We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful well-equipped villa with picturesque...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fernhill Lodge

Fernhill Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fernhill Lodge
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Fernhill Lodge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Games room
Mourne Mountains
Scarva Bandstand
Banbridge Town Centre
Swimming pool, Banbridge Leisure Centre
The Outlet Park, Banbridge
Legananny Dolmen, near Castlewellan
Titanic Centre, Belfast
Giant's Causeway, Antrim
Spelga Dam, Mourne Mountains
Newcastle, County Down
Stormont, Belfast
Mountain Bike trails, Rostrevor
The Big Stone, Rostrevor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Banbridge, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Eddie D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful well-equipped villa with picturesque countryside views”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Nearest town with well-stocked supermarket in Rathfriland about 4 kms away. Excellent Chinese carry-out from Golden Fortune. Plenty of hot water and efficient central heating in every room. The 3 bedrooms(2 doubles and 2 twin beds) were spacious with ample storage and comfy beds. The kitchen had plenty of room for 8 people to sit round the table. The owners - Pat and Mary - were welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend it. We would be happy to return!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amfefc201...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here eatly september for a week with friends. This is a great spacious clean place in a wonderful rural location. The owner Pat is always on hand and is very helpful.it was a pleasure to spend an enjoyable week at his well managed homely lodge. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D
2 reviews
“We Had a Grand time and Stay......”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

It Was close to my Relatives who live in Lurgan and Bandbridge. Very quit Country atmosphere Enjoyed Our Stay. Excellent !!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you for giving Fernhill Lodge a review on tripadvisor, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Pat Tumilty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanFitz
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at Fernhill Lodge. Pat was a great host and did everything he could to make our stay as easy as possible. The house has a wonderful view of the Mournes and is a great base for exploring the area

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Bryan, thank you for your review. I am glad you and Martine and your 2 children enjoyed your stay over the new year at Fernhill Lodge.
Hopefully we will see you again for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad5321...
1 review
“Comfortable house with plenty of room. Very welcoming”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our third time to stay here and had a good time as ever. House is very clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for the kids to run around, with the option of table football in the games room outside. Pat, the owner, very welcoming and helpful if you need anything. Would recommend Fernhill Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, welcoming
Liked least: Nothing major - a few more mugs etc in kitchen. Oven a wee bit slow.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2016
Jayne, many thanks for your review . We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fernhill Lodge again.
Thanks and best wishes
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhegg
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great house, beautiful location”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Fernhill Lodge. The house was beautifully clean and neat, the furnishings were lovely (really comfortable beds) and the house was supplied with all we needed for our family of 7 (including baby) to have a comfortable and relaxed stay. The two large bathrooms with seperate hot water supplies were great - no issues with two showers going at the same time! The house is spacious and the location is fantastic - beautiful views over the countryside, and so peaceful. The little extras were appreciated - cot, toys for children, books, WIFI. Pat, the owner, visited us to ensure we knew how to use the appliances and central heating and to check there were no issues (there weren't). Overall a great place to stay and would use it again if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms, location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you for giving Fernhill Lodge such an excellant review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay,and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks,and best wishes
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jantre
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Clean Property,Poor Location”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We actually booked in 2015 the owner`s other property situated in the town of Banbridge.1 week before commencing our holiday to Ireland,I received a telephone call stating that we were unable to stay at the accommodation booked.I was offered this as an alternative.for which I had to accept as it was so short notice.
This property is situated 8 miles from Banbridge and 2 miles from Rathfisland. So a car is required if staying at this bungalow.(NO PAVEMENTS) Also during the hours between 6am and 9am,Fernhill Road is a very busy road with fast moving vehicles,which is situated at the end of the drive.Also be very careful coming out of drive as there is a blind summit about 50 yards on left.
The positive side is that the property is spotlessly clean.
If you do wish to book this accommodation. I suggest you do so through TripAdvisor NOT through PAT the owner.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you, Trevor, for taking the time to review Fernhill Lodge. We are pleased that you found the property 'spotlessly clean' as expected.
You were offered (and ACCEPTED) an upgrade to Fernhill Lodge at a REDUCED rate.
Sorry, but we can do nothing about the location which, notably, is one of the main reasons our guests love staying here! Our other Tripadvisor reviews will verify this.
Thank you for posting your photographs. It is kind of you to warn our future guests about the dip in the road as you exit the lane. With the ever-increasing volume of traffic on our roads, we need to be vigilant, whether driving or walking.
Next time we will be happy to welcome you to our town-house in Banbridge.

Kind regards
Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing