We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Pre-Wedding Spot”
Review of Ulster Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ulster Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fabulous Pre-Wedding Spot”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked a cottage here as we were getting married at the Church next door and needed somewhere for the bride to spend the night before (as well as to get ready on the morning). It turned out to be an inspired decision. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming - they even left us some lovely flowers.

The bedrooms are a good size, nicely decorated in a modern style, each with their own bathroom. The beds are also a good size and extremely comfortable - We have a fantastic nights sleep. The log burning stove was very welcome in the middle of winter - and the fuel was provided.
There was plenty of space in one cottage for my parents, my sisters, my brother in law and my young niece and nephew. It couldn't have suited us any better.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and provided us with a perfect place to get ready for the wedding (and take a few photos) They are in a lovely location with beautiful views across the Antrim hills. We were visiting for a very specific reason but the cottages are only a short drive away from Portrush, Bushmills, Coleraine and all the triangle area has to offer.

We can't thank Paul and Ann enough for their hospitality.

Sarah & Sam

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Slappersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    20
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
173
38
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself and 3 friends booked a weekend break at Ulster Cottages. When we arrived Paul was very helpful showing us around the cottage and explaining the heating etc. Ann checked in with us too, to see we had all we needed and made us feel very welcome. The cottage is lovely bright and open planned downstairs. I bedroom and bathroom downstairs and 2 bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs. It is immaculately clean and has everything you would need for a self catering break. We felt really comfortable and at home here. Location wise it is perfect for exploring the Antrim Coast, close to Bushmills and Coleraine but also very rural. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLAMAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Fantastic location and facilities for our team build very close to the North Coast of Antrim , the cottages provided great accommodation, we had a really fun time : we went to the Giants Ccauseway Bushmills distillery, had fish and chips beside the sea , went for a long walks on the beach , oh yes and did some work!!

Thank - You "Ulster Cottage " team for looking after us so well .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shonagh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful place to stay near the North coast of Antrim. Not very far from Portrush, Coleraine, Ballymoney. Great for three Couples or a family and at very reasonable rates. Great place to stay for the north West 200 bike races. Or if you want to travel around the north coast road.

Room Tip: Great for the North West 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We took 20 U14 boys for a football tournament and stayed the week at the cottages. It was a wonderful experience for all. We rented all the cottages and found them all to be first class accommodation. We were treated like family. I have nothing but extremely high praise for the service, amenities, and of course Ann and Paul. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the Ulster Cottages were the bedrock for this experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aodhanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A group of 5 adults one child and one baby stayed in one of these beautiful cottages in July 2013. From the initial enquiry to the end of our stay the family who own these cottages were more than helpful. Cottages were easy to find, very spacious and comfortable and very clean. We were offered a travel cot and high chair for the baby and were given information on the surrounding area and tourist attractions. I would definitely recommend ulster cottages and am hoping to return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleighmcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquevaire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ideal location near Bushmills, Causeway , the walled city of Londonderry , Portrush ect. Accommodation Modern, clean, bright & spacious family. And for us bikers in southern France near the stroke of Norht West 200. Ann & Paul are a couple very welcoming, very disponble and listen to their resident. Accommodation advice to anyone wishing to visit Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: New apartments in perfect condition, very suitable for 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roquevaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
4.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,815 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
4.6 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
703 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulster Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulster Cottages

Property: Ulster Cottages
Address: 32 Ballywatt Road, Coleraine BT52 2LT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Fantastic holiday cottages situated just 2.5 miles from the Royal Portrush Golf Course which hosted the 2012 Irish Open and just 3.5 miles from both Coleraine and Bushmills. Set in rural tranquil surroundings along the spectacular North Coast this property has much to offer including TV's in all 3 bedrooms and living room with all RTE channels, Scandinavian Styled Kitchen and cosy wood burning stove. Ground Floor The Lounge /kitchen/diner, double (tV), bathroom. First Floor double (tv & dressing room) with ensuite shower room, twin (tv) with ensuite shower room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ulster Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulster Cottages Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing