We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem on the north coast.”
Review of The Bushtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bushtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the north coast.”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I've been meaning to write this review for sometime now. I got married at the Bushtown hotel on Saturday 1st October 2011. I had never stayed nor eaten in the hotel before but we booked based on the friendly staff, local feedback and a package deal. At first I was unsure of our decision. I thought I'd prefer the glitz and glam of one of NI's more well known showcase hotels. The more we met with the Bushtown, the more I realised how wrong I was and the ore comfortable we got with our choice. On the day itself, we couldn't have wished for more from the location, the food, the staff and the management. My wife and I and all of our guests were treated like royalty. We arrived to be presented with champagne from the mangager, complimentary drinks in our room, a personal wedding co-ordinator. (Who would give any Wedding coodinator run for their money!) Any request no matter how sillly or outrageous was met for us in an instant.

Our reception was carried out to perfection. All of our guests complimented on the freidnly service. (always with a smile) and the quality of the food. We got restaurant standard food for 150 guests. Of 150 guests, about 40 of us stayed at the Bushtown that night. (Not sure if i should say this but..) we drank to the wee small hours and although courteous to our sleeping guests, the night porter allowed us to have a really good time, whilst keeping the noise down of course.

The honeymoon suite was devine. Recently re-decorated with a new bathroom. The had great charachter but all the mod-cons too! To wrap it up... I was pleasently suprised by the quality of service at the Bushtown but most of all, I realised something about myself too. It's much more important to be well looked after and allowed to be yourself and have a good time and I'd pick the charactor, great food and personal service of the Bushtown over any over priced branded hotel everytime!

Room Tip: If you want a night to remember, book the honeymoon suite if it's available - you'll not reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beacon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    75
    49
    29
    23
See reviews for
104
96
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Just had our xmas party at the Bushtown and a few of us stayed over for the night. We all thought it was a bit early to get into the xmas spirit but we had no trouble getting into the swing of it after arriving at the Bushtown! From the fairy lights outside to the gorgeous real xmas tree inside, the xmas carols in the background and warm inviting atmosphere were only an appitiser to the great nite we had ahead! The xmas dinner was second to none and i am positive no one left the table hungry! The staff made the nite fun and lively and the entertainment was spot on! We went to bed in a lovely room to rest our aching legs from all the dancing and woke up to a supper breakfast before heading home still in xmas spirits! Thank u Bushtown!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relax867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Had Christmas party in the Bushtown on Friday night, atmosphere festive, staff so friendly and helpful, entertainment excellent and food to die for, well done Bushtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just returned from a weekend awwy at the Bushtown Hotel. Had a great time, the food was fantastic as always, the enterntment was was first class. The staff are as friendly and helpfull as they always have been ever since my first stay at the Bushtown. I look forward to another stay there very soon. Bridie in Dungannon

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridiemck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel over the half term break, with our 4 year old twins.

I was delighted that all 4 of us got something out of the break. Our family room was massive, with the kids having their own seperate room, off the main room
The room decor was nice, and houskeeping did a great job. The bedrooms/bathroom were spotless on arrival, and despite the best efforts of our kids, we'll serviced during our stay.

The deal which we'd went for included 1 nights dinner. The food quality and portions were so good that we ate in the restaurant a second night.

What surprised me most was how relaxing the hotel was. although we visited during half term, when there wer plenty of other young families in the hotel, it didn't have the refugee camp experience that some of my friends had, staying at 4 star hotels over the same period.



The big draw for us was that the hotel had a pool, for our kids (we managed 4 trips to it during a 2 night stay) During half-term the hotel provided lots of floats and balls, rubber rings, for the kids to have a pool party, which seemd to go down well with everyone. This brings me to my big critisism.
The pool area is really dingy. I can't say it was unclean, but it looked really rundown. This is pretty inexcusable because it wouldn't cost much to put right, and it let the overall experience down soo much for me.

In the pool area, I counted 8 light units. Only 2 of them were working, so you can guess how bright the pool area was around twilight. The changing area reminded me of school days. As I say I couldn't complain about cleanliness, buta bit of a spruce up, would make a good investment.


Would I stay here again. Yes definately. The location is great, with plenty of alternative things to see/do, whatever the weather and the overall experience was relaxed and enjoyable, which is what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We had room 40 which was front facing, well away from the main concourse area, so a good place to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WintersTale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Fab food here nice atmosphere and great value for money def recommend for a nice dinner!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWRY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

First class people work in this hotel.The food is really good. Rooms clean & tidy. The wi-fi was being updated went I was last there.Only thing negative is the bathroom fittings need updated.This hotel was that good I took are staff coures to it and our people love it. The roads system is always clear and parking is easy.
If you fish, shoot or golf this is the best place to stay they have brilliant salmon & trout rivers, bogs & moors all around and the best golf courses in ireland

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMONNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleraine
2.1 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
721 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
11.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
983 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,815 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cromore Halt Inn
Cromore Halt Inn
#1 of 4 in Portstewart
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bushtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bushtown Hotel

Property: The Bushtown Hotel
Address: 283 Drumcroon Road, Coleraine BT51 3QT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Coleraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Coleraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bushtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bushtown Hotel & Country Club is set amidst mature woodland on the outskirts of the university town of Coleraine & is only a stone's throw from the beautiful Causeway Coast and Antrim Glens. Recently Awarded Best Hotel Restaurant 2010 and is a member of Taste of Ulster guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bushtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushtown Hotel And Country
The Bushtown Hotel Coleraine, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing