We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here alone on business. Staff fantastic, food fantastic, room & facilities fantastic. All in all... Fantastic :0) Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again. Nice friendly bar, feels like a good local pub also on site.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Downshire Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 195 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Would just like to say a massive thank you to the Downshire Arms Hotel staff and management for making my husbands surprise 60th party such a success. From the moment I enquired about the party until the last guest had left the staff bent over backwards to ensure that everything ran smoothly and they even managed to keep me calm and relaxed.
Our guests have told me how devine the finger buffet was unfortunately we didn't sample it as we had already had a superb meal in the dining room and had no room left to taste the tantellising finger buffett.
I would recommend The Downshire for any kind of party or celebration you are having and as my husband said after he got over the shock of the party "THREE CHEERS FOR THE DOWNSHIRE"

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizg636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Once again we visited this wonderful hotel in Banbridge. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially Kelly, Chelsea, Steven, Debbie Ann, Holly, Kelly, Anna, in fact all of them. A great friendly place to stay & the food is amazing & very well priced! We stayed over a week & ate in most nights. The breakfast is excellent, thank you James & Aidan, also thanks to Liz & Nigel. Stay here if you're in the area!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January with my mother. This hotel has wonderful character, is well located and has free parking. The rooms were of a high standard, very clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the food we ate in the cosy bar was also very good. It does get busy in the bar, particularly at the weekend giving the place a buzzing atmosphere. To complete an excellent hotel experience the staff were friendly and very helpful.

I will definitely book into this hotel again when next visiting Ireland!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslea100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

traveled the world stayed in hong kong thailand singapore dubai sydney (derry city) must say of all the hotels i have stayed in i must say the downshire arms hotel has to be the best hotel i have stayed in before i booked in i asked the mangement (james) if he could have floweres and irish meat at the hotel for me to take back to england and it was all there on my arival my room was better than some of the 5 stars that i have stayed in from around the world the food was just out of this world if you want a irish welcome this hotel is the one to stay in i now have told all my friends when going to northern Ireland this is the hotel to stop of at,nothing can be to much to ask for,from the hotel maids to the chefs to the fantastic receptionist's,breakfast in the morning was much better than your full English i asked for white pudding and they went out in the town and bought it for me and had it on my plate in the morning. if you want this hotel book now. thank you from the bottom of my heart for a fantastic stay eugine martin gallagher a happy happy customer

Room Tip: just ring the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 420eugene_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visited the Downshire with my wife last night for a meal. Everything was excellent from start to finish. Nice menu, very reasonable prices, generous portions, attentive staff and beautifully cooked food! Not to mention a great atmosphere.

***Big thanks to Liz at reception for getting us a table as we hadn't booked.***

The Downshire is definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

What can I say after coming here for many years yet again another beautiful lunch, great service friendly staff and great value for a Saturday lunch. After shopping all afternoon went back for a drink. The Downshire never disappoints love it - keep up the good work Nigel and your team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
0.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
218 reviews
12.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.5 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
258 reviews
15.3 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downshire Arms Hotel

Address: 95 Newry Street, Banbridge BT32 3EF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Downshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Downshire Arms Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing