We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite places to visit..”

Mount Stewart House
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Newtownards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Remarkable 18th-century house and 98-acre garden that reflect the rich history of the Stewart family who played a leading role in British social and political life.
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to visit..”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mount Stewart House is a fantastic day out, the house is grand and full of history. The gardens provide great walks for all the family and there is plenty to look at. The tea room is lovely and there is many nice places around the lake to sit and have a picnic with the family or ready a book or just spend time resting. It is worth a visit, I try to visit mount stewart at least once a year. If yo have not been, you need to go!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank apkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    141
    43
    8
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mount Stewart House”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderful gardens! A cabin with cameras trained on the wildlife on the lake and on the islands in the lake. Very interesting house. I understand a lot of money is being spent on this house for renovation. Would happily return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A favourite place to visit”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Mount Stewart is one of my favourite places. Granted ,it is fairly expensive to visit if you are not a National Trust member but it is well worth it. In fact, if you live nearby, I think it is worth joining the National Trust just to be able to visit Mount Stewart as often as you like!

The house is set in fabulous gardens which draw me back time & again. My tip is to walk past the front of the house until you see a sign pointing to the right for the lake walk. Follow this path & when the lake appears suddenly infront of you it is truly inspiring (at any time of year). I only wish I were artistic. While it is still a lovely view coming the other way, it doesn't have quite the same wow factor. The gardens contain an amazing array of plants due in part to the micro climate in this area. There is a striking difference between the lake area and the formal gardens from which you have a lovely view of the house itself. One thing which always surprises me is that no matter how busy the car park & overflow car park are, once you are in the grounds, it never feels crowded & there are always tranquil spots to be found with relative ease.

The shop stocks a good variety of gifts & knick knacks & I always enjoy checking out what is currently available. The cafe serves a tasty range of home cooked food or should you wish to picnic in the grounds, that too is permitted.

All in all I believe it is one of the best National Trust properties I have visited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a day out”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The gardens are spectacular and the drive along the coast road is breathtaking. The staff are all very helpful and the shop for coffe, gifts and plants is great

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Elegance and Gardens”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Title sums it up. National Trust have it all sussed, personally I still prefer the Gardens as they are magic and you keep finding new bits you have never found (or have changed so much, especially by season)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Stewart House also viewed

 
Downpatrick, County Down
Newtownards, County Down
 

Been to Mount Stewart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing