We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from a 3-night stay (Monday - Thursday) at this hotel, which included and evening meal with our deal. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was hearty and the evening meal was really tasty. The only downside for me was the room - it was on the ground floor looking out to the car park and on the Monday night was very noisy until around 2am when most of the revellers left. I found great difficulty with the taps for the shower - they were very stiff and couldn't turn them off (had to get my husband to turn them off). The door 'groaned' on closing every time we went in or out. However none of these things spoiled our stay at the hotel and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    46
    27
    23
See reviews for
101
95
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just home from another fantastic stay at the Bushtown. Had a great two night stay, entertainment Sunday night, Monday afternoon and on Monday night.Great value for money. Bed, breakfast and an evening meal all in, great food, staff helpful and friendly. All the things I want on a few days away. Look forward to another say soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridiemck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Bushtown Hotel is the ideal spot to stay while up in the North Coast. It is close to all the attractions and good shopping. The staff are very good at looking after all your needs the rooms are large and well laid out with everything you need for a short break. Food is great in fact the Hotel has some of the best food in the area. A great place for families and couples to stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs facing the front great veiws and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

went for a meal to the Bushtown, was just a quick decision, am glad i did,, it wasnt that busy, but for a thursday u didnt expect big crowds, then i though, has everybody heard something about the place, thats why its empty, but when i ask the waiter, he said it is always like that on week days, and at the weekend they do well over 800 covers,
so i ordered our meal and WOW it was perfect, everything was great, the waiter was so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed, great job lads, Michael was one and am very sorry but i cant remember the other one, he left half way though our meal, because it was busy,, but both where great :-).
i will be back again and again until i get a bad meal or service.

thank u again Bushtown, for a great meal,, 10 stars from me

Room Tip: sorry the last time i stayed at hotel was on my wedding nite and it was great then
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a two night break. We were allocated a family room which on first impressions looked very good with a partition wall. First night there was a wedding on and we might as well have been in a cave - the acoustics were that good! Second evening out we were better prepared with earplugs all round. Kids fell asleep quickly and before the live band struck up. They missed the live performance in our room. We complained and received a feeble apology with estimated noise embargo around 12.30am. Very disappointed in their response from reception and also not being told about the noise and vibratilevels in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stobetgfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My parents and I went to the Bushtown for our evening meal today as I had heard very good reports about the food. We all really enjoyed our meals - didn't leave a single morsel! We ordered Italian Chicken, Steak and Chicken, and Steak Burger and a range of sides, we also had desserts which were great. The staff are attentive, professional and friendly.
A really relaxing and enjoyable meal - check it out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really enjoyed a family wedding reception in the Bushtown Hotel. The meal was excellent, served quickly and efficiently by the team. We had the Turkey and Ham option which was very tasty - cooked to perfection (not overcooked and dry as it can sometimes be!) The function room was beautifully decorated.

Lovely food also for the evening reception. Bar staff did tend to be slow when serving but all in all it was an excellent location for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing