We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEST PLACE TO STAY :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Have been meaning to do for a while now. I have stayed at Bushtown various occasions and its always great! Service is brilliant, staff always willing to help out and give advice on the local area and nothing is ever too much. Left my phone charger there last time we stayed, didnt realise and a few days later, it arrived in the post. thats what I call service.

Food is as they explain it... award winning, my husband is a meat person and always has fillet steak. he describes it as melt in the mouth. I like a bit of change and opt for something different to eat every time we stay and have to say its always really tasty (and not too bad on the pocket either)

I have stayed in the other hotels in coleraine and bushtown without a doubt wins hands down. everything from service to the lovely staff and warm welcomes and food will bring us back again and again.

Great job bushtown! :)

d and jparker

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d0rd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear dOrdO

Many thanks for your great review on the hotel. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback. We are delighted that The Bushtown filled your expectations and are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    46
    26
    23
See reviews for
101
94
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Bushtown on New years eve, we had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious my husband and i both had the steak which was cooked to our liking, the staff were exceptional as usual! Nothing too much bother and all in good spirits! We then went upstairs to hear the band which was great, the dancefloor was packed and just after midnight we were pleasantly suprised wiyh a piper who played the pipes and brought in 2013 in style! I think the Bushtown deserve a pat on the back for going the extra mile on new years eve!! We will return again, no doubt before 2014!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relax867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Relax867

Thank you for your great recommendation on the hotel. We are so pleased that the food was to your liking and our staff were of help. Our New Years Eve Ball was certainly a great night. We look forward to your return.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Unfortunately the Bushtown Hotel has gone seriously 'downhill'... very very disappointed. I rang around several places reference their New Year's Eve packages and I picked the Bushtown over the Smugglers Inn which I deeply regretted. I picked the Bushtown mainly for the entertainment and because it was a very well respected hotel in years gone by. There were four of us for the dinner and dance package including a drinks reception at £40.00 each. On arrival I asked where the drinks reception was and if it was in the reception area. The response from several staff was, a confused look and they asked what was I talking about. I replied that it was advertised on their web site and again they looked at me strangely and said, don't believe all that you read. I responded by saying this was false advertising. We were led to our table and a waiter took our drinks order which took a considerable long time to arrive. The New Year's Eve table was decorated with 4 party hats, no special touches for such a special evening. We waited patiently on our starter whilst other diners had their starters finished and taken away. The staff were not under pressure as the tables were well spaced out and several were empty. After sitting for twenty minutes I enquired about the starter and if it was part of the buffet, the member of staff proceeded to tell us a list of the starters and eventually brought them to our table. The food thankfully was enjoyable. I used the toilets at the start of the evening and due to a very strong smell of urine in the hall outside the mens toilets I refrained from using them the rest of the evening (the female toilets did not smell but the smell was so overpowering coming from the mens). I was aware from other diners that a few gentlemen had gone down to reception to complain about this but it was not addressed by staff as people were still complaining about this after midnight. Other people must have queried the drinks reception as half way through our main course staff came around with trays of sparkling sweet wine. My glass was one third full as were many other glasses on the tray. No attention to detail. At around 9.00 pm staff started bringing in more tables and chairs and it was extremely difficult to get access to leave/return to our table. We were then descended on by a lot of people some of whom were rude and joined on to diners tables whislt they were still drinking their coffee and finishing of their family meal. These customers had obviously paid for the entertainment only. Two of the tea/coffee cups on our table had loose particles of dirt/crumbs in them plus more stubborn dirt. The tea was like dish water and the coffee was very weak also. No after dinner mints although I did expect this as it was obvious there was very little thought/planning put into the evening. We waited patiently for the band to start, we waited and waited and then after 11.15 they finally appeared and decided to take a break before the midnight celebrations??!! We left at 12.30 in a taxi and will sadly never return. It was also very cold in the hotel. The customer service of some staff members needs to be addressed as some were very unprofessional and poor service. I hope the management address these issues for future guests. I am so glad that there were not any rooms available when we booked as to be honest I was so glad to get home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Elaine B

On reading this review, I am deeply saddened that you did not enjoy your experience in our hotel on New Year’s Eve. I myself was present on the night and personally spoke to multiple guests at our New Year’s Eve Ball. The feedback which I received was in stark contrast to this review. Can I firstly say that this hotel has become the north wests favourite for entertainment and we strive to satisfy our customers to the highest level on every occasion.

The fee to enter the dance without dinner was £15pp. However on this particular night we decided to offer a package that included dinner. For a further £25 customers could enjoy a five course meal with champagne and be guaranteed the best seats for one of Irelands top entertainers. By early evening, dance only customers where already queuing in the foyer so we decided to serve the Champagne to all tables in an effort to segregate dinner paying customers from dance only customers, on what turned out a very busy evening (can you please note that it is not hotel policy to change events last minute, however in this particular circumstance we made this decision in trying to ensure that dinner attendees could get their seats and enjoy their package without interruption. All tables were decorated with party hats and streamers etc.. Entertainment started at 9pm and as always here in the Bushtown, the main act started at approximately 11pm.

We are very proud of our reputation for food, friendly service, and the very best in entertainment and are very disappointed you might not return.

We do hope you will reconsider and we will see you soon

Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We couldn’t believe the value for money deal we got at the Bushtown during Halloween break. The full family, 2 nights, meals & gift bags for the kids, ONLY £189!!! DEAL!!! Carvery breakfast was cooked to perfection. Dinner menu had us spoilt for choice, recommend the fillet steak with prawns, & brilliant kiddies menu. The entire staff were great, every one of them were genuinely friendly & happy, made us & especially the kids feel so special. The hotel’s pool is closed for renovations but we were given vouchers for the leisure centre nearby, we took the kids there twice during our stay as we were offered vouchers throughout our stay. If its rainy outside check out the Jet centre, loads of entertainment there. We are already looking forward to a return visit at easter.

Room Tip: Family rooms are really spacious & we had a connecting room where the kids slept & we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitty_utl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear mitty_utl

Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review. We are happy to hear of your pleasant experience here at the hotel and the feedback on the staff. Our pool is under refurbishment at present; however we hope to have it re-opened again for Easter. We look forward to your next visit.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

rib starter delicious...soup starter delicious..prawns with wheaten bread starter arrived with no wheaten bread??...it arrived after prawns eaten..not impressed..

honey chilli chicken delicious
chicken and steak with garlic fries and champ delicious
onion rings a disaster..burnt to a frazzle as usual..after complaining we got them removed from final bill...
overall a very good meal..service could improve..quite slow as usual...and onion rings as usual had to be sent back...main courses a very satisfactory

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lOrraine68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear lOrraine 68_11

Thank you for your kind comments about our food. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We aim to ensure customers are served their meal within 10-15mins of ordering. (Steaks take longer depending on how cooked) I have spoken to our team of chefs in regards to the onion rings.

We Look Forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneymore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

at the bushtown on new years eve for a meal a real disappointment. i ordered steak which when it arrived looked grey and appeared as if it had been cooked earlier in the day and warmed up.only that we were the guests of a friend it would have been sent straight back also very expensive . Very cold in the restaurant had to eat with our coats on.No comparison to the dining experience we had at Ardtara house in Upperlands highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Emily F

Many thanks for your recent review. Here at The Bushtown we are proud to say that all our food is of high quality from local suppliers. We have been awarded ‘Best Hotel Restaurant’ for our high quality, fresh, homemade food. All steaks are Freshly prepared and cooked to order. may we draw your attention to other reviews regarding our restaurant.

Kind Regards

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

paid £40 for meal and dance. Said on internet a welcome drink on arrival when we asked about it staff did not no anything about it we were told we should not believe all u read on the net. Other people complained and staff came round with a very cheap sparkling wine and glasses less than half full. The band did not start playing until twenty past eleven and that was the main reason we picked bushtown for the live music. At 9.00pm a lot of people and tables arrived we were completely blocked in by acrowd of females when i asked one of them to move so that i could get out to the toilet she turned very nasty. I just wanted her to sit at side of table rather than end and that would have left a space to get in and out. There was a terrible smell coming from the gents toilet from the start of the night people complained but nothing was done and it just got worse as the night went on. Never again shall stick to the lodge hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bm1baby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear bm1baby1

Thank you for your review about your experience here at The Bushtown Hotel. On Reading your review it is possible you attended the new years eve ball with another customer Elaine B who has also left a review. May I please draw your attention to our response to Elaine.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Bushtown Hotel

Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing