We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families”
Review of Inn on the Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Coast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Moira, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here in jan 14 with wife and 4 month old daughter. Well situated between portrush and portstewart, staff really friendly, were great with my daughter and nothing was too much trouble. Dog friendly hotel, not a problem as we are dog lovers but worth keeping in mind they are allowed on bottom floor rooms and walk about freely with owners. All in all had a great stay and would definately go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhyorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    197
    55
    12
    19
See reviews for
216
298
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place and location, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and there is plenty of it and the rooms are very spacious and clean. There is a large bar area with regular evening entertainment. Excellent for families and couple alike. Can't wait to return this year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Feathers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in early Jan. It was a gift for Christmas. We have a one year old Bichon Frise dog and we were delighted to find out he could come too! The hotel staff were so warm and welcoming, even having treats at reception. For all dog lovers - the dogs are allowed in the rooms and reception but not in the bar or restaurant. What was really nice was that the receptionist offered to bring dinner out to the lounge/ reception area if we wanted so we could have our dog with us. For anyone who doesn't like the idea of pets in rooms; don't worry you couldn't tell from the rooms there were every any dogs in them, no smell and the rooms were spotless - quite a challenge with white linen! Also there is wifi in the main areas of the hotel but not the rooms. Rooms are big and comfortable and have free view TV. Breakfast was lovely; full fry, eggs, toast, fruit, pastries, fruit, cereal etc so plenty for everyone. We will 100% be back. The staff are a credit to the hotel and thank you all for making our time there so nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarva, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Inn on the Coast, and cannot wait to go back. Exceptionally clean, spacious, warm comfortable rooms. Food great and staff are amazing, very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Have stayed here 3 times recently and can honestly say it is better than most 4/5 star hotel we have stayed in, the owner have got the basics right, goods sized rooms that are very clean with friendly staff who make you feel welcome without it being false plus at a very reasonable price. Location is good as you can easily walk into portrush or portstuart or get a taxi and plenty of parking unlike the other B&B's in the town so if your looking for a good value clean hotel with friendly staff, great views and plenty of parking then look no further and is ever bit as good as the other hotels in portrush, in my opinion better.

The food was good, breakfast is excellent for the price of the room, every bit as good as some 4/5 star hotel and again staff are very welcoming. Ate here twice out of the 3 times staying here and the other time we took the short walk to tides restaurant but was very disappointed with the meal at tides and will not be back, the food at the hotel is good and well worth a try, my only criticism is that they don't try to compete with other restaurant's in the area at all yet their food is of good freshly cooked ingredients but they don't promote themselves enough. We usually eat at Remore Wine Bar but are disillusioned with the fact of the long wait and packed in like sardines but the food is great and a good price but do feel the hotel restaurant is missing a trick here but would still highly recommend the food here and is handy if you don't want to go out to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbird1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My newly wed husband and I stayed here at the beginning of December, it was wonderful. Staff could not help us enough! They found out we just got married and had a sign at breakfast in the morning and even went to the effort to cut or tomatoes and potato bread into the shape of hearts. Rooms are very big and spacious and very clean, we will definitely be returning. There staff is a credit to them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannerussell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at "Inn on the coast" in Jan 14..
Both my partener and i were very pleased with the way the staff treated us..All very freindly and helpful both in receiption and the bar/restaurant..The room was very good and spacious..
We would recomend a stay here and would have no hesatation on staying again..

Tracey........ Ballymena

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portrush
1.2 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 8 in Portrush
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
386 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Coast

Property: Inn on the Coast
Address: 50 Ballyreagh Road, Portrush BT56 8LT, Northern Ireland (Formerly McLaughlin's Inn on the Coast)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portrush
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on the Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Coast Hotel Portrush
Mclaughlins Hotel Portrush
Inn On The Coast Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing