We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, decent standard”
Review of Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We stayed in the Lodge fo one night, good size rooms and an excellent restaurant and good breakfast. Better option than a tavel lodge etc for the same price

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheezie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 742 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge recently. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and masses of it. We stayed in the travel lodge the room was very clean and quite large. I would recommend this hotel as it was excellent value for money and ideally placed to visit the antrim coast.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Thought the rooms were of a good size, food and service excellent, children were made welcome, all in all, a very relaxing experience!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank national1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed here last week while playing golf at Portstewart.

The rooms are low end motel, badly decorated but clean. The bathroom was large but again much more like a Days Inn than a "Lodge".

Certainly acceptable, nice staff, but the common areas are much more in line with a "Lodge" than the rooms are. I suspect they do quite a bit of business with the locals (Rotary, Chamber of Commerce) and that explains the better public areas.

By all means stay here, but don't expect a "Lodge">

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed at the Travelstop as they had no more rooms available in the main hotel. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff at the reception and restaurant were very helpful however the service at the Bistro was slow and the staff were not overly friendly. We waited 25 minutes for our starters to arrive and when we ordered a bottle of wine after waiting 15-20 minutes we enquired where it was only to be told that it had been given to another table, no apologises were given and they didin't appear too happy to go and get us the bottle of wine. I feel that the service in the Bistro lets the rest of the hotel down. On the whole we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2006

The Lodge Hotel has two parts, the Lodge Hotel and the Travelstop, the latter being motel type accommodation. I have stayed in both and I do prefer the hotel, the Travelstop is OK if you are travelling on a budget or with a young family. The rooms in the hotel are on the first floor of the hotel, I’m not sure if it has a lift so it may not be suitable for all. Food is available in the bar area which is called Elliot’s bistro or in the more formal Romanoff’s Restaurant (not always open). The variety and quality of food available is good in both. The rooms are of a decent size with all the usual amenities; one nice touch is the Alka Seltzer hangover tablet with the hospitality tray – just in case!

Locally the Giants Causeway and the Black Bush distillery is just a short drive away

I would recommend this hotel for business purposes and as a base for tourism in Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This hotel has been recently renovated to a high standard, the room has all the necesary equiptment ans the beds are very comfortable. Staff very helpful and welcoming.

Location
Good - handy to the town (5 mins walk) and to the major road to take you to larger cities Belfast etc and the local tourist spots

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brisdetobemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
The Bushtown Hotel
The Bushtown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Coleraine
361 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
7.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
395 reviews
5.7 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Hotel

Address: Lodge Road, Coleraine BT52 1NF, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its hospitality and great food, The Lodge hotel, Coleraine is the ideal base for touring the North Coast. The 56 guest rooms are spacious and equipped with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and direct dial telephone. The seaside resorts of Portrush and Portstewart are only a 10 minute drive away. The medieval Dunluce Castle is just 8 miles from the hotel and the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Giant's Causeway is a 20 minute drive away. In addition the North Coast is renowned as a golfer's paradise boasting 7 challenging courses including the famous Royal Portrush a mere 10 minute drive away. However you choose to spend your day, the Lodge Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay on the North Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Travelstop
And Travelstop Hotel
Lodge Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing