We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Week In This Wonderful Oasis In The Mournes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkeel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanna's Close Cottages
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I previously spent 3 nights here in March & loved it so much we booked a week at the end of August. We stayed in The Cart House which sleeps 2 & were totally chilled out in front of a big turf fire every evening with a wine & a good book. We took a walk one starry night with a hot whiskey in hand and watched shooting stars for ages. The ladies who look after the cottages are wonderful and nothing is a bother. We will make this place a regular treat a few times per year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I (and our wee dog) have stayed in Hanna's Close a few times now. It's a lovely cluster of restored cottages not far from Kileel. There is a fantastic view of Slieve Binian and the Kilkeel river is just a short walk away.
We stayed in The Barn. The website say it sleeps 2 but it really sleeps 3 (there is a double and a single bed in the bedroom). It's a homely cottage with stone floors and a wood burn stove.
We love going to this part of "our wee country" and going for walks up the mournes and Hannah's close is the perfect place to stay.
I can't wait because we are going for the weekend in 2 weeks time (staying in The Stables cottage). I also love the complimentary homemade wheaten bread, yummy. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulaO1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

WHAT YOU GET: lots of charm, a furnished and heated cottage with bathroom, dishes & cutlery, pots & pans, linens, a TV, a washer, fireplace, electric cooking stove with convection oven, and lots of 17th century charm. They also start you off with toilet paper, paper towels, and dish washing liquid. Their rates are extremely reasonable by the week, but they will rent out for shorter periods if you contact the office via phone or e-mail.

WHAT YOU SHARE WITH OTHERS: A big fenced yard for children to play, a parking lot, 1 clothes line, a picnic area, beautifyl views of the Mourne Mountains, more 17th Century charm, and a clothes dryer that costs 1 Great Britain pound per load, more. the Close is fairly private, but it is on the Mourne Scenic Heritage Trail so there are cars- and vans full of people who stop by to take pictures and walk around.

WHAT YOU DON'T GET: Hand and bath soap, laundry detergeant, hair dryer or phone.

WHERE IT'S AT: About 2 miles out of Kilkeel, on a very narrow lane, which is off of a fairly narrow road. Yes, it's remote, but that's the idea, It's a great location on the Kilkeel River for getting away from it all, but not the place for those who want to hit the pubs for hours before driving home, especially if you're not used to driving on what most of the world considers the passenger side of the car. There are some neighbors, including a dairy; the cows mooing add to the rural atmosphere, but we heard no other noise at all.

WHAT TO EXPECT: A wonderful group of 8 cottages that were built together on the river bank for protection by the Hanna family in 1649, and still owned by descendants of the same family. The Cart House (which we rented) is the smallest, but is chopped up into three very small rooms and a bath so it feels the most crowded. Part of George's Cottage has a very low ceiling; my tall husband scraped the ceiling and hit his head on the doorframe. Johnny's Cottage and The Stable are closest to the river, below, and overlook a lot of trees. Peggy's cottage offers the most privacy and has its own yard, but is also nearest the dairy barn. The Stables and Johnny's Cottage have stairs and steps--not handicapped accessible. The picnic tables, yard and clothes line sound relaxing, but remember that there's a lot of rain. Myrtle or Lois come by the office each day, but it's not manned 24-7; in fact, if you arrive when they are not there, go to your cottage-- it should be unlocked with the key behind the door. I just have one caution; if you're not from Ireland or Northern Ireland, you might sense a "different" smell when you enter; if it bothers you, just pack up the basket of briquettes and ignition material for the fireplace and carry them out to the shed where the clothes dryer is, and the air will clear very quickly.

QUESTIONS TO ASK: When Myrtle or Lois come by to show you around, be sure to have them show you twice how the kitchen water heater and heater controls work, as well as where the master electric control switch is for the stove and oven. Additionally, ask where the switch is for the bathroom water heater. The setup is a bit different than things operate in the US and it's important to know. If you plan to cook, even breakfast, ask how to get to the Asda Supermarket where just about anything you'd want is available.

IS IT WORTH IT? By all means! The 17th Century rural charm is tremendous; Kilkeel is a small city, but with lots of traffic and it's nice to be out in the country. One night when it didn't rain, we sat outside till midnight, taking in the view of the Mourne Mountains and chatting with a distant cousin who looked us up after we arrived. Another evening we were stopped on the lane by a dozen cattle being brought back to the barn from a daytime grazing field; one cow looked through my husband's open car window to check us out; we're not sure if her "Moo-ooo" meant she approved or what. I ask you: where else could you get these kinds of memories?

Room Tip: Study the diagram on the website carefully and select your cottage, depending upon how many people y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustCruisin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hanna's Close...what can I say, what words can I find that will truely express how much my wife & I enjoyed this amazing place! Nothing I can muster up will do this magical place justice but I will give it a go.

Hanna's Close is a small cluster of restored cottages. They are over 400 yrs old & were origanily the settlement of the Hanna family. As an extended family they would have worked & lived there.

Accomodation: These consist of restored traditional cottages of verying sizes that sleep from 2-6 persons. Some cottages have a thatched roof, some old slate. The cottage we rented was "The Cart House". The houses take their names from the family settlement. The Cart House sleeps 2 with 1 bedroom, a bathroom with a great bath, shower, a fully equipt kitchen,washing michine, pots, pans...infact all kitchen untensils so no need to bring anything! There is also a big open fire constructed from large stone. They provide sticks, coal & peat to burn which makes the living room very cozy. The floor is stone also. There is gas central heating so you will never be cold.

Location: The Close is situated only 1 mile from the wonderful fishing town of Kilkeel. There you will find an Asda & some great wee fish & chip shops. Its about 13 miles from lovely Newcastle & all its seaside shops.

Staff: We met the two wonderful ladies who run the cottages called Lilly & Myrtle. Very friendly & nothing was ever to much trouble. They work hard to make sure the cottages are in top condition & visitors are made at home. There was even a big weaten loaf waiting for us when we arrived in our cattage, hearty food for the weiry travelers lol!

Sleep Quility: You will sleep like a lamb as at night time its totally quite. The bed we had was sooooo comfy.

So to some up Hanna's Close I would say I have not felt as chilled out & totally relaxed as I did when I was there. Leave the modern tech such as mobiles, laptops etc behind, take a deep breath, open your cottage door, light that big fire & just let yourself become emersed in a time gone by when life was much more simpler. In my opinion this is a hidden gem, we have already rebooked when leaving for August!

Room Tip: All the cottages are fab so you will not have a problem enjoying your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I spent a week in Sam's Cottage, which is about a half mile away from the rest of the close. Its in a beautiful location, with views of the mountain to the back and the sea to the front. Its a mile from Kilkeel, which has a reasonable Asda. We had a great time - the mountains are on your door step - we ended with a day of bouldering with www.onegreatadventure.com

The cottage was clean, comfortable and had a lot of character, with a nice open fire and plenty of kindling, coal and peat blocks. There was a washer/drier, a bath and electric shower. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank asdaslkdasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Hanna's close is set in some of the most marvellous scenery, the mourne mountains. The cottages are really lovely, all with mod cons. You could not ask for better. My father was a Hanna and actually worked as a young man in Hanna's close when it was a farm, so it made it even more special for us.
For any one making a visit to the Mournes , I would deffinately recommend Hanna's Close. Not only is it beautiful but steeped in history too. Julie Radway (Hanna).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomhanna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed in the Carthouse in Hannas Close..the cottage was lovely..everything you could possible need was provided..with the open fire and the Mourne Mountains and beach around this area it was brilliant..highly recommend for a weekend away..

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkeel hotels
2.8 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
86 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marine Villa B&B
Marine Villa B&B
#2 of 2 in Annalong
11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kilkeel
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fair Haven
Fair Haven
#1 of 2 in Annalong
29 reviews
1 mi away
Samona B&B
Samona B&B
#6 of 9 in Kilkeel
17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fielys Brae Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanna's Close Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanna's Close Cottages

Address: Aughnahoory Road, Kilkeel BT34 4AH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Kilkeel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kilkeel
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hanna's Close Cottages Kilkeel, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing