We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly escape”
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Dun Geimhin
1 review
“heavenly escape”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to the bushtown for our wedding anniversary, and it turned out to be the perfect trip. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We stayed in the bridal suite, my husband had pre arranged for rose petals to be placed in a heart shape on the bed, and a bunch of flowers and chocolates to be in the room for our arrival, very romantic. The room decor was stunningly beautiful, spacious with large bed & lounge area. We dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious. We enjoyed our irish coffees in front of the fire in the bar then headed out to the large foyer to enjoy some live entertainment. Overall this was one of my best stays anywhere, and I would highly recommend it. The prices were really reasonable for the quality of everything we received. A heavenly escape which everyone should enjoy at least once.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the bridal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dearbhlá M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    71
    48
    29
    23
See reviews for
101
94
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maghera
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My company use the conference facilities on a regular basis now. Meeting rooms are comfortable, well supplied and have projector with brilliant quality fixed wall screen. The staff are always attentive, they seem to magically appear at all the right times on our most recent visit. We usually avail of carvery lunch where we always get our fill. The most convenient service the hotel offers is its speedy wifi connection, very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagheraFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had I known about this hotel I would have told my company about it ages ago. A great hotel at a good price. Very comfortable and spacious rooms. A very hearty breakfast. and plenty of car parking available. The hotel is in a very quiet location so sleeping was no problem. Easy to reach from Belfast City Airport. (just over an hour) Easy to reach local attractions such as the giants causeway or bushmills distillery. Overall a good hotel. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We dropped by here on a visit to the NW. We didn’t have a reservation but we were welcomed by the gracious receptionist & checked in within minutes!! Room was massive!!!!! Spotless clean & a nice view over the front gardens. The location was handy for us as our aim was to visit giants causeway, rope bridge, portrush, etc & they are all very close to hotel! What we loved most about this hotel was the staf!!!!!!! They were ALL super friendly, making us feel like we were the only people in the hotel & just like old friends. Even when they were busy they always had time for us & were excited about our daily sightseeing activities. Iv never had such a welcoming experience in any hotel before, top class!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle and T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenavy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Bushtown for one night, on arriving on a very cold and wet day we were looking forward to one of the lovely fires to sit by. Not one fire lit,not even a gas one. Hotel really cold,no atmosphere in it. No lift, carried cases upstairs, very run down hotel,in need of a good paint and modernised. Terrible smell in corridors. Biscuits in room on tea tray out of date. Was so cold in hotel we went out in car and blasted heater to get warmed up. Breakfast average. Everything cheap in hotel, soap in toilets Lidyls cheapy. Sad that a hotel is too miserable to light a fire.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear sylvia j

Thank you for your review. At the Bushtown we are very proud of our reputation and are disappointed that you did not enjoy some aspects of the hotel. On investigation into your stay we noticed that you checked into the hotel at approx 2.45pm. At this time, due to energy consumption it is hotel policy to not to have fires burning in public areas. This is because the time in question, falls between lunch and dinner and usually all residents are out of the hotel; however if at any time residents are seated in these areas, staff will immediately proceed to ensure that fires are then lit making our customers feel as comfortable as possible. If we had of been aware you required fires to be burning, we would have done so at this time.
Since takeover in 2006 the hotel has seen major refurbishment though at the same time we have tried to keep the old worldly charm. Almost all customers love the character and charm of the hotel and we are sorry it is not to your taste.

Biscuits are locally sourced and are refreshed in each room on a daily basis; it is hotel policy that all food stock is constantly rotated. I am pleased to inform you that we have a maximum rating of 5 for our food and hygiene standards. This can be verified by visiting the Coleraine Borough Council website.

We note that you did not mention your dining experience with us on the evening of your stay; we trust that the food and service was to your complete satisfaction.

Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were celebrating my wife's birthday & during our stay we did some shopping in coleraine and visited bushmills distillery
& the bushmills inn . (For a meal ) very nice it was! The inclement weather certainly did not dampen our spirits.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddieRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear AddieRobb

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on the Bushtown Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our award winning food from our Bays Restaurant.

We hope to see you in the near future and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again to the hotel

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Was taken out for my Tea by a close friend to the Bushtown this week. Although it was bitterly cold and extremely windy with hail showers we were warmly greeted on entering and offered excellent service. We were shown to our table and menus available was explained to us. We were offered drinks and staff ensured we were warmed up. The teatime menu available from 3 - 6 pm had a highly recommendable choice of starters and main meals for only £9.95. Menu catered for all needs and wants including a choice for vegetarians which is very unusual on a teatime special menu. Staff were highly attentive but not intruding during our meal. Starters were good sized portions and mains were very good sized portions. Meals were hot and delicious and it was evident that care had been taken in the presentation and cooking. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I would highly recommend this for Tea to anyone who is passing. It is well worth a visit. Staff are friendly efficient and professional in their dealings with customers and nothing is too much bother. We came away fully content and relaxed and look forward to returning again soon Well done pity other restaurants in the area wouldn't take a leaf out of this establishments service, care and welcoming of customers

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee7494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Zebedee7494

Thank you for favourable and delightful review. We are happy to hear of your experience with us. Its great to read that you found the staff friendly and efficient and received excellent service in such a professional manner. We certainly hope you return to The Bushtown again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
697 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
7.3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing