We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eventually made it and worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
bangor n.i.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eventually made it and worthwhile”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to the Lodge hotel on 22 March for weekend break with wife and another couple. We set out from Bangor on the Friday in terrible winter conditions and to add more misery there was a bomb scare on the Belfast road and we were diverted through Newtownards. Taking our time we finally arrived at the Lodge hotel after nearly three hours travel. Now to the hotel:.

On arrival we checked in at reception and warmly greeted by the staff. We had requested rooms in the annex and our room was excellent. Large room with a double bed and single bed, tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of coffee and tea bags and an assortment of biscuits. Trouser press, hair dryer and the room was nice and warm. The bathroom is spacious with soap,shampoo and conditioner so no need to bring your own. Plenty of towels and face cloths also.

Forgot to say a chocolate was left on each pillow ( a nice touch ).

The food at the Lodge is exceptional with a large varied menu. The menu for the meal that was included in the weekend break was fantastic. The breakfast are buffet cold and hot and could not fault.

The atmosphere in the Lodge is great and the staff from waiters, barmen and waitresses in the dining rooms are a credit to the Lodge. Special note to Adrian in the bar, great guy. These people cant do enough for you to make your stay memorable. There was also good entertainment on the Saturday night which we enjoyed.

So to Norma and all the staff thanks for brightening up our weekend break,we will certainly be back. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel without question.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxflyBangorN_i_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you all enjoyed The Lodge Hotel experience! We are very proud of the team we have at the hotel and fully appreciate that it is they that really make the difference to our guests' experiences. I shall pass your compliments on to all the staff with a special mention to Adrian. We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    171
    58
    20
    12
See reviews for
200
205
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the above Hotel. We cannot recommend it enough. It reminded me of Crossroads the fictitious Hotel sitcom. The staff are delightful and the place is spotless.The food is very good and extremely reasonable. Breakfast midweek is freshly cooked which is practically unheard of in any Hotel regardless of star rating. I would suggest that they put better seating in the bedrooms as there was not any place comfortable enough to have a read. I also found the lighting poor . But again there are very few hotels that are geared for women as far as mirrors and lighting go. That aside i would stay there again and will do quite soon.

Room Tip: We were in 211 which is ground floor and quiet. If i stayed again I would ask for a room with a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your five day stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a nice invite to the Lodge Hotel with mother and Margaret. On arrival we got a great welcome from all the staff as well as birthday wishes, they all seemed to know it was my birthday.Service was excellent, super menu to choose from food was very tasty as always. Coffee was served with chocolate Birthday Cake, which I must say was delightful, plus the usual birthday music. Good time was had by all, Highly recommended.
We will be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to look after you, birthdays or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited bistro with my wife decor excellent good atmosphere excellent cuisine at a very reasonable price good selection of wines and spirits
Staff very attentive knowledgable and friendly good music on Saturday nights all in all the perfect venue in Coleraine for couples

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us in Elliot's Bistro and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at The Lodge on Saturday 16th of March 2013, had a lovely room that was spotless with plenty of space. What made our stay was the very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast was lovely, such great value for money!! Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsayburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend. I will be sure and pass on your comments to all the team. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a 2 night dinner b&b . Fantastic hotel the rooms are large and comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and the food outstanding. Great value for money, highly recommended for exploring the north coast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your two night break with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing weekend break at The Lodge Hotel. There were no problems with service at all. The staff were all pleasant, courteous and eager to please.

I stayed in the annexe, in Room 217. This was a large bedroom with super-kingsize bed. Indeed the room was so well appointed that I felt it could have been a Four Star hotel, rather than its official Three Star grade.

The bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows, bed-lights, side table, free wi-fi (BT); lots of piping hot water, power shower, trouser press, ironing-board; tea-making facility and biscuits.

I'd certainly stay here again. And it's a mere fifteen minutes' walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma W, Owner at Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break us and found your guest room very comfortable and spacious! We are very proud of the team we have at The Lodge and fully appreciate that it is they, that really make the difference to our guests' experiences. We all look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,681 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
344 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
638 reviews
4.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Hotel

Property: Lodge Hotel
Address: Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its hospitality and great food, The Lodge hotel, Coleraine is the ideal base for touring the North Coast. The 56 guest rooms are spacious and equipped with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and direct dial telephone. The seaside resorts of Portrush and Portstewart are only a 10 minute drive away. The medieval Dunluce Castle is just 8 miles from the hotel and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Giant's Causeway is a 20 minute drive away. In addition the North Coast is renowned as a golfer's paradise boasting 7 challenging courses including the famous Royal Portrush a mere 10 minute drive away. However you choose to spend your day, the Lodge Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay on the North Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Travelstop
And Travelstop Hotel
Lodge Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing