We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing for compliments!”
Review of Katch 27

Katch 27
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fishing for compliments!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We are just home from Katch 27 tonight and it was first class from start to finish. Thankfully we had prebooked a table in advance as it was a treat for a family birthday. All of our party (six adults and one child) enjoyed their visit. We were greeted upon arrival, shown to our table and given menus - simple enough task but some other places can't even manage this! The choices on the menu were great and we all changed our minds a couple of times.

When our meals arrived they were well presented, exactly as described and very generous servings - most importantly all of our food was absolutely delicious. We had taken a birthday cake with us, the young waitresses brought it out and sang happy birthday which was a very nice touch (especially when everyone in the restaurant joined in). Can't wait to visit Katch 27 again which will hopefully be very soon...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndorraMadkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    29
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped here on a whim this morning and had the most delicious breakfast we've had in a long time. Love this little place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down, N. ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have tried Katch 27 on several different occasions and would highly recommend it. Our evening meal was top class, with the menu offering "something different" from other restaurants. The staff were very attentive without being over the top and there was a lot of emphasis put on the little details, which, whilst small, mean a lot to the customer. Having been delighted with our evening meal, we decided to go for breakfast and we were not disappointed. Well, what a breakfast. Plenty of tea, a beautifully cooked full fry and the cinnamon waffles were delicious. The staff, once again were great - always making sure there was plenty of hot tea to wash the breakfast down. All that was left for us to try was lunch. Once again, the service was excellent and the welcome very friendly with a good diverse menu to choose from. i cannot fault this little gem of a restaurant in any way which was why I was so surprised to see a very uncomplimentary review when I logged on but I suppose it is impossible to please all of the people all of the time. I can only reiterate that my husband and I have been more than pleased each time we have been. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joytworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Called for breakfast on a saturday morning with family. Too many small problems that would put me off going back. Lady that took order was brusque & off putting. Kids toast had to be sent back as was basically warmed bread, coffee was awful, really strong & undrinkable, Toast with slimmers breakfast had to be asked for, they forgot to bring it, scone & jam was ordered & took longer than the cooked breakfast. When it arrived they had toasted it - a clear first indication that it was stale - why would you toast a scone??!! It was a very poor experience altogether & due to waitress manner felt too intimidated to complain. On a plus side slimmers breakfast was very good, premises are nice & clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh G, Owner at Katch 27, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Donna, I am sorry to read your comments on your trip for breakfast. Toast for anyone is totally unacceptable served as warm bread and it should have also been served with your slimming breakfast on your plate. Our coffee is of a high standard and yes unfortunately we did have a batch of beans that had to be returned to the supplier as the grind was too coarse, this could have been in use during your visit. Our scones are fresh daily and served toasted with jam & fresh cream, you should have been made aware of this by the waitress when ordering.
I am taking on board all what you have said and I will be looking into this in great detail, I will reassure you I will get to the bottom of this as brusque and off putting manner is not acceptable.
If you do feel you might give us another visit please ask for me so I can personally apologize for your disappointing breakfast. Leigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Afternoon Delight”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

An Afternoon Delight

Dropped in one very wet and warm afternoon to this wonderful oasis. A matinee of tasty delights awaits the traveller seeking comfort from our summer weather. Hot muffin and a wonderful milkshake really did the trick for me. A quiet afternoon in Kircubbin meant that there was only myself and the waitress Lee in the bistro so I as treated to a mystical tale of what can only be described as the fantasy of local history.
In the words of Arnie, I will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katch 27 also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 
Portavogie, County Down
 

Been to Katch 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing