We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy busy busy! Hic!”
Review of Ramore

Ramore
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Busy busy busy! Hic!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars at all of the eateries of this complex. I look in awe as I try to understand just how they can churn so many people through, particularly on a busy holiday weekend. But they do it very well!!

The down side to this is the atmosphere in the restaurants are conducive to a school canteen. The charge to the bar to order food or drink is survival of the fittest, as is the battle for cutlery and condiments... savagery!!

So why do we continue to visit you ask? - while waiting the normal hour for a table you consume copious amounts of mojito's, cosmopolitans, billines and peronis at the bar... Dulls the noise and makes the food taste great!!

Of course, we will return!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beckinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    350
    176
    145
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but why the higher prices?”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Ramore Wine Bar is a favourite restaurant of ours and we regularly advise friends to visit. Lunch is very popular and offers a wide variety of good food for £7.95 or less. So imagine our surprise when we visited on Wednesday 10th July and were handed a menu with items significantly more expensive with sides at an additional cost. On leaving the restaurant we were further surprised tho find the less expensive lunch menu still displayed outside. We asked a member of staff why the more expensive menu. She explained it was the new summer menu and that the lunch menu should have been removed from the outside board. She further stated the new menu started only that day (the 10th July when the town is filled with holiday makers!). We later checked the website to find the cheaper lunch menu still being advertised.

Ramore is a great restaurant and certainly worth a visit. However it's policy of hiking up prices over the busy summer months when families are looking for good food at reasonable prices must be questioned. You are better than this, Ramore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiesusie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Busy but enjoyable”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I took my Dad here whilst up seeing the International Airshow. The place was absolutely bunged full. We were told we had a twenty minute wait for a table but it was only 10 mins in the end which was good as we had no where to wait where we weren't in the way. Our table was so close to the ones beside us it felt like we were all at the same table and that was their comment to us!
Our order was taken quickly and food was prompt despite the obvious over capacity numbers. I was pleasantly surprised that the quality of our meal was so good seeing how busy it was. The desert display was very tempting and the views from the windows was lovely if your lucky enough to get a table by one.
Service was pleasant though the table next to us seemed to have a grumpy waitress!
Would like to try here again when it's quieter.
Price was upper limit of reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Reflects the Town”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Consistent with Portrush's reputation as the 'Brighton' of the north, Ramore's Wine Bar is just that: loud, crass and full of kids. If you can suffer the cacophony of the lunchtime crowd, you will be rewarded only with quite adequate fare at very reasonable prices. The Thai curry chicken and noodles needed several shakes of pepper to add some heat, but the noodles were overcooked. The hamburger is of a high standard but only average taste, though the cheese was scrumptious. The chicken Wellington with tobacco onions was a standout, eye-pleasingly served on a plate of bread. Generous chicken pieces and a wonderful creamy mushroom sauce makes this one of the Bar's signature dishes. The penne with beef was a disappointment, however, with the pasta overlooked and the beef in a cream sauce having an odd but not unpleasant taste. Unusually, be prepared to order and pay for your entire meal at the bar, after which only your food will be served to your table. With drinks, including wine, £46. Unfortunately, this eatery is among the best this seaside amusement town has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Foods Great! No Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Eaten in this restaurant loads of times love the place, great food good atmosphere, only problem is the service.....or lack there of! simply put i don't understand reviews who say service is good. you are your own waiter. this is a really busy restaurant and always will be as the food is that good, a wee bit more restaurant and a little less cafe would be great but

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank markP3292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramore also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Ramore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing