We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wonderful Wedding"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downshire Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Wonderful Wedding"”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

On 29 January 2013 our wedding reception was held at The Downshire Arms Hotel . We were looking for a warm, comfortable and homely venue for our Big day . Lee-Anne from the Hotel who planned and organized this day did a fantastic job and everything ran smoothly from the table layout , selection of meals and a relaxed and comfortable venue to entertain family and friends . We selected sirloin steak froma choice of meals which was cooked to perfection and even now family members are still talking about the marvellous meals that they had . The evening function in the Cellar bar ran into the following day and again guests marvelled at the wonderful buffet while we were entertained by DJ Steve who compIled a CD of our chosen music as a momento of Our day .
We would again like to thank Lee-Anne and all the staff at the Downshire for going that extra mile to make our wedding special and we would recommend anyone planning a small wedding reception to look at the Downshire as a venue .
Thanks again
Guy and Linda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
60
45
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We popped over to NI to watch some Rugby. One of our party is from Banbridge so knew about this hidden gem! When speaking to locals about where we were dining that night, everyone I spoke to and I mean everyone recommended the Steak Downshire.

I of course obliged and wasn't disappointed at all. It is without doubt the BEST steak I have ever had! Not short on portion size either! A massive sirloin cooked to perfection, butterflied and packed with stuffing! It was mouth watering!

We visited with a party of 12 and every one of us was very impressed with the food, drink, atmosphere and craic!

When we return, a second visit will be on he cards!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SL510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family in several nearby towns. The hotel is well located in the centre of town.
The building is a wonderful mixture of historical elements with enough modernization to satisfy present day needs. Staff are consistently friendly and helpful.
Food, great selection for all meal times. The included full Irish breakfast is a great feature and sets you up for the day. A variety of rooms, dining, bar, etc plus room service from the entire menu provide for a pleasing mealtime experience.
Free parking and wireless round out the service.
Highly recommended for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrit308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hi Lee-Anne

Just wanted to say a big thank you to yourself, chef and dining room staff for the fabulous meal that was provided on the occasion of my birthday on Sat 22 December. The girls and I had a fabulous night and the food was yummy, very hot and the service was brilliant!

I am sure its not often you get some feedback, so I wanted to say that everything was much appreciated. i have been to the Downshire for tea on other occasions and each time the food is always excellent, lots of it as well. Thank you Susan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Downshire offers very well cooked hot and tasty food at a very a very competitive price.
Service is quick, polite and very prompt.
You can sit either in the bar area or in the restaurant but I prefer the bar for the stmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here a couple of times in the last month whilst working in NI, found the place very nice indeed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The prices very good too. I also ate in the hotel and found the food excellent.. I would recommend the Steak!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of October. Very impressed overall...great location, good comfy spacious rooms the breakfast is fantastic and the staff so friendly....what more can I stay.......will defintely be back :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbridge
2.3 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
204 reviews
13.6 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
8.6 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
628 reviews
8.0 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
210 reviews
12.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downshire Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downshire Arms Hotel

Property: Downshire Arms Hotel
Address: 95 Newry Street, Banbridge BT32 3EF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Banbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Downshire Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Downshire Arms Hotel Banbridge, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing