title at the end of the review and voice my opinion on the other reviewers later. On the two occasions that I have dined at Riverhill I have been extremely impressed with every aspect of the visit. The one error that the was on the first occasion was a missing accompaniment to the meal and they were very apologetic about this and offered many alternatives recognising the need to address the error. It was impressive to see the way that they dealt with. H situation. I am also very impressed by the way that the chefs (both Claire and her husband Marc) visit the dinning room and mix amongst the customers. I am very much looking forward to the heal tomorrow night but rest assured that if there is something wrong I will raise that both at the restaurant and later in any review I write.

With regard to the negative reviewers, it does make me laugh that none of their reviews deals with how the situation was dealt with by the staff. This is because they do not avail themselves of this opportunity instead they write the negative review after the event!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were a party of 4 celebrating my husband's 65th birthday on Sunday night 01/07/2012.The restaurant had been specifically chosen based on the reputation of Claire Lara whom we had followed to her crowning glory as Professional MasterChef Winner 2010.Alas what a disappointment.The menu and food was unadventurous and in now way reflective of the culinary delights we expected of a MasterChef winner.No option of an a la carte menu,no special dishes just a traditional Sunday lunch menu.It soon became clear that a two tier system of service was also in operation- one for regular diners and self service if you were a frst time diner.Granted we were shown to our table but from then on we placed our own napkins on our lap,tasted and poured the wine ourselves,twice had to ask for water and toasted bread to accompany one of our starters was rather late.After so much publicity and a grand opening attended by Michel Roux I wonder what his opinion would be now of the standards of food and service delivered.The previous day we had dined in 5* elegance in the grand in York- what a contrast.So is Claire really the chef and if so can you let us know when she is the duty chef before we consider giving it another go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Riverhill Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear guest
further to your visit to the Riverhill Hotel and Restaurant , we sorry to learn of your disappointment with your choice of Sunday lunch, we only offer a Sunday lunch menu on Sunday but we do offer a full a la carte menu Monday to Saturday, but if a guest was to make a request on a Sunday for an a la carte dish 36 hours before we would be only too happy to arrange ,We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and I only wish you had informed me of your issues earlier as i would have dealt with all your complaints as soon as possible, i have investigated all the issues you have outlined as follows, your napkins should have been placed in your nap, and your wine poured to ensure it was to your liking ,toast should come at the same time as your starter , and our waiting on team should be checking at every course that you have all you need
Our team that evening have not upheld the normal high standards we set here at the RiverHill and we sincerely apologize we did not meet your own expectations, guest satisfaction is of a paramount importance to us
We always want and welcome feedback from our guests is it positive or negative.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Riverhill Hotel in the near future, where we can have the pleasure of serving you once again.

Kind Regards
steve
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birkenhead
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhill Hotel

Property: Riverhill Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Road, Birkenhead CH43 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Birkenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birkenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula in its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian House Hotel is just 2 miles from Birkenhead, 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Experienced hoteliers Nick and Michele Burn have owned the property since 1988, earning a gallery of industry awards in the process (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award). They pride themselves on cultivating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Each room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. For those special occasions, the Hotel also offers two luxurious four-poster rooms. The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus. With professional impeccable service, guests are free to enjoy their meal amidst the beautiful splendour of the views over-looking the pretty lawns and gardens at the front of the hotel. Afterwards, why not indulge in a coffee or liqueur in the comfort of the hotel cocktail lounge? Located on the Wirral Peninsula in Merseyside, the Hotel is just a 5 minute drive from the M53, 2 miles from Birkinhead and just 4 miles from Liverpool. With excellent transport links and free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. For those flying in, Liverpool's John Lennon airport is just 13 miles away. Wirral is often referred to as 'the leisure peninsula' and with good reason. The coastline stretches for 25 miles and is perfect for a wide range of outdoor activities, from scenic coastal walks to sailing, cycling, angling and wind-surfing. Alternatively, explore the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside whilst visiting one of its many picturesque villages or towns. For the less energetic, the Hotel is close to many other attractions such as: The Heritage Centre of Port Sunlight, The Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, The Ellesmere Port Boat Museum and Birkenhead Park. For sports fans, Liverpool is home to two of the Premiership's biggest football teams, or if golf is more your thing, practice your swing on one of the fourteen local courses, including the famous Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The cosmopolitan city of Liverpool offers a wealth of visitor's attractions, from its glorious maritime history to its world-class musical heritage. The Albert Dock, the second-most popular attraction in Great Britain, is home to the Maritime Museum, Tate Gallery, the Beatles Story, Animation World and scores of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. If that's not enough, then the vibrant city of Chester is less than an hour's drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Riverhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverhill Hotel Birkenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing