We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good with a couple of blips”
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very good with a couple of blips”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

rib starter delicious...soup starter delicious..prawns with wheaten bread starter arrived with no wheaten bread??...it arrived after prawns eaten..not impressed..

honey chilli chicken delicious
chicken and steak with garlic fries and champ delicious
onion rings a disaster..burnt to a frazzle as usual..after complaining we got them removed from final bill...
overall a very good meal..service could improve..quite slow as usual...and onion rings as usual had to be sent back...main courses a very satisfactory

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lOrraine68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear lOrraine 68_11

Thank you for your kind comments about our food. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We aim to ensure customers are served their meal within 10-15mins of ordering. (Steaks take longer depending on how cooked) I have spoken to our team of chefs in regards to the onion rings.

We Look Forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    72
    49
    29
    25
See reviews for
102
95
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moneymore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

at the bushtown on new years eve for a meal a real disappointment. i ordered steak which when it arrived looked grey and appeared as if it had been cooked earlier in the day and warmed up.only that we were the guests of a friend it would have been sent straight back also very expensive . Very cold in the restaurant had to eat with our coats on.No comparison to the dining experience we had at Ardtara house in Upperlands highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Emily F

Many thanks for your recent review. Here at The Bushtown we are proud to say that all our food is of high quality from local suppliers. We have been awarded ‘Best Hotel Restaurant’ for our high quality, fresh, homemade food. All steaks are Freshly prepared and cooked to order. may we draw your attention to other reviews regarding our restaurant.

Kind Regards

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

paid £40 for meal and dance. Said on internet a welcome drink on arrival when we asked about it staff did not no anything about it we were told we should not believe all u read on the net. Other people complained and staff came round with a very cheap sparkling wine and glasses less than half full. The band did not start playing until twenty past eleven and that was the main reason we picked bushtown for the live music. At 9.00pm a lot of people and tables arrived we were completely blocked in by acrowd of females when i asked one of them to move so that i could get out to the toilet she turned very nasty. I just wanted her to sit at side of table rather than end and that would have left a space to get in and out. There was a terrible smell coming from the gents toilet from the start of the night people complained but nothing was done and it just got worse as the night went on. Never again shall stick to the lodge hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bm1baby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear bm1baby1

Thank you for your review about your experience here at The Bushtown Hotel. On Reading your review it is possible you attended the new years eve ball with another customer Elaine B who has also left a review. May I please draw your attention to our response to Elaine.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Bushtown Hotel

Management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was at the Bushtown last weekend for a Christmas party... The selection of food is unbelievable and tastes as great as it looks. The service was fantastic, the staff are so helpful and attentive and the atmosphere was brilliant.
Great night overall and we will definately be back to stay again. We were most pleased with the price of the room included in our stay. Really homely place to be, the Bushtown and their lovely staff made our whole experience enjoyable

See you again next year!

Room Tip: We stayed as a party of 12... All rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juicy5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear juicy5_12

I am thrilled to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I will pass your compliments to our staff members and management team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kieran McGilligan

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was invited to a wedding in the Bushtown couple of weeks ago.It was a fantastic day in every way from start to finish. The food was excellent, and the staff were first class. I needed transport to and from the church, as I do not drive and have to travel sitting in my wheelchair. I asked for help in get taxi company near by and with in few min had it attended too. I have stayed in the hotel a few times, and look forward to staying over v soon. Thanks for all your help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridiemck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear bridiemck1

It is brilliant to hear from you. We will always do anything we can to ensure you enjoy your stays here at The Bushtown Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended here at The Bushtown Hotel.

We look forward to your next visit

Management and Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

dropped in here to see if we could get a room on our way to the causeway,,,had to wait for about 10 mins while the girl on reception sorted out some other customers,,anyway turns out we couldnt get a room as thyey were full but the atitude there was pretty sour anyway,the prices on the board for a room was scary!!,place would have got a 60/70 -100,,as was looking a little dated,,tho as we hadnt seen a hotel for about 100 miles, we tried it,,,,anyway theres a few more places further up the road,,prem inns etc in coleraine,,make your own minds up tho! tho i would never book this in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear david I

Thank you for your comments. Our hotel is very busy throughout the year; in general if we are fully booked, we certainly do our best to ensure that guests get a reservation with another local hotel or bed and breakfast. Prices displayed are standard rates and vary depending on availability. We have many special offers available.

In 2006 The Bushtown was taken over by DK Leisure who have invested in the true unique charm and history of the Hotel. From take over there has been much Refurbishment though in doing so we have tried to hold that home from home feeling you get on entering. We feel that our hotel is reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels in the area and are sorry that you felt the need to leave a review before experiencing what this establishment has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Bushtown in the near future and if you are going to stay please make sure you give us plenty of notice so we can make sure and hold a room for you.

Regards

Management & Staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for the wifes birthday and realy enjoyed it, the food was excelent and the staff realy friendly.We were only going to book for fri & sat night but we were told we could have sunday night for £10 pp inc breakfast so we stayed the 3 nights.We will definatly go back,they have big country bands on on monday nights that we will go to next year,Realy good value for money.Our room number 16 was massive ,double bed and 2 single beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Owner at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear kscooper3

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback on your visit to the hotel. We offer many accommodation packages and are pleased that you and your wife enjoyed her birthday celebrations at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Management and staff

Bushtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
709 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
754 reviews
7.3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
969 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing