We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food glorious Food”
Review of Homemade Cafe

Homemade Cafe
Ranked #4 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food glorious Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We eat quite often here and the food and service is of a very high standard.Menu choice is extensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie14_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customers are not always right here...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been in here quite a few times with no issues, but pricey but generally food is good.
On the one occasion I complained about the lasagne I was told there is definitely no problem with it despite everyone at my table agreeing something was "off". Manager told me it was her recipe and was different and clearly it "just wasn't to my taste" personally I have never been treated like an imboscile until then. Fellow customers also appauled. Will not be back. A simple response would have been, I'm sorry your not satisfied, can I get you something else? But no apparently it was not that simple, and their policy is to argue with customers and try and change their point of view! Would not recommend in future

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcdheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,950 reviews
593 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6,202 helpful votes
“Big menu”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick stop for coffee here while we were heading back to Dublin. It has an extensive menu although the coffee was great, we did not order any food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited with my husband , daughter and little grandson.it was our first visit but my daughter who lives locally had spoken very highly of the restaurant .
From the minute we arrived the service was excellent. We were shown to our table and a high chair for the " wee man " produced instantly. If that wasn't enough, toys were brought to entertain him whilst we adults pursued the extensive menu.

His stew was brought out first, so he could get started, and he had a lovely wee proper child's spoon to eat with. Our food followed very quickly and was excellent . I had a toasted sandwich which was delicious , served with accompaniment of fries and salad. My husband had soup/sandwich and my daughter the stew which was delicious .

We had opted for light snacks but could see mouth watering full meals being served to other customers which looked amazing .

The ambience , the food and the friendly and efficient staff make Homemade a force to be reckoned with in Coleraine. Certainly they have raised the bar as far as other restaurants cafes are concerned and many could learn a few lessons in customer service from them.

Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastSupermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant or cafe?”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot of fuss about this cafe/restaurant so thought i would try it with my partner today.

Firstly it was quite busy but the manageress was very quick to get a table cleared for us and bring us a highchair. At a glance menu was massive one of the biggest ive seen. So i decided to try the salmon, my partner had lasagne and we got my toddler a bowl of stew. Fantastically enough they used their initative to send out the babys first so it was cool by the time our mains came out. So as my meal was set down i couldnt believe the portion size which was massive. Nearly too much to be honest. Salmon was on spinach mash supposedly, but yes the mash was green but was under seasoned the greens werent seasoned or drizzled with butter so were wuite bland the salmon itself was beautiful and the deepfried leeks were a bit ott for my likening but added the crunch to dish my partners meal seemed to go down well but she's easily pleased. Overall 4/5 £21.00 for salmon/lasagne/stew/tea/americano

Quite pricey for a cafe even though they are running of a restaurant menu turnover is very quick and tables are very close.

Will be back again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattythecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homemade Cafe also viewed

Coleraine, County Londonderry
 
Coleraine, County Londonderry
Coleraine, County Londonderry
 

Been to Homemade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing