We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel would stay well away !!”
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor hotel would stay well away !!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When we arrived we were told pool.was out off order not good at all never informed me about this when i booked! The rooms are very poor, beds were rubbish, dirty walls etc. This is not a 3* its a 1*! STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Heather2604

On reading your review, we looked into your stay immediately and have found that on check-in you decided not to stay as our leisure facilities were under refurbishment which we found strange. You did not stay in the hotel so we find it hard to see how you can make comment on any aspect of the hotel other than your check-in experience.

We have reported this review suspicious to The Trip Advisor Team.

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    69
    46
    29
    23
See reviews for
100
94
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
co.derry, ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just back from 2 nights @ the Bushtown - gran, mum and teen - and even though we were <20mls from home - it was a great break! An excellent place to just switch off and relax. Friendly staff, always smiling and eager to assist. Very tasty food - best breakfast ever and plenty of choice for the evening meal. Hotel was busy+++ with weddings on both days but staff had time for everyone. Room 40 was great, loads of space & beautiful view. Lots to do in local area, nice town(s) nearby and of course the fab causeway coast for a day out, then back to the hotel for slapup meal and a nice glass of vino to round the day off!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_ohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear katie_o'hagan

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at The Bushtown Hotel. We are proud of our reputation for friendly staff, good food and service. We try to achieve the highest level in customer service and are proud to read comments such as yours.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon, from all the staff at Bushtown

Kieran McGilligan,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We book into the hotel every year for new year as a family for over 3 years! Both adults and kids! We absolutely love the hotel!

Great food, great entertainment and great staff! Cannot fault anything wrong with this hotel! ... Spacious rooms! Breakfast was lovely and food was fresh!

The leisure facilities are good with swimming pool and sauna and gym...my only complaint is on arrival of new years eve (during the day) the leisure facilities were not open so couldnt use them till the following day, disappointing and quite hard to entertain the kids! Perhaps that may change this year!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Steffi7

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Bushtown.
I will pass all praise to the staff who look forward to your return. With regard to the hotel leisure facilities, these are currently being refurbished. Opening times will be reviewed for over this Christmas period.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bushtown

Kieran McGilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

vWe stayed at this hotel "by accident" - just driving around and not having anything booked. In fact when we called them, we though it's a b&b because a lady from top no vacancies b&b gave us tel. number for this one.To our surprise, it was actually a hotel with wedding party going on. I though that no way I will be able to sleep from all the noise but actually it wasnt like that- I didnt hear anything from my room. Our dinner was a bit costy but well worth it, the portions were tremendous too. For us a big parking space in front of the hotel was very convenient (no additional charge). As about the room, it was newly refurbished decorate) but had a bit old furniture. It was really big and actually we got family room. I really loved our experience there - nice, clean,cool restaurant - great after tiring day. However, I wouldn't personally like to have my wedding in there, to me it wasn't romantic enough :-) To the hotel management I would still recommend to modernise it, because even being refurbished it feels a bit tired

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Breath 777

Thank you for your review, and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bushtown.
We are a traditional hotel and are trying to keep any refurbishment in line with the hotels old worldly charm. By modernizing we feel we would loose this and the romantic feeling that goes hand in hand.

We look forward to your return.

Take care from all at the Bushtown.

Kieran Mc Gilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Seen a deal in the sundaylife paper advertising at £198 for 2nights for 2adults and 2children advertised kids clubs and vouchers for jet centre. When we arrived the staff were lovly but there was no kids clubs and we only got a voucher with £1 off at jet centre. There was nothing for my kids to do they were bored. Room was very dated. The food was fantasic and staff were lovly. But defiantly advertised wrong when it comes to kids. Felt like leaving on arrival only the money was paid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsanniehillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear mrsanniehillen,

Thank you for your review.

The Bushtown is a well known family hotel with hundreds of families staying year after year. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to our kitchen team and front of house staff.

Every year during summer we advertise a family kids club special.
We are sorry that you felt that we had advertised incorrectly, and have investigated your stay at the hotel. On investigation you received all additional Perks for kids club:
Free admission for the family to Coleraine swimming pool
Pound saving vouchers for the Jet Centre Coleraine
Free goody bags for the kids on arrival
Free meals and free accommodation for your children for two nights

Again we are sorry for this misunderstanding and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Bushtown soon.

Regards,

Kieran Mc Gilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was travelling with my mother, and we had not booked anything for this night (Saturday 21st July). We were not aware that there is a lot of demand on hotel rooms in this area at this time of year due to the Milk Cup so we felt very relieved to know they had one room and would hold it for us. A lady called Stephanie was on Reception - she was brilliant! Incredibly friendly and understanding, and talked us in when we got ourselves lost in the roundabouts! She was also helpful with local knowledge, going as far as to ring somewhere for us to check the correct times.
The room was beautifully decorated, and comfortable, but the great staff experience continued in the Restaurant. A young man called Michael appeared to be in charge, and when we saw how he hustled we could see why!
He was very busy, and seemed to be everywhere at once - over seeing the restaurant, getting tables reset for new customers and making sure the customers there were looked after. Despite how busy he was, he made myself and my mother feel like we were the only people there, and considered what we were looking for in making recommendations for what we might like to order - he also showed considerable business accumen, which i have to say impressed me too. Another young man in the restaurant was very friendly and approachable as well, and i believe he was called Rorie. All in all, even though it is a lovely hotel, olde worlde with big oak beams in the ceilings etc, lovely gardens, it was the staff that stood out to us, and would make us go back again anytime. I also understand they do a great carvery lunch on a Sunday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenieofX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Genieofx,

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

All I can say is that the staff are thrilled with their applause….

We all look forward to your return

Kieran Mc Gilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had to stay here for 1 night as my usual Hotel was fully booked. It is normaly £65 per single but the other Hotel got me a special rate of £50, which in my oppinion was to much.

The rooms are finished off to a fairly good standard but the noise from room to room and in the hall way was a bit much, but worst of all were the beds. There were 2 single beds in the room and both were shaped like Banana's and creeked every move you made. The mattresses and divan bases must have been the cheapest when they were bought many years ago. I have stayed in B+B's with much better bedding and the fact that this regards itself as one of the top Hotels in the area, the basic stuff is overlooked.

The food was to a good standard but some of the staff were as dry as the toast, I didnt get at breakfast, not that I wanted any.

Felt a bit teed off with the whole experience and will book the other hotel in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSFerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtown_Hotel, Manager at The Bushtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear jsferry

Thank you for your review.

On reading your review we immediately checked the bedding in your room. Sleep quality is very important to us and we took your comments very seriously. We found that mattresses were changed in this room due to standard deep cleaning procedures during peek summer, and have since been replaced with originals. We do apologies that the mattresses on the night of your stay were not of our usual standard. The walls between rooms are of concrete construction so noise between rooms should be at a minimum. However if you had notified a member of staff regarding the noise we could have dealt with it immediately.
May I also draw your attention to all other reviews regarding our staff….

We look forward to your return

Kieran Mc Gilligan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coleraine Hotel
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
5.9 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing