We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms. lovely friendly staff. Fab atmosphere and the food in the bistro was good quality and reasonably priced. Right next to asda and just a short stroll to town. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and dining experience in Elliot's Bistro. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    171
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
201
206
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked this stay for my mam, dad & 2 sisters. As it was my mams birthday I emailed the hotel to put a box of chocolates in the room, it was no hassle for them and they also put a birthday card in the room for her arrival, thanks to Deborah for all her help. My mam and dad were very pleased with the staff they were really friendly and very helpful even sang happy birthday to my mother at dinner. They said the food was 2nd to none. They will definitely be back if up around the area. Ps lovely touch with the chocolates on the bed my sisters loved them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netsienet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear your mam, dad and two sisters enjoyed their stay at the Lodge Hotel and your mam enjoyed her birthday celebrations. I shall be sure and pass on your kind comments to Deborah and the rest of our wonderful team here at The Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Stayed here and felt like I'd always stayed here. Food in restraunt is really tasty and of good value. The atmosphere in this hotel is amazing too. Not pressurised but relaxing and welcoming. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are really lovely too!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the overall Lodge Hotel experience. I shall be sure and pass on your kind comments to the team here at The Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my son for our friends wedding, food great, rooms great, service great. Receptionist Deborah was great, spent time answering my sons numerous questions and gave him maps and leaflets of the local area. All our meals were excellent and waitress helpful in getting ice lollies for the children.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on a recent visit to the hotel on the occasion of a wedding. I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and dining experiences at the hotel. I have passed your kind comments onto Deborah and the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here a few times - Pleasant location, friendly staff, spacious comfortable and clean rooms. Restaurant food is good and very reasonably priced but could do with varying the menu occasionally especially the vegetarian courses.

Room Tip: Rooms in annexe are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our set menus have limited vegetarian dishes but unfortunately I cannot ascertain which restaurant or indeed which menu you dined from. Next time you visit please ask a member of staff for other vegetarian options and we will do our best to meet your request. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were welcomed by reception and pleased to receive a 'special offer' for a Sunday night. The room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom was also large and had a warm, powerful shower and bath. Breakfast in the morning was surprisingly good with fantastic choice. The only thing that let the hotel down was the service in the adjoining Bistro. They started well, but by the time our dinner had been served they completely lost interest in us. I thought we were going to have to carry our own plates to the kitchen and help ourselves to dessert. Getting the bill was equally painful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your detailed review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I do hope that you are not deterred from visiting the Bistro again as we normally provide service of the highest standard. I have passed your comments onto our Restaurant Manager who will investigate further. Please accept our apologies and assure you of our best service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights here while I was working in Northern Ireland including one day at a small exhibition held at the hotel. I should say that I didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast during my stay so cannot comment on the restaurant from my own experience. I can, however, say that on both days the place was packed with lunch time diners many of which were local. That in my mind suggests that the kitchen produces either good quality, good price or both.
Now for the things I saw/tried myself. Breakfast was a very relaxed affair with truly good service and very good if not outstanding food. The staff throughout were very efficient and pleasant so would give high marks there. The layout is a little strange. To get to my room from reception I had to walk through the bistro, past diners and out into a corridor to my room. Ok but not ideal, particularly if I was dining. The room it's self was large enough and all of the amenities you would expect but again good but not outstanding.
The biggest plus for me is the location. I love Coleraine anyway so that is a good start but no distance to PortRush and Royal PortRush golf course. Easy striking distance to the Bushmills Distillery and the Giants Causeway along with some stunning coastal areas.
Got business or the tourist it is a place to consider.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ntb146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of your stay at the hotel and surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
6.5 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Hotel

Property: Lodge Hotel
Address: Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its hospitality and great food, The Lodge hotel, Coleraine is the ideal base for touring the North Coast. The 56 guest rooms are spacious and equipped with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and direct dial telephone. The seaside resorts of Portrush and Portstewart are only a 10 minute drive away. The medieval Dunluce Castle is just 8 miles from the hotel and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Giant's Causeway is a 20 minute drive away. In addition the North Coast is renowned as a golfer's paradise boasting 7 challenging courses including the famous Royal Portrush a mere 10 minute drive away. However you choose to spend your day, the Lodge Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay on the North Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Travelstop
And Travelstop Hotel
Lodge Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing