We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal...excellent service”
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely meal...excellent service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and a friend went for a meal yesterday evening to the beautiful Bushtown hotel. I haven't been there since I worked as a waitress in my younger days. The grounds are still as stunning. We hadn't booked a meal but we were fortunate enough to get a table straight away. The menu choice was excellent and although we both had initally said we'll just get mains the starters were too enticing not to try. I went with the Goats Cheese Bruschetta...it was delicious. We both ordered steaks medium and although we received them well done the problem was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The second steaks were top class and cooked to perfection. The staff all seemed to be on top of their game and knew who was doing what. If I one little tip...I'd love them to have a cocktail menu...but this was not a major, just thought it would have been nice to go out to the reception area and sit for one after our meal. All in all great experience and Ill definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Stef R

We would like to thank you for all your lovely comments about our hotel

It is great to hear such fantastic feedback regarding your visit. All of our food is locally sourced produce for which we received the award for Best Hotel Restaurant, this award we are extremely proud of. Thank you also for your comments regarding a cocktail menu which is currently under review

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    71
    48
    29
    23
See reviews for
101
94
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as we were passing through. The staff were excellent, the food was fantastic and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We also found the hotel to be excellent value for money compared to other hotels in the area. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Lewis F

Thank you for you review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We take great pride in customer service and achieved many awards for our food.

Having recently achieved certificate of excellence from TripAdvisor we are chuffed to receive yet another excellent review.

We look forwarding to welcoming you again to The Bushtown Hotel

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

a group of four of us were planning to stay here after traveling for two hours we arrived. it looked nice enough from the outside. we then went in to check in at about 5pm and our room still wasnt ready. we then were told the pool was not in use we were not tild this before!!!(this was the reason we booked this hotel). they offered vouchers for the lesuire centre. why would u want to go to a lesuire centre full of kids when we were wanting to relax.
the rooms what can i say disgusting after just being cleaned? the beds where did they get the beds poundland. u would better off sleeping on the floor. bathroom dirty and a tile missing.
we went to complain and the girl said she hasnt had complaints before highly unlikely.
we are not fussy but to stay here would take the biscuit we didnt pay to stay in a run down old peoples home.
we ended up arguing with the reception who was extremely unproffessional and rude and to our surprise she was reception manager. she stated she had notified us by e mail. we never gave our e mail address. we eventually got our money back as we couldnt stand staying there even one night. we couldnt get away fast enough. we then stayed in the port hotel in portrush which was fantastic and great value for money. i will never be back EVER. ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roisin_darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear roisin_darren

On reading your review, we looked into your stay immediately and have found that on check-in you decided not to stay as our leisure facilities were under refurbishment which we found strange. You did not stay in the hotel so we find it hard to see how you can make comment on any aspect of the hotel other than your check-in experience.

We use Trip Advisor as a way of measuring our guests experiences and find it very useful in monitoring the creditability of each department in the hotel. However in this case, we feel that Trip Advisor is being misused.

We have reported this review suspicious to The Trip Advisor Team.

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When we arrived we were told pool.was out off order not good at all never informed me about this when i booked! The rooms are very poor, beds were rubbish, dirty walls etc. This is not a 3* its a 1*! STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Heather2604

On reading your review, we looked into your stay immediately and have found that on check-in you decided not to stay as our leisure facilities were under refurbishment which we found strange. You did not stay in the hotel so we find it hard to see how you can make comment on any aspect of the hotel other than your check-in experience.

We have reported this review suspicious to The Trip Advisor Team.

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.derry, ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just back from 2 nights @ the Bushtown - gran, mum and teen - and even though we were <20mls from home - it was a great break! An excellent place to just switch off and relax. Friendly staff, always smiling and eager to assist. Very tasty food - best breakfast ever and plenty of choice for the evening meal. Hotel was busy+++ with weddings on both days but staff had time for everyone. Room 40 was great, loads of space & beautiful view. Lots to do in local area, nice town(s) nearby and of course the fab causeway coast for a day out, then back to the hotel for slapup meal and a nice glass of vino to round the day off!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_ohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear katie_o'hagan

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at The Bushtown Hotel. We are proud of our reputation for friendly staff, good food and service. We try to achieve the highest level in customer service and are proud to read comments such as yours.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon, from all the staff at Bushtown

Kieran McGilligan,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We book into the hotel every year for new year as a family for over 3 years! Both adults and kids! We absolutely love the hotel!

Great food, great entertainment and great staff! Cannot fault anything wrong with this hotel! ... Spacious rooms! Breakfast was lovely and food was fresh!

The leisure facilities are good with swimming pool and sauna and gym...my only complaint is on arrival of new years eve (during the day) the leisure facilities were not open so couldnt use them till the following day, disappointing and quite hard to entertain the kids! Perhaps that may change this year!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Steffi7

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Bushtown.
I will pass all praise to the staff who look forward to your return. With regard to the hotel leisure facilities, these are currently being refurbished. Opening times will be reviewed for over this Christmas period.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bushtown

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

vWe stayed at this hotel "by accident" - just driving around and not having anything booked. In fact when we called them, we though it's a b&b because a lady from top no vacancies b&b gave us tel. number for this one.To our surprise, it was actually a hotel with wedding party going on. I though that no way I will be able to sleep from all the noise but actually it wasnt like that- I didnt hear anything from my room. Our dinner was a bit costy but well worth it, the portions were tremendous too. For us a big parking space in front of the hotel was very convenient (no additional charge). As about the room, it was newly refurbished decorate) but had a bit old furniture. It was really big and actually we got family room. I really loved our experience there - nice, clean,cool restaurant - great after tiring day. However, I wouldn't personally like to have my wedding in there, to me it wasn't romantic enough :-) To the hotel management I would still recommend to modernise it, because even being refurbished it feels a bit tired

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Breath 777

Thank you for your review, and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bushtown.
We are a traditional hotel and are trying to keep any refurbishment in line with the hotels old worldly charm. By modernizing we feel we would loose this and the romantic feeling that goes hand in hand.

We look forward to your return.

Take care from all at the Bushtown.

Kieran Mc Gilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Coleraine
697 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
7.3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
953 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#3 of 8 in Portrush
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing